We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location next to La Cite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Missoula, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location next to La Cite!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Lovely hotel situated within walking distance of La Cite. Rooms were large and comfortable. Nice decor with large bathrooms. You can never go wrong if you have a neospresso machine n your room! Made my morning. Walking distance to the fantastic medieval castle which is really phenomenal. Best breakfast ever was in the Castle on the right at the main entrance!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWilliams1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    702
    239
    65
    15
See reviews for
362
828
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a ground floor room with views towards the medieval city which is only 5 minutes walk away. The hotel offers an ideal location which is very atmospheric in the evening when the lights are lighting up the city walls. The restaurant is good though service is " leisurely". Sit outside on the terrace if the weather is warm enough but make sure to book a good table. The rooms are satisfactory but small, our room had french doors opening on to the garden with access to the pool. We stayed three days and very much enjoyed the city and the hotel

Room Tip: Room looking to the city on the ground floor. Higher rooms have smaller windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingDentistUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great for location right in the middle of things. The hotel room was nice but the aircon may have well been turned off as it was no use at all. It was colder outside than in our room.

The pool area is great to spend afternoons after sightseeing in the morning. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michmosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Rooms are slightly small but well furnished, clean and comfortable with a modern bathroom. We would have preferred a walk in shower rather than one in the bath but the water was always hot - a necessity as this must have been the coldest May in that part of France ever!

The hotel restaurant was excellent which was a life saver as we had only booked for b& b. thinking we would enjoy choosing a different restaurant every night in the Cite. 90% of the restaurants in the Cite are geared to service outside and this just wasn't an option as it was so cold.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarmiteHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel is actually above Mercure's average. A bit outdated, but there is something that would make me stay there averytime I go to Carcassone: location. It's just a few steps away from the walls of the historical city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MathiasModena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The Mercure Carcassonne was conventional enough but in a good location near the Cite. We parked the car easily enough and this was a freeby to start with. They gave us a very quiet room looking over the Pool and we slept well enough, aided by the silent air-con and general calmness. A good bed helped, as did the soft pillows.The breakfast on the terrace was adequate but not exceptional, still it was a delight to sit in a shaded garden. As to the price, it was a little steep for what it was but Summertime is Summertime...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterStreetwise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great location within walking distance to medieval city, perfect for day and night visits and only a short walk uphill. Rooms a bit small for extended stay and no fridge in our room, so may need to check if other rooms bigger and with fridge if required. Breakfast, dinner and pool area all fantastic. Outdoor dining available, staff friendly. Having parking available is fantastic as very busy in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kazza1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
377 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel

Property: Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Address: 18 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France (Formerly Mercure Carcassonne Porte de la Cite)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minutes walk from the medieval quarter and 10 minutes from the Canal du Midi and the lower city, you will find the Mercure Carcassonne tucked away in a leafy corner. The hotel features a restaurant, a garden, a bar with a fireplace, 80 rooms (all non smoking) and 3 meeting rooms. The hotel has two private secured and free car parks. Whether for a business trip, a holiday or a conference, our hotel is a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Carcassonne Porte De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing