We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne Center
Reviewed 2 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Celeste R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

I could have stayed at this hotel for a week if I had to. The hotel is 5 minute walking distance from the entrance of the historic city Carcassonne. If you come in the summer, you can experience the nice swimming pool. We showed up at 2:00am and the staff was very accommodating to us.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank mdehaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank rufa09
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Yes I know I seem to review Mercure Accor group a lot. But you know what to expect so the only complaint is if a particular hotel falls short. This didn't. 4 day B&B package in the larger room. Excellent mattress, excellent breakfast, helpful staff and wonderfully located a few minutes walk from the old cite. Didn't use the restaurant as all of the facilities of the cite were available by that short, pleasant evening stroll. Also well located to the road network to explore the wider area without travelling through Carcassonne centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shipsagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the location of this hotel, just outside the walls of the ancient cité, with a small but comfortable room, which opened out onto a grass terrace with views of the old city and the swimming pool below (although too cold in November to make use of this!). The room was clean and benefited from a good sized bathroom with actual bathtub. Five minute walk took us to the gates of the city. The hotel also has a secure car park. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms 32-42 on the first floor all have views of the city and open onto the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebeccajago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights late Oct 2013. Room small but adequate, clean and quiet. Room overlooked car park which is not ideal but was ok. Staff cheerful and helpful.Breakfast plentiful and very good. Only 5 minute walk to old City for numerous restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms looking towards the City are probably better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a motoring tour of France. It's location is fantastic and our room had a view across to the walls of the Cite. The room was quite large and airy with a very comfortable bed, and as I had booked a premium room we had robes and slippers. We also overlooked the pool area and were pleased to see the pool being used as we arrived.
We ate in the hotel on the first night and were surprised how large the dining area was, though a lot of it seemed to be being used by a tour group. The menu was reasonably priced and we had the regional speciality of Cassoulet. The staff were efficient but disinterested, possibly because they had a large group to deal with in the other room.
The breakfast was served in the restaurant room and had the usual mix of hot dishes and continental food. The layout didn't seem to be very efficient and cutlery and crockery ran out on both mornings, though staff did eventually restock them.
We did use the pool in the afternoon and the sunloungers were very comfortable.Perhaps because it was towards the end of September the water wasn't warm, rather what we Northern Britons call "bracing", but it was a very pleasant area to lounge in on a sunny day.

Room Tip: We booked a premium room to give a view of the city walls. The room size, robes & slippers made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisGG1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - M...
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
510 reviews
0.9 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La C...
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel

Address: 18 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France (Formerly Mercure Carcassonne Porte de la Cite)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carcassonne Center
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne Center
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: £68 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minutes walk from the medieval quarter and 10 minutes from the Canal du Midi and the lower city, you will find the Mercure Carcassonne tucked away in a leafy corner. The hotel features a restaurant, a garden, a bar with a fireplace, 80 rooms (all non smoking) and 3 meeting rooms. The hotel has two private secured and free car parks. Whether for a business trip, a holiday or a conference, our hotel is a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Carcassonne Porte De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing