We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here whilst on a driving holiday through France.
Good enclosed secure parking, comfortable rooms if a little bijoux.
Breakfast was of a good standard and very enjoyable Nespresso coffee a good addition.
The bar staff were very accommodating when we wanted to watch football on TV in the bar with a bar snack (club sandwich) if a bit on the expensive side.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank flowersrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank sonnyleith
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a visit to Carcassonne. The location could not be better - a five minute stroll from the Cite. We had a garden room on the ground floor. It was very secluded and peaceful - though I imagine that it might be noisier when the pool is open. The room was reasonably sized and very clean. Tea and coffee facilities were provided, but, surprisingly, there were only paper cups. Wi-Fi was free, as was the safe ( though there is a fifty euro deposit for the key, so don't lose it.). We didn't eat at the hotel - there are plenty of excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. Avoid the bar - prices are high and service surly. There is plentiful, secure free parking.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side away from the car park. The garden rooms are very secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is very well situated, room small but clean and comfortable. Cost of breakfast is extortionate at €15per person. An extra charge of €50was added to my bill. When I queried it, I was told it was a 'deposit' for electric adapters which we had borrowed from Reception for phone chargers. The charge was removed but I don't like the fact that I hadn't been told it would be applied when I was borrowing the items, which are only worth about €5! So I would advise that you examine your bill carefully at check out!

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank restless5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just spent 5 nights at this Hotel on a stay to Carcassone. The Hotel is very clean and the service is excellent.
The position for the old cite is perfect, five minutes up to the old cite gates.
Room is not very big and drawer space is limited but otherwise there was nothing to fault.
Bathroom was spotless and there was clean towels every day.
Food in the restaurant was also very good, breakfast was a good choice.
Would stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Mercure Carcassonne Porte de la Cite is a very good option if you are travelling around southern France by car. We stayed there two nights and it is very well located just outside the medieval city, where you can go on foot. It offers free wifi, free parking and a very good and assorted breakfast. Rooms are not very large but clean, quiet and comfortable. It is a small building but all you need is there. We found it better to stay in this area rather than in the center of the city which is really not interesting. Coffee/Tea making facilities at the room are also a good detail.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertbsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights on a Newmarket holidays package advertised in the Daily Telegraph.I don't recall that the hotel's 'dog friendly' tag appeared in the ad. It certainly appears in their on-line stuff so I guess I am guilty of failing to check beyond the newspaper ad. The first I knew of their attitude to dogs was when a couple strolled into the dining area with their dog in tow and parked it under their table.
Nobody seemed surprised. The hotel's attitude to dogs was reinforced when we returned to our room later and heard what was obviously a small dog yapping away a few doors away. So dogs are permitted in rooms too we decided. Presumably some of them sleep on the beds with their owners, just like they do at home.

We were shown into a room on arrival. The gentleman from Reception who led us there opened the door and remarked immediately that this was a 'smoking' room. Would we prefer a non-smoker? We said we would and he led us to a second room on the first floor immediately.

Their dog friendly policy is openly declared so we can have no proper complaint. I had thought smoking in hotel rooms had been outlawed. Not so in France it seems.

The staff are very nice. Friendly, courteous, helpful. The location is close to the gate of the Old City. Not that close though. It's a couple of hundred metres away and a chunk of it is uphill.
Breakfasts are good. Wide choice: something for everybody. Evening meals were less satisfactory. My beef steak was overcooked, tough and stringy and came with a tomato coloured sauce that wasn't very nice. The 'choose your own 5 ingredients salad' is generous and well done.

Be wary of room service. The service part is good. What was ordered, in my case a club sandwich, arrived surprisingly quickly despite the hotel's warning that it might take up to 30 minutes. What was not good was that the sandwich itself was accompanied on the same plate by a small portion of salad. So far so good. But the salad element had been doused in a dressing which was quite liquid.

This liquid soaked into the bottom layers of the sandwich so that when you tried to pick it up your fingers became immediately soaked in dressing and soggy bits of waterlogged toast. The bottom layer of the sandwich then started to peel away and drop off while the whole was lifted off the plate. The bottom layer, the white cheese portion as I recall, had to be written off.

On balance you'd have to say that it is a good hotel. The location is good. The staff are excellent. The dog friendly bit is up to you. Our room was small. We had twin beds. They had been pushed together: necessarily. They need to pay more attention to detail it seemed to me. There were two hooks on the inside of our bathroom door. One of them had been yanked almost out of its socket. It looked as though it had been that way for some time. The full length curtains in our non- smoking room had a hole obviously made by a cigarette burn about half way up.

Room Tip: remember there are smoking and non smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
808 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel

Address: 18 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France (Formerly Mercure Carcassonne Porte de la Cite)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: £73 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minutes walk from the medieval quarter and 10 minutes from the Canal du Midi and the lower city, you will find the Mercure Carcassonne tucked away in a leafy corner. The hotel features a restaurant, a garden, a bar with a fireplace, 80 rooms (all non smoking) and 3 meeting rooms. The hotel has two private secured and free car parks. Whether for a business trip, a holiday or a conference, our hotel is a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Carcassonne Porte De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing