We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Mecure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne Center
Reviewed 20 June 2007

We chose to stay at the Hotel Mecure due to the great reviews this Hotel recieved on TripAdvisor. We were not dissapointed.

Hotel staff were friendly and efficient, speaking excellent English.

Arriving very early at the Hotel via the airport shuttle (5 euros each) the reception staff tried to book us into our room, unfortunately it was not ready (We arrived hours before check-in) they stored our luggage in a back room for safety, giving us a ticket to retrieve it later, and handed us a map of the local area to explore.

We were a five minute walk from the Cite, where we later had a leisurely lunch and some good local wine.

Returning to the Hotel, we were given room number 12, which had balcony doors opening onto a wonderful garden. The room was equiped with safe (get key from reception) wide screen TV, minibar. But no tea making facilities, so take your own if this is important to you. The room was cool, and the bed comfortable.

The bathroom was clean and bright with hairdryer, excellent shower, plenty of hot water, good towels and toiletries.

We booked a table in the restaurant on our first evening, and chose to have the 3 course set menu of the day for 15 euros each, accompanied by a bottle of their Bulle de blanquette. The meal and service was faultless, The waiter took the time to explain all the meals to us in English, I cant recommend this restaurant enough. Table settings were clean and attractive, food was excellent with 'dreamy' puddings, and although we were the last to arrive and leave, we were never rushed and always asked if we needed anything further.

The following evening we sat in the hotel garden with a glass of cold white wine before venturing out for a meal in the old walled city. The garden was a relaxing and beautiful retreat. The swimming pool area looked lovely also, although we hadnt brought our bathing costumes to try it out.

Once out in the old cite, there are plenty of cafes and restaurants to choose from for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The large square which has lots of outside eateries is full of ambience and character with reasonable priced local dishes/wine of very good quality.

Because of its apparent character and quaintness from outside, we chose on our second evening to eat at the L'ostal restaurant. Unforunately we were disappointed. After ordering our food and recieving our wine, we found it not to be the cleanest of places, and there was a very strong 'toilet' smell waffting about. Four people nearest the toilet vent asked to be moved, and so did we. Because we were sitting in an enclosed small courtyard area, it was hard to escape from the smell completely. Our steaks arrived, and they were not cheap at 14 euros each accompanied by a baked potatoe, a few salad pieces, and a pepper sauce smothering all of the steak? all cooked inside on their open fire. Although the steak did taste fine, I was unable to eat it because of the cleanliness and smell issues.

Breakfast on our last morning was spent at the Hotel, at 12 euros each it was not the cheapest, but it was plentiful and good quality. Available was coffee, tea, fresh juices, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, cheeses, hams, breads, eggs and more. if you fancy a leisurely breakfast with a few coffees and a 4 course breakfast to set you up for the day, this is for you. If you would rather grab a quick coffee, juice, bread and jam, there are many cafes offering this for around 5 euros in the Cite.

Overall experience of Carcassonne for a short break was excellent. The castle is the castle of fairytales, it is jaw droppingly pretty late at night lit up.

Hotel Mecure is an excellent, comfortable, relaxing base from which to explore all that Carcasonne has to offer. base

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank magspool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2007

This hotel is far better and bigger than the pictures suggest. Our room was fine in all regards, except the bed was too soft for my liking. Because of the length of our stay, we were given a room with balcony doors that opened into their wonderful and fairly extensive garden. The food in their restaurant is very good if you don't feel like exploring the restaurants in Carcassonne, and there is a small bar off the lobby. The old city...and the reason you are probably in Carcassonne is an easy five minute walk from this hotel. I found the entire staff extremely helpful and were very tolerant of my laughable attempts to speak french. Luckily, most spoke very good english. Note though, although it was not a problem for us, this hotel is on the far (east) side of the old city, so it may be a bit of a hike, or taxi ride, if you want to do some shopping in the "new" city.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank EddyThunderBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2007

We have returned from a weekend in this historic city at end of March, one of us had a birthday, and we are still talking about it. We were delighted with the hotel, the shuttle bus dropped us outside the entrance to the walled city, a few minutes walk to our hotel. It was wonderful to arrive in Carcassonne Airport and be in our Hotel within 30 minutes. We had spectacular view of the walled city from our Hotel room. We found the staff friendly, and we were delighted when the Manager allowed us to celebrate the birthday before we went up town, by supplying a room, ice, and friendly treatment. I found the rooms comfortable and warm, and we were delighted with our choice. We did check Trip Advisor before we made the decision, and we were delighted with the choice.

We had a special night out in Le Barbecane Restaurant in Hotel de la Cite, what a location and meal, just next door to St Nazaire Cathedral, steeped in history, and where I went for Sunday Mass, and soaked in the history as the organ accompaniment lifted my spirit.

Stayed: March 2007
6  Thank springhill6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2007

We stayed here for two nights in March and I must say that the hotel was a very pleasant surprise. The staff were very nice at all times. The ground floor is very nice with a lovely restaurant and bar with a big open log fire, bedrooms are on the small side but have everything and for the price we paid they were great value. We had dinner in the restaurant on the second night and I couldn't fault it, food was great. We ate in one of the restaurants in the old town on the first night but the hotel was better.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank susansue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2007

Just stayed here for one night on way to Airport as had visited Carcassonne before. Wish we'd stayed here last time as it is in a brilliant location (5mins walk from Ramparts), is clean, friendly and the rooms appear to have been recently refurbished. Ours was lovely (No 47 on 2nd floor), very contemporary design (not sure about the purple in the bathroom) and everything worked.
Ate in the restaurant as too tired to walk anywhere and very pleasantly surprised. They had a 15euro 3 course fixed menu (choose your own salad) which was of a good standard. Would highly recommend a short-break here.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank frenchkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2007

Booked this hotel for 2 nights for wife and I.

Never having been to carcasonne, I wasnt sure what to expect. But i was not dissapointed! The cité itself was absolutely stunning, and only literally a 2-3 minute walk from the hotel.

The hotel itself was typically large chain hotel. Efficient, english speaking reception staff politely checkd us in (depsite the fact that we were there 3 hours BEFORE checkin !). Allocated a room on the 1st floor, which KINDA had a view of the Cité...Well, the top of a turret anyway !

As with most European chain hotels, the rooms WAS small, but did have a Flatscreen TV with a range of channels (only one english though, BBC World) and a fridge (useful for keeping water in!) which was actually the minibar..

The bathroom was clean and tidy with shower over a bath and wc and bidet. A little "tired" and probably could do with redecoration.

However, this all pales into insignificance when you see what is on the doorstep. See photos att for the "view" around the corner.

Inside the Cité itself are a number of eateries.. Ranging from snacks (burgers etc) up to quite exclusive joints. But the MAJORITY of restuarants were offering the same 4-5 dishes.

The speciality of the Area is Cassoulet *(a stew usually made with Sausage, Duck, and Haricot beans), and this is on EVERY menu. Be aware that this is available in duck only, pork only etc if you wish. Add to this the Duck Confit, Salmon fillet and 1 random other meal (Usually steak), and you have MOST menus you will encounter.

We DID however find an exception to the rule. Called "L'Ostelrie" (or similar) it is a little way from the centre of the Cité but well worth finding. The steaks,. Duck etc are grilled in front of you on an open wood fire. They also had live music (great spanish influenced guitar) at a level that did NOT affect conversation , but DID add to the experience..Cant reccomend it strongly enough....

Place Carnot at Le Bastide has a market on Saturday mornings which is well worth a visit (cheese, olives etc) and have a coffee and wathc the world go by !!

Overall, i would reccoemnd this to anyone, especially couples (romance!)and families with children.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank dukesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2006

We chose this hotel for 3 reasons: 1. very short walk from La Cité, 2. favourable reviews, 3. there was a special offer for the weekend where you could stay 2 nights and pay just 1 (take a look at the town's website for more info).

We were not disappointed. We came from Barcelona by car and making our way to the hotel was easy from the road and highway. We chose a room which was small but enough (i was expecting tiny rooms, and this was not the case... ), well equipped, comfortable and very clean, bathroom and all. We had an impressive glimpse of the walls behind the trees of the garden. La Cité is very close indeed: it took us less than 5 minutes' walk to arrive there. The staff was helpful and kind beyond words, and the car park was for free, although there was a lot of free space for cars all around the town anyway.

Con: all the extras are quite pricey. I wouldn't advice breakfast at the hotel, as there are a few good places to have breakfast behind the walls, and some of them are fairly cheap.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hollyjolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - M...
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
518 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel

Address: 18 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France (Formerly Mercure Carcassonne Porte de la Cite)
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carcassonne Center
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne Center
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: £79 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minutes walk from the medieval quarter and 10 minutes from the Canal du Midi and the lower city, you will find the Mercure Carcassonne tucked away in a leafy corner. The hotel features a restaurant, a garden, a bar with a fireplace, 80 rooms (all non smoking) and 3 meeting rooms. The hotel has two private secured and free car parks. Whether for a business trip, a holiday or a conference, our hotel is a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Carcassonne Porte De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing