We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal for short break”
Reviewed 14 October 2007

This is a good choice for a short break in Carcasonne. Ideally situated for the new town and Le Cite. Room small but clean and comfortable, location quiet despite proximity to main road - work being done on Gambetta Square outside but making good progress and not too much disruption.

Staff very friendly and helpful - easy access to airport for return flight.

Book without worry :-)

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank MattI37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    185
    251
    139
    35
See reviews for
106
365
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2007

I spent one night at this hotel in late April while on a southern France trip that began in Toulouse, which is approx an hour by train away from the historic city of Carcassonne. The train station is a distance away from this Ibis, which is one of two in the city, so I grabbed a taxi which was fairly inexpensive. Once at the Ibis, I was check into my room quickly and efficiently and found a standard Ibis room that had a nice queen bed, luggage rack/clothes closet and a small bathroom with shower only. And when I say small, the bathroom was so small I generally left the door open as I was travelling alone and didn't have to worry about privacy.

The hotel is outside of the medieval walled city of Carcassone but is a 10-15 minute walk away and it's quite hard to miss as it's set up on a hill and can be seen from probably anywhere in the the more expansive lower city, the ville basse. I spent the balance of the afternoon and evening within the fortified ramparts and quite enjoyed the many restaurant choices to chose from after visiting the historic sights and taking a walking tour. The hotel didn't seem to me to be in a rough neighborhood and in walking back at dusk from the fortress saw many locals going home from work on out to a restaurant. The Ibis faces Place Gambetta which was a hub of construction but it didn't cause any traffic congestion, though the street noise could be heard easily from my 3rd floor room which faced the busy street.

Out of convenience, I opted for the hotel breakfast the next morning before a few more hours wandering the old city before checkin out. the price was EUR 7, if I recall correctly and was a decent value versus getting something elsewhere and offered some convenience of charging it to your room.

All in all, this Ibis like most others is a good value not far from the sights and is a reliable if quite unremarkable or unspectacular hotel choice. More than a night or two and I would've considered other options, but a short stay I found quite acceptable.

  • Liked — value with good location
  • Disliked — street noise
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tcook052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2007

Selected the Ibis, in Square Gambetta, Carcassonne online, using the Accor Hotels website. Not having visited Carcassonne before I was looking for a place of a known, but not expensive, standard and have used Ibis chain hotels before.
Location was excellent, a short (approx 25 minute) bus journey from Carcassonne Airport on the regular shuttle bus for 5 Euros single fare.
The hotel is at one end (the end nearest to the Pont Neuf, River Aude and Medieval Cite) of Square Gambetta. Hotel was clean, rooms, particularly the bathroom, a bit on the small side (larger people may actually struggle to use the toiler or shower cubicle). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was not bad, selection of fresh bread/pastries, fruit, yogurt, cereals, etc.
There was some construction work going on in the centre of Square Gambetta, building a large underground carpark. Noise wasn't a problem while we were there, although it was Easter so maybe less work than usual.
Short walk from the hotel (approx 10 minutes) into the new part of Carcassonne, which was okay (not the cleanest place) and about 15 minutes walk to the old part of Carcassonne and the medieval Cite.
I would be happy to stay in this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
244 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2007

Concerned after reading some previous reviews, We have stayed in numerous IBIS hotels in UK and Europe. The hotel reception staff were extremely helpful and pleasant throughout our 3 night stay. Hotel is ideally situated close enough to walk to the old City of Carcassonne and also to the 'modern' town centre Canal du Midi and train station all within 15mins walk. Downsides are that rooms are on the small side for an IBIS and the ensuite is tiny. As with previous comments there is a significant building work underway in front of the hotel as the whole square is being transformed into an underground car park. Some traffic noise if you have a front facing bedroom. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing for a short break (after all you don't spend long in your hotel room). and we also recommend 'Auberge des Lices' in the old City for a superb evenig meal.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — tiny ensuite
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2007

Stayed at the Ibis for 2 nights back in February. I have stayed in several other Ibis hotels and you generally know what to expect with them but I was very disapointed with this one. Like another reviewer said, the pillows and the bed were completely uncomfortable. I was expecting to find tea/coffee making facilities but there were none. The view wasn’t up to much but that's not really the hotel's fault as they're in the middle of building a car park on it's front.

Despite this, the room was clean and the location was great (it's about 10/15 min walk to either the castle or town)

Would I stay there again? Probably not. I'm saving up so that on my next visit I can stay at Hotel de la Cité!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidwebster300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carcassonne hotels

France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2007

Stayed for one night en route to Barcelona.

Room too small, bed uncomfortable and only one small pillow, staff not particularly helpful, location not very convenient for the town centre.

There is no restaurant, we tried to order hot chocolate from the room service menu but for some reason they could not provide it.

Secure underground parking is available but could be a problem if you have a large car (ours was small enough to negotiate the tight bend on the entrance and the small spaces).

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank B40487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2007

We only stayed in Carcassonne for a night and at the time it was raining so we dashed into the nearest Hotel we could find.

The Ibis was clean and comfortable and fairly cheap for a night!

The view from our room was slightly disappointing however, overlooking the beginnings of a car park!

It does need a bit of a facelift as the decor is slightly dated.

In a good location for visiting the Castle and visiting the surrounding town.

  • Liked — Great access to the Castle and Town Centre
  • Disliked — The view from the window!
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LMac26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.4 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
#18 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#31 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Au Royal Hotel
Au Royal Hotel
#36 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
#24 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#20 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carcassonne Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carcassonne Centre

Property: Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Address: 5 Square Gambetta, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Carcassonne Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carcassonne Centre hotel is located downtown, a few minutes from the railway station and Tourist Office. The medieval city and Canal du Midi are a short stroll from the hotel for guests wishing to explore the charms of Carcassonne. As well as its 48 air-conditioned rooms available for booking, it has covered pay parking, a snack bar open 24/24 and Wifi wireless Internet connection for guests on a business trip. Restaurants are available close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Carcassonne Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carcassonne Centre Hotel Carcassonne
Accor Carcassonne Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing