We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Reviewed 16 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank herries
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

I had requested a car parking space and when I arrived was told there was no spaces available. Although to be fair to the hotel, there was a car park within easy walking distance. The room was one of the smallest I have stayed in. The bed was next to the door with no room at all either side. The bathroom was very small and poor. The shower didn't work very well and the actual toilet was placed in such a small area it was not the easiest experience :). The room overall was probably the smallest I have ever stayed in
It was lucky I was travelling solo as the room, whilst it was a double, would have been almost impossible to share and enjoy. Unusual for an IBIS. Staff were OK, and the location was fine

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank TonyP065
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I have been staying in lots of Ibis hotels around France and Belgium and this one was a real disappointment. Until we went to this hotel I thought all Ibis-hotels were quiet standard, not too expensive, not very luxurious, but having standard comfort and a nice and welcoming service.

First the room was small and old and the beds and bedsheets were of poor quality.

The bathroom even smaller and older, I had to fold myself in two in order to be able to sit on the potty and closing the door.

There were no alcoholic beverages at the bar because they don't have a license, so don't expect to have a relaxing drink in the "lounge" after a heavy day.

Also the price is quiet expensive for an Ibis-hotel, so we expected having more value for money than in other Ibis hotels I've been staying, not less.

The only good point about this hotel is the location, it's a 15min walk to the historic center of Carcassonne.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erwin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Hotel IBIS Carcassonne Centre
My wife and I have stayed at the IBIS Carcassonne Centre several times over the years. It lies just across the river at the bottom of the hill with the famous citadel (Cité). After riding for hours in a car, we enjoy the scenic walk of about 15-20 minutes up the hill to get to the Cité's front entrance. It’s maybe a little less time for the steeper climb to the back entrance (and, for your first time at least, that’s what I’d recommend—to get a real sense of what the medieval attackers were facing).

We like to have dinner at one of the several restaurants in the main square of the Cité (especially at the Bistrot Fruit). The hotel’s nearby location lets me imbibe to my heart's content during dinner and not be concerned about driving afterwards. Following a leisurely dinner, it’s just a refreshing evening walk back down the hill.

The hotel’s rooms are IBIS standard—clean, well-functioning and bright, but small and spare. But then, we don't spend much time in the room, except to sleep and shower, and the rooms are perfectly comfortable for that. The staff is pleasant and efficient, and they make us feel welcome. Being located at the edge of the "newer" part of Carcassonne city, the hotel has a convenient location for visiting there, too.

Finally, it's super-easy to find the hotel when driving into town, as it’s only a short distance north of the main road that runs along the southern edge of the town center (D119). If you come in from the autoroute at the Carcassonne-Ouest exit (exit 23), and head down D119, you can hardly avoid getting dumped into the Square Gambetta, on which the IBIS is situated. We always try to reserve parking in the hotel itself, but there's more nearby.

Room Tip: The back is quieter and has an interesting view over the ruins of an old monastery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We spent two nights here to discover Carcassonne and this hotel, which is just a short hop from the town centre, was perfectly acceptable for a short stay. The room was standard Ibis – tiny bathroom, small-ish room but everything you need and a comfy bed for a good night’s sleep. No complaints! The staff on reception were welcoming and very helpful.
There’s an underground car park in the square just in front of the hotel, which is very convenient although fee-paying (12€ for the day-and-a-half we were parked there).
Breakfast is standard Ibis, that is to say quite adequate but no more. The bread here was better than at other Ibis hotels I’ve stayed in; serve yourself to coffee and orange juice from a machine, supermarket jams, and so on, but a good choice and plenty of it. Overall, a good welcome and good value for a short stay, but you probably wouldn’t want to stay for longer. But that’s Ibis!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bebechoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed for one night as we were passing through Carcassonne. Very well-located, close to both the medieval city and the newer part. We had two bedrooms between our group - one facing onto the square infront of the hotel, so it had a lovely view, while the other was on the other side, without the view. Rooms are on the small side (with the bathrooms even smaller) but for the price were expected. Comfortable bed, with WIFI access throughout the hotel. We paid for parking - getting our car in and out of the basement car park was a little tight though! Ladies at reception were all extremely helpful & friendly, with lots of information about the local areas & where to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.4 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
#17 of 39 in Carcassonne
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#29 of 39 in Carcassonne
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Espace Cite
Hotel Espace Cite
#14 of 39 in Carcassonne
405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#21 of 39 in Carcassonne
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
#25 of 39 in Carcassonne
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carcassonne Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carcassonne Centre

Address: 5 Square Gambetta, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range: £52 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Carcassonne Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carcassonne Centre hotel is located downtown, a few minutes from the railway station and Tourist Office. The medieval city and Canal du Midi are a short stroll from the hotel for guests wishing to explore the charms of Carcassonne. As well as its 48 air-conditioned rooms available for booking, it has covered pay parking, a snack bar open 24/24 and Wifi wireless Internet connection for guests on a business trip. Restaurants are available close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Carcassonne Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carcassonne Centre Hotel Carcassonne
Accor Carcassonne Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing