We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were treated atrociously”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,018 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
“We were treated atrociously”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel over a long weekend trip, having chosen it due to its convenient location between the station and the old town. Regardless of the accommodation itself, the whole stay was overshadowed by the appalling treatment we received when checking out. We had booked in advance through the Accor website on a prepaid rate which included city tax, which was clearly stated on our booking. When we were checking out, the receptionist was insistent that we still had to pay city tax, despite me showing her our booking confirmation with the payment breakdown. She refused point-blank to acknowledge this and proceeded to shout at us (in front of other hotel guests), finally chasing us out of the hotel. Never in all my years of staying at hotels has this ever happened. I have been loyal to Accor but after this experience, would be loathed to continue. We are still awaiting a satisfactory outcome from the Accor Platinum customer care department after numerous communications.
The room itself was okay - standard Ibis fare and rather on the small side.
When we checked in, the receptionist tried to tell us our stay did not entitle us to Accor Platinum card points and was then reluctant to take down our card details. Even after our stay, the points did not credit until after having called customer services.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    182
    246
    138
    35
See reviews for
104
359
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Located in an excellent location in carcassone right near the old town.
Excellent staff who were very friendly and helpful with directions.
The breakfast that was put on is worth the money. Excellent food served with a great variety. The only thing was the room was very cramped. We couldnt open the door the whole way due to the position of the bed so getting bags in was a challenge. Also the bathroom door stuck but other than that a nice room with a very comfy bed!
Would recommend to stay here

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londoner in dorset
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very central hotel, with friendly, helpful staff. Good selection for breakfast, and very clean, if
smaller rooms with very comfy beds. Plenty of hot water and a good shower; yes the bathroom is small, but it works. Good offer on a 3 night stay. Would stay here again as it is so convenient for all the sights and near the airport bus stop.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahappytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
546 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Our room was a little on the small side and the bathroom was tiny as mentioned in previous reviews, but it had everything we needed - comfortable bed, good WiFi, cable TV and a decent shower. The hotel was in an excellent location - only 200 metres away from the old bridge, a 15 minute walk (uphill) to the medieval city and a 10-15 minute walk from the train station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Everything about the hotel was fine as long as you don't want to swing a cat in the bedroom. Smallest bathroom I've ever used. If you sat on the toilet your head was in the sink. But we don't use hotels for the luxuries, just somewhere to sleep. Get a room facing away from the square if you can, otherwise it can be a bit noisy. It's selling point is it's location, 2 minutes walk from the Pont Vieux, 15 minutes from the Medieval Cite and 10 minutes from the centre of La Bastide-St-Louis, the Place Carnot. We also got a 3 nights for 2 deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.4 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
#18 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#31 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Au Royal Hotel
Au Royal Hotel
#36 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
#25 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#22 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carcassonne Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carcassonne Centre

Property: Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Address: 5 Square Gambetta, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Carcassonne Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carcassonne Centre hotel is located downtown, a few minutes from the railway station and Tourist Office. The medieval city and Canal du Midi are a short stroll from the hotel for guests wishing to explore the charms of Carcassonne. As well as its 48 air-conditioned rooms available for booking, it has covered pay parking, a snack bar open 24/24 and Wifi wireless Internet connection for guests on a business trip. Restaurants are available close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Carcassonne Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carcassonne Centre Hotel Carcassonne
Accor Carcassonne Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing