We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not room to swing a mouse let alone a cat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Reviewed 12 May 2009

The worst ibis we have ever stayed in. Small and pokey. Staff were
nice and the cleaning was OK but that was all. No ambience whatsoever.
Very exxpensive. Equal to our pound £75 per night without breakfast and
expected to stay in a broom cupboard. The pillows were awful and the bathroom
teeny, very difficult to even use the loo. Not near to anything really everywhere
was a walk.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shardlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Carcassonne Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2008

Hotel in good location, ideal for visiting La Cite and the town centre, however rooms are small and despite the no smoking signs our room and corridor smelt of cigarettes every morning.

Walls and doors are also abit thin, and don't try for a lie in as the cleaning staff are hoovering by 8am.

Basic facilities are provided and reception staff not the most welcoming or informative. Very little local information provided.

Ask for a front facing room onto the Square Gambetta as rooms at the rear of the Ibis look out onto a derelit building inhabited by lots of stray cats.

Didn't pay the 8 euro charge each for continental breakfast as there was a good patisserie nearby which sold great croissants for 89 cents.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

This hotel looks sad and worn. The tiny bedroom had hardly enough room for two people to move around, the bathroom had only a cheap simple shower with one position, and a plastic curtain. The tiles need replacement. The car park is the municipal underground car park and one has to carry all ones luggage across a busy street.
In late September a room cost over 80€ and it simply is not worth it. You might as well stay at a cheap chain hotel for half the price and virtually the same facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiltshirelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

The thing about 'no frills' hotels like Travelodge, Express Holiday Inn and Ibis is that you usually know what to expect - the rooms are basic but reasonably modern and clean.

The rooms on this particular Ibis were beyond dated, not very clean and in quite a state of disrepair. And there was a distinctive 'smoking' smell about the place ~ which was supposedly 'non-smoking'.

The bathroom was no bigger than what you get on a plane and the ceiling above the shower looked as if it was going to collapse at any minute.

Other reviewers already mentioned the awful pillows and I would add that the bed itself was not much better.

Yes, the location is good and the staff were friendly, but that did not make up for the appalling condition of the rooms - and at £70 per room per night, you could probably find a better alternative.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank curiouscritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Very small modern rooms in good order. Everything works. Central location. Friendly staff. Good breakfast for 8 euros.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanKnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

My self and my boyfriend were on holidays in France in July 06 and we were staying in a small town called Lagrass about an hour from Carcassonne.
During our holiday we took a day out to spend traveling in the old and new city and decided to stay in Carcassonne for the night.
After a little search we found this lovely hotel with a lovely man at the front desk, who didn't mind that either myself or my boyfriend couldn't speak a word of French. We were given a lovely clean double room with a great view. It was great value and we would come back to stay a little longer if we were ever visiting Carcassonne again.
It was a great base for touring both wonderful cities.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CARRIE23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

A good base for our five night stay in Carcassonne.

The rooms are on the small side and a little dated, but clean and generally comfortable. Would agree with the previous comments that bigger/more pillows and provision of tea and coffee making facilities would be an improvement.

Staff friendly.

Excellent location between the newer town and la cite.

P.S. The works to Gambetta Square have now been completed so no roadworks/pavement problems to negotiate now

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.4 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
#16 of 39 in Carcassonne
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#29 of 39 in Carcassonne
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#12 of 39 in Carcassonne
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
#25 of 39 in Carcassonne
956 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#21 of 39 in Carcassonne
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Espace Cite
Hotel Espace Cite
#14 of 39 in Carcassonne
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carcassonne Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carcassonne Centre

Address: 5 Square Gambetta, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range: £51 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Carcassonne Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carcassonne Centre hotel is located downtown, a few minutes from the railway station and Tourist Office. The medieval city and Canal du Midi are a short stroll from the hotel for guests wishing to explore the charms of Carcassonne. As well as its 48 air-conditioned rooms available for booking, it has covered pay parking, a snack bar open 24/24 and Wifi wireless Internet connection for guests on a business trip. Restaurants are available close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Carcassonne Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carcassonne Centre Hotel Carcassonne
Accor Carcassonne Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing