We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Fresh Meadows, New York
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“back in time”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

back in time, but with all the modern conveniences. beautifully located within the walls of the city. Helpful, clean and marvellous atmosphere. Good food---which could be a bit closer.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archiebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    601
    163
    50
    20
See reviews for
226
810
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed here in the heart of Carcassonne for two nights. The hotel was lovely decor beautiful and the service fantastic. we had two different rooms because we extended our stay, the first a deluxe was good, the second a garden suite was fabulous, split level, huge bed overlooking a little garden and had it's own patio furniture. They have a car park outside the city walls where your luggage (and you if you choose) is collected and taken to your room. The hotel is clean with very comfortable beds. They have a choice of eateries and there are many more in the area, we ate at their bistro both nights.

It is in the heart of medieval Carcassone so ideal for exploring the Cite´.

Room Tip: All good from what I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahGadd62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We were at this hotel for two nights. Our room was in Les Remparts, part of the hotel which is a few minutes walk from reception and the main hotel building. So one had the feeling of not being quite part of the hotel with all its facilities. However our room was very well equipped, spotlessly clean and roomy and had some stunning views over the ancient walled city. External noise was minimal.

The staff were welcoming and helpful. Our stay at the hotel was marred a little by the residual noise from the air conditioning during the night (noise that we were unable to banish); and by the fact that the promised bath (rather than shower) was not forthcoming. Breakfast offered a very wide choice by French standards, although it is puzzling why such a good hotel still offers tinned fruit salad.

The hotel has an absolutely magical setting and walks late at night or early morning - whne there are few (other!) tourists are very worth trying. The shops in the surrounding streets are a bit touristy and tacky, but there is still much that is awe inspiring. The Restaurant Adelaide round the corner is well worth a try. Its fixed price menus are excellent value for money

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed here for 7 nights it was not our first choice as these were already booked up well in advance... so this was our fall back . So the positives Ideally placed to explore all the city has to offer...as stated by previous reviewers The Best Western offers a reassuring standard of accommodation...our room was clean and comfortable despite being on the small side. breakfast good with lots of choice. Staff mostly very helpful polite.
Challenges we were somewhat disturbed as our room 20 was located on the ground floor and this room is near a service area the lift and the luggage store over the weekend we had to listen to the non stop roll of suitcases each morning starting from 7am until 11am. The bathroom shower located over bath ...the space between shower screen and wall narrow this coupled together with height of bath led to difficulties for my partner who has mobility difficulties... we managed this situation ourselves. Mentioned same to reception response you can ask housekeeping about another room with a better shower! This marred an otherwise good stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 20/21
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My partner and i stayed here in June 2011, and it was exceptional. The staff were fabulous, full of advice and suggestions about activities etc. The breakfast wasn't anything special but it served a purpose. The weather was roasting, and the air conditioning in our room didn't fail us once. The hotel couldn't have been in a better location. Make sure to visit the hotels garden at some point-a total oasis which we ended up spending a complete afternoon reading our books. The hotels restaurant was also very good.

Room Tip: Pay for a deluxe room - totally worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whelan2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We spent 2 nights here in the heat of late August. The hotel was reliably good and clean as a Best Western should be....but the staff could give a little more attention to service detail and this would be a great hotel. When the air conditioner was not functioning and the room was simply too hot, we contacted the front desk 3 times to report the matter, only to be told it was operating and nothing could be done. Mercifully the following day the morning the front desk female receptionist took our complaint seriously and a air conditioning technician attended our room by lunch to clean the air con filters and check the system, and the room temperature soon dropped by 15 to 20 degrees from a sauna to a habitable sleeping quarter.

I imagine a simple air con maintenance program might render such problems less probable.

Please bear in mind we had booked a superior ... Not standard double room.

Room Tip: Simply request it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curthofmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Since we visited Carcassonne in July, there were a lot of tourists. By staying at a hotel within the medieval city you can experience Carcassonne without the crowds. I got up early and was out walking by 7:00 AM and practically had the place to myself until about 8:30-9:00. That alone makes the Hotel le Donjon a great value. There are only a few hotels within the city center. I chose this one because it fit my budget. It was much nicer than I expected. We had a nice room with a big terrace, big bathroom and shower. They referred us to a great restaurant just down the street where I tried the traditional dish Cassoulet--very good and enough food for a family of 4! I will definitely return here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flajann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts

Property: Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Address: 2 rue du Comte Roger | Cite Medievale, 11000 Carcassonne, France (Formerly Best Western Hotel le Donjon)
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the heart of the medieval citadel of Carcassonne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western FR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Carcassonne
Best Western Carcassonne
Carcassonne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing