We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Budget Carcassonne Aeroport(Carcassonne Center)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de la Bastide(Carcassonne Center)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ibis Styles Carcassonne La Cite(Carcassonne Center)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite(Carcassonne Center)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel des Trois Couronnes(Carcassonne Center)
US$147
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel du Chateau(Carcassonne Center)
US$259
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$72
US$63
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Montmorency(Carcassonne Center)
US$149
US$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Octroi(Carcassonne Center)
US$122
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,477)
Filter reviews
1,477 results
Traveller rating
564
654
178
59
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
564
654
178
59
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingwithin the wallscar parkold cityinside the city wallshotel staffnarrow streetsdeluxe roomlovely hotelcassouletgarden roomparking arealovely gardenamazing locationfree parkingcite wallsprivate parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
660 - 665 of 1,477 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We arrived and went to the hotels carpark. As soon as we opened the cardoor, a hotel vehicle arrived to take us to the hotel as the cite is pedestrianised for most of the day. Having been here before, I would never try to take the car in or book the closed parking within the walls. We were early but our bags were looked after whilst we explored. The welcome was excellent. The room was ok - not huge and not clean -my baby son quickly picked up a handful of long hair. Breakfast was a nightmare with no space, no tables and having to find our own crockery & cutlery! The buffet is higgedly piggedly and hard to access in such a busy, cramped area. The locaton is marvellous although it is a worry to have the car parked so far away. There is a phenomenal number of restaurants. We ate in the main square and had an excellent meal. The cassoulet was good. There are two trains, one which tours the walls of the old cite, the other for 3 Euro takes you to the modern town and back - very worthwhile. The old cite is touristy and it is thronged but the atmosphere is hard to beat. Location is the best bit, together with front of house welcome but I expected better from Best Western.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the closed paying parking within the city walls. Don't have breakfast at 9.00am!! Better still, have breakfast elsewhere.....
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Izzywizz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We were on a trip around France and Carcassonne was a must-see, this hotel stood out for being within the old town and didn't disappoint. We only had one night but the staff were very helpful and took our bags from the car in the car park to our room, they recommended a range of restaurants for dinner and were equally happy in French as in English. The room was clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the streets of the old town. The only advice we would give is don't trust your GPS - our one tried to take us up every pedestrian route to the old town - I think the right road is Chemin Des Anglais(es)!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_fozzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past and have always enjoyed it. So we decided to stay overnight on our way to Biarritz.
Everything was fine as usual until we went to start our car the next morning. It had died! From that point on staff at the hotel did everything they could to help us. The reservations staff juggled bookings around so that we were able to stay in our original room for a further 2 nights, they translated information from the garage and special mention must be made of the technical manager who worked for over an hour in pouring rain trying to get the car to start.
Thank you all very much.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building tend to be quieter than in Les Remparts.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sartoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Having wanted to visit Carcassonne for a number of years this became reality last week and I must say how much we enjoyed our stay in the hotel Le Donjon, and the Cite.
Having parked outside the walls on arrival my wife and I walked up to the hotel and checked in .
Contrary to previous reviews, I must say that our welcome was very professional and friendly, we were advised about the parking outside the walls and how we could bring our car into the secure hotel car park, after 7.00pm.
The receptionist suggested we move our car from the public car park to the hotel car park outside the walls, this was free.
This we did and we were given a warm welcome by Pauline the receptionist at the car park and within minutes a small van arrived to transport my wife and I, plus bags, to the hotel.
The driver / porter was very pleasant and informative, quite a good driver as well considering the very narrow streets and loads of tourists.
(It was interesting to note that the public car park was free for the first hour, ideal if you just want a quick visit or want to check out locations etc)
We were advised that at 7.15 pm we could drive our car in a small convoy through the medieval streets to the hotel, this we did and it was quite an exiting experience. The hotel do however charge for the facility of parking in their secure car park ! about 14 euros, worth it for the experience,as good as anything in Disney and for real.
We were directed to our room which was in one of the hotel buildings, above the wine bar.
The room ,on the top floor, was very clean, nicely furnished and full of french charm.
There was no noise from the wine bar and the room was of a good standard and had some nice touches, including an old beam that you had to get over when going to bed.
There were tea and coffee facilities in the room and further supplies readily available from reception if required.
We did not eat in the hotel itself apart from breakfast, which was very comprehensive and catered for most tastes and appetites.
Service was good and the quality of food on offer very acceptable.
Well worth a visit and I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRIPTASTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We followed the signs to Hotel Parking - and were warmly greeted by a receptionist, who took our baggage, and directed us to the hotel. By the time we had wandered through the city to the hotel, ours bags had arrived and were in our room. 1st class service.
The room and breakfast could not be faulted, and I would recommend to anyone.

However, we booked a table for dinner in their restaurant which is across the street. When we arrived it was empty, and we were shown, reluctantly, to a table in the middle of a large terrace. I asked for a corner one, and was told rudely that they were booked! So was mine. The head waiter then told me that if I did not like it I could find another restaurant. Surprise surprise - that was what we did.

What a shame that a great hotel can be so badly let down by one member of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews