We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
496 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Nice hotel located in the very heart of Carcassone - inside the old town (old town walls) and in close distance to the main sightseing places. You wake up and once outside the hotel you feel yourself in the middle age :)
The only problem can be is that you need to park your car a little bit far (10-15 minutes by walk) - obviously because you can't park inside the walls!
And be carefull - the breakfast is not included in the room rate and they charge you about 15 EURO for a very poor breakfast. Don't take it - outside you can find a lot of nice and not-expensive caffes and restaurants open the whole day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    601
    163
    50
    20
See reviews for
226
810
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

When I requested information for how to arrive and park, I got back very helpful instructions from reception. The free carpark was immediately outside the walls, and a car was waiting for us. It was fun to breeze through the gate and along the medieval-width streets (although we did think Pierre could have slowed down a bit for safety.) Our room overlooked the plaza in front of the hotel, and it was fun to be able to observe the rhythm of la cite throughout the day and night. We were very glad we stayed within the walls and at Hotel le Donjon.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a good view and got one overlooking the plaza, which was quite busy. If no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onecentworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

One night in carcassonne. Our room in the courtyard was a little dated. No air con - plus ground floor = HOT!. Garden could be beautiful but needed a little TLC. Staff were excellent. Breakfast busy (holiday weekend) but good. All in all a pleasant stay. Would go to hotel de la chateau next time!!

Room Tip: Main building looked better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faussett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Had trouble finding this hotel- but that wasn't their fault. When we rang for directions they told us how to get there and once we had unloaded the hire car they spirited off to their securecar park outside the city walls- couldn't have been easier! It was lovely to stay intra muros and we really enjoyed wandering around looking for a restaurant for dinner as the sun set over this beautiful place. It was lovely to walk to breakfast in the morning before the tourists started arriving- well worth the effort to stay here. Breakfast was lovely and we didn't mind the fact our room was in a different building to reception and the breakfast room. Staff were very helpful and the room modern and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller-eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Our first stay at a Best Western hotel in years went very well. The hotel has an aesthetically pleasing exterior and interior, plenty of character and atmosphere, and an excellent location within the old city walls. Above all the staff were top notch, especially Lea, nothing was too much trouble for them, and they even indulged me in my attempts to speak French.

We asked for a room with a proper overhead shower rather than one over the bath at low level which guarantees water everywhere, and we had Room 1 which had a large walk in shower, perfect for us. The room overlooked the street with double doors. It was unseasonably hot in May so we closed the doors at night and used the very efficient air con. Fridge in the room was useful. Decor in room authentic and in keeping.

The hotel garden was a quiet sanctuary from bustling Carcassonne, the tables could have done with a wipe over but that is the only negative I can think of about this hotel. The garden is ideal for a quiet read or taking a beer up there from the bar.

We ate at the hotel brasserie one night and the food and service were good, however you are spoilt for choice for eating out in Carcassonne. Our favourite restaurant was Le Jardin des Templiers near the large Church, excellent food, nice garden setting and friendly service.

Summary - good value hotel (132 euros per night) in excellent location, ticked all boxes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Maybe we were lucky to get a reservation there, it was made 2 months ago, was looking forward to it, had read good things, we were given a room above reception area it was completely new it looked like any other hotel I have stayed in, no antiquties not even a tub for a nice soak after a day of walking around, the folk in the next room kept us up arguing all night, on a high note the hotel restuarant was very good for dinner, room was clean but nothing spacial...

Room Tip: maybe rooms are better somewhere else in hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfingmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel in April '12. We took the train and then walked to the hotel (30 min). I recommend this only with light luggage, otherwise take the bus. The hotel personnel all spoke English, which was helpful. The hotel was very neat, and the buildings were all in the style of the old city. We stayed in one of the garden rooms. The garden was beautiful, and walled, so our son could run around safely. The room was nice, large, and private. Breakfast was okay, and was the only thing that was not great. On our day of departure, they held our bags while we did some late sightseeing. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mschwanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
769 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts

Property: Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Address: 2 rue du Comte Roger | Cite Medievale, 11000 Carcassonne, France (Formerly Best Western Hotel le Donjon)
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the heart of the medieval citadel of Carcassonne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western FR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Carcassonne
Best Western Carcassonne
Carcassonne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing