We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful service in a wonderful location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dreadful service in a wonderful location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The location is by far and away the best thing about this hotel and the rooms are good but the service is dreadful. It seems that because it is one of the few hotels inside the walls and customers are more or less guaranteed they simply do not care about guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travels69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    581
    157
    48
    19
See reviews for
221
780
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Terrible experience. Air conditioning not working in small hot room. Took 3 phone calls to desk. First call, told to turn it on. So turned it off and then back on. Second call told that I must have set temp too low. So reset temp, turned it off and turned it on. Third call, I requested a different room. Finally they admitted air was turned off at the desk and they would turn it on. which they did. But why the games while we, tired from travelling had to sit sweating in tiny room? Also had problem with empty coffee urns at breakfast due to large tour groups, and no water in espresso maker, so long wait for morning coffee. Finally, restaurant staff rude (waitress got angry - because they did not have item on menu, and she had to wait for new selection to be made - and then appologized because 'her feet hurt'. Overall TERRIBLE, EVEN OBSTRUCTIVE CUSTOMER SERVICE

Room Tip: If they play games with air conditioning there is no good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferch12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

It was a pleasure to stay here. The room was in great shape, perfectly clean and well-maintained. The AC worked like a charm and the black-out curtains meant you could sleep in as long as you wanted.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sftraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,058 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 546 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Apart from the city is always crowded, this place is a gem and once settled it allows you to enjoy carcassone at night when most of the tourists have departed.

Room Tip: Nothing to add,you will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past 20 years, and it had been better each visit. Let me put it simply: Where else can you stay in the center of a superb historic town, in comfort, looked after by a very professional staff, in a hotel that has beautiful common areas, quiet and comfortable rooms, a garden where you will want to linger over breakfast -- all for less than what you would pay in a boring cookie-cutter hotel alongside some highway. Very beautiful, well-kept, operated in a thoroughly professional manner by a caring staff.

Room Tip: Rooms in a back building face the garden and ar every private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I chose this hotel since I would like to stay inside the old city, and stroll around at night, as well as in the morning before others rush in.

The building itself is interesting, facilities good, room is nice, spacious.

The receptionist Celine was very helpful, and extremely responsive to my requests through email, helped plan my first trip to Carcasonne.

Location is very convenient with porter shuttle helping with you, and the ride inside the city on the shuttle is an experience itself.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leungleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The rooms we were initially given (#30 and 31) were very small for two people in each of them. We barely had enough space to reach each side of the bed. We had to pay 30 additional euros per room to have decently sized rooms (#36 and 37). Apart from being slightly larger, the new rooms were nothing fancy either, with limited views. On the whole I guess I would still recommend the hotel for its location, but you may want to make sure upon booking that the room you are given is decent (size, view, etc).

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ibon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
Address: 2 rue du Comte Roger | Cite Medievale, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the heart of the medieval citadel of Carcassonne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Carcassonne
Best Western Carcassonne
Carcassonne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing