We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Donjon during our visit to Carcassonne for the music festival. The location was fantastic, and a very short walk from it's over-priced neighbour the Hotel Cite.
The decor was great, and there was a lovely little peaceful garden off the busy streets where you have breakfast. It's a great place to stay if you want to be 'in the thick of it'
We were allocated a room which was in a seperate building up the road (40 second walk), and it was all clean fresh, and very tasteful. My only gripe would be that our room (no 14) was directly above the exit to the querky haunted house outside, so up until 11pm everyday you would hear a big bang and then screams. It was quite funny though watching people come out terrified but laughing!
We also had the 3 course set menu at the Brasserie Donjon, which comes highly recommended. Glad we reserved as was very busy, and not surprisingly so as the food was delicious.
Such a fantastic location and we paid a quarter of the price of the rooms at Hotel Cite and received a much better service.
I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nat_ford2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

Hotel #2 of 8 on a 10 night self drive through SouthWest France.

Was "upgraded" to a room with a small quiet patio walled in by tall hedges. Maybe useful for a smoker but not for me.

First the bad:
Queen bed (I thought I asked for two twins) with the softest soggiest mattress I can recall in any Hotel. It sagged in the middle. Big time! When we lay down we both rolled into the center of the bed. They "fixed" it...maybe a bed board or missing slat but it still sagged a bit and it made my sciatica recur and remind me of the bad night I spent for the rest of my holiday.

The A/C is not adjustable. At 19 C it is adequate, better than nothing, but not as cool as I would have liked. The room was a bit small and old fashioned but adequate....just one night, not a lifetime.

The good:
The staff is super pleasant. Apologetic about the above and willing to compensate. Howeverit was the height of summer and Duran Duran was performing that night. I suspect their efforts were sincere ,that the Hotel was really full and they did all they could. The manager says they change the mattresses annually. Well it must have been my lucky day # 364!

Breakfast was nice, in a lovely quiet patio, with surprisingly few guests considering the place was full and you must come to the main building (or the 3) for it.
Great location and remarkably quiet considering Carcassonne was bursting with families/ tourists.

Dinner in their restaurant was just OK. Didn't reserve and couldn't sit outside. Even inside was pretty busy and the young and eager to please staff was literally running around non stop. Literally. Everyone going to the concert? Food was OK, a mass produced affair, lackluster relative to the rest of my trip, but my mistake.

Parking. As you approach the main city gate veer to the LEFT and follow the walls to the FREE hotel cooperative parking. FREE shuttle to and from hotel is provided. DO NOT let them convince you it's an easy walk (stairs and a maze of streets jammed with families and tourists). It took me one minute to realize this and turn around. Glad to wait 10 minutes to be driven to the Hotel....an amusing ride as they plow through the oblivious crowds! The private parking is inside the city walls may only be easy to get to/ from in the dead of winter.

If I were to do it again I would stay OUTSIDE the city walls, somewhere with a view of the dramatic lighting, taxi in for a stroll and dinner in the evening and return early, before the crowds and visit the Chateau Comtal as soon as they open.

Again.....saved by a very nice staff, good location, good value for the money and a nice breakfast leaving me in a forgiving mood! Besides it was my Birthday !

Room Tip: 3 buildings. Reception and breakfast in one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwsmd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night and it was worth every cent. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming and location of the hotel the best! To our surprise we were even upgraded which made it more special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Our family of 3 stayed in Hotel Le Donjon for one night. The location could not be better,inside the walls of La cité Medievale de Carcassonne.There are few options to stay at La cité and all of those options are more expensive than others Hotels outside, but worth it!
Our triple privilége room was in the main building with lovely views to the charming streets.You have all the shops,restaurants and cafés at your doorsteps. An easy walk ( about 10 min ) to go to La Bastide de Saint Louis ( the city outside the walls).
The room was spacious enough, a little outdated but very clean.Free internet access.
The breakfast on following morning was good ( 12 eur each... not cheap, as usual in France), served by an helpful staff in a breakfast room overlooking the internal garden.
We arrive at Carcassonne airport and took the shuttle bus from the airport to La cité.The ticket is 5 eur. We payed 15 eur for the 3 of us for 40 min bus trip. On departure the hotel called a taxi for us... we payed the same amount for a 10 min trip! Unless you are only one person it is a better value to take a taxi!
Carcassonne itself is lovely,but if you only want to see the city one night is enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Our room (with garden terrace) was excellent. The location is perfect. The staff were helpful and the public rooms are pleasant. No negatives. Good Value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a garden terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnPrimeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed in the Hotel des Remparts, a separate building 200 meters from the main hotel where we had breakfast. We had two rooms with our adult children and have nothing but praise - they were excellent with a great bathroom. A safe and minibar are provided and the air conditioning was very effective. Although the Remparts is not staffed 24 hour assistance is a phone call away. The building was elegant and we enjoyed sitting in the library in the evening. The breakfast was wonderful with delightful staff in the shaded garden within the main hotel courtyard.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel within the medieval city - full of atmosphere and superb restaurants.
If you have a car you must park between the inner and outer city walls but a service vehicle transports you and your baggage to and from the hotel. Secure parking within the hotel precinct is available for 15 Euros per night but where we left our rental car seemed more secure than many hotels we have stayed - save your money!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed good and, with the city being car-free (apart from service and the occasional r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank probinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Inside the cite, couldn't have a better location. You have to park outside the cite in their car park, ring them and they collect you and transport you to the hotel. The reception staff are helpful, the room was clean and comfortable. Definately good value and high standard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FifiLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
507 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Le Donjon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Le Donjon

Address: 2 rue du Comte Roger | Cite Medievale, 11000 Carcassonne, France (Formerly Best Western Hotel le Donjon)
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: £82 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Le Donjon 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the medieval city of Carcassonne, Best Western Le Donjon is surrounded by the city’s ancient ramparts. The hotel features a restaurant and bar. It is divided into 3 buildings. Free WiFi is provided throughout. The rooms are individually decorated and include a flat-screen TV. They overlook either the citadel or the hotel’s garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Le Donjon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Carcassonne
Best Western Carcassonne
Carcassonne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing