We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanting location.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
161 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Enchanting location.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Right inside the city walls you'll find yourselkf walking in history. From the small alleys to the medival shops you will feel like if you are walking in a story book. The hotel is located in an old building keeping the old world feeling. The rooms are modern and immaculate. The bathroom is spacious and has all the amenities you need. They serve breakfast in the garden, grounds are beautiful and well kept. The staff is friendly and will give you great advise in where to eat. The city itself is full of charm and romanticism. Our kids enjoyed it very much. We are looking forward to go back to cruise de Midi. We feel the personnel at the hotel treat us better than the rest of the other hotel staff we encounter in France.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marietta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    582
    157
    48
    20
See reviews for
222
782
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

the old city of Carcassonne is an amazing place and really must be seen. the hotel is well up to standard and a great retreat from the amazingly busy streets in August. the staff are very helpful and pleasant , which is a welcome change from the attitude of restauranters and bar owners outside in the old city. Please take advice from the reception as to where to eat they will steer you away from the rip off merchants that you may encounter , particularly in the touristic squares.
parking is outside the city walls but this hotel has staff in the car park when you arrive and will send you in a car with your luggage to the hotel - an experience not to be missed.
I recommend the hotel , it helped to sweeten the somewhat sour taste left in my mouth by the rather cynical restauranters that we encountered, they will smile to your face and despise you behind your back - please do take advice from Celine and other staff at le Donjon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charleswood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed in the annexure called Les Remparts, which is a 2 min walk from the main hotel. It felt like you were staying in an apartment rather than a hotel. The room was great, clean and a good size with a decent bathroom. Our window overlooked the square below. I was talked into paying an extra E12 for secure parking. I didn't think that the parking was very secure and in hindsight should have left the car in the public carpark. The staff were very helpful and at the end of the stay the invoice was printed on recycled paper, which was a good touch.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GDR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed in Donjohn hotel with my daughter for one night.
We were pleased with the hotel. It has a welcoming comfortable appeal.
The receptionists were both polite and helpful and i admire them all for their multilingual skills.
I emailed an enquiry before we arrived asking about transport and directions from the airport.
I received a prompt response from Celine, not only did she send info on taxi and shuttle bus she also sent me a map and directions to hotel in cite.
Thats what you call customer service.
You can get a taxi outside airport. (The airport is tiny so you wont get lost.)
We took taxi to airport when leaving. Cost 20 euro from outside cite. Hotel provided shuttle to taxi rank outside cite walls.
We took shuttle bus from airport on arrival cost 5 euros takes about ten mins drops you right outside cite gates.
It is then almost a straight walk through cite gates to hotel about 5mins, probably be quicker if you did not have to fight your way through the crowds as the road leading through is very narrow but broadens out further up.


The reception has several comfortable sitting areas and a peaceful shaded garden which was a welcome relief from the hoardes of tourists and hustle and bustle outside the hotel.
Our room was clean and comfortable, beds were also comfortable. We also had a tea and coffee tray which is a bonus as many hotels do not provide these.
Our room which was a twin had no view it just looked out on to alley at the side. This was not a problem as we were only staying one night and there was far too much to see to be sitting in a room. Only minor complaint was the draw curtains were not wide enough to cover windows properly and there was a very bright street light outside which was lit all night which flooded the room with light. Made it difficult to get a good sleep.
We ventured down into the town outside of the cite. There is an entrance that leads down just past hotel. It is very steep and not to be recommended in the heat of the summer.
The road at the bottom past the church has a small newsagents and a patisserie opposite.
If you continue down this road you come to the river where there is a small park with benches and plenty of shade.
If you walk across the bridge over the river and carry on straightish you come to the shops of the town there is also a supermarket just off the main street ( second on the right after the tourist info) where you can buy drinks ect at a fraction of the prices in cite.
We were going to eat in the hotel restaurant which is just across from the hotel but we were too late, so cannot comment on that. Had to then look for restaurant still serving food.
We ended up in Auberge De Dame Carcass restauaurant which is just round corner from hotel.
We had the 3 course menu and a bottle of white wine which was very palatable
it was there own wine with a picture of the cite on the label. The food and wine was very enjoyable and the bill was a very resonable 46 euros.
The cite is wonderful place to explore and although it is heaving with tourists ( me being one of them ) you can venture to the outer walls where there is plenty of room or veer off down one of the narrow streets.
One thing i would suggest is sensible comfortable footwear. There are lots of cobbles and uneven surfaces as you would expect from a medieval cite. This is not the place for any one with walking difficulties. Wheelchair users would find it difficult if not impossible to get around.
Would definitely recommend Hotel Best Western Donjohn its in a great position with very accommodating staff. Will be back for a longer visit next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annapheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We wanted to stay inside La Cite but couldn't afford the 5* hotel. This seemed the next best option and it was certainly adequate. The hotel looks beautiful with nice gardens to the rear and quite an imposing entrance. The receptionists were the most helpful we came across in France - very sweet and happy to offer advice and directions. The rooms are nothing to write home about, but they are functional and clean. We were out most of the time anyway and the amazing location makes up for mediocrity inside the rooms. The breakfast was expensive so we ate out - definitely a smart option because there are a few little patisseries around the hotel. If we were to stay in La Cite we would go back to Le Donjon, but for the location and service rather than any luxury in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leilawalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Very comfortable hotel within the medieval city of Carcassonne. As a result, it is less accessible for cars but you are offered free parking and a shuttle service for you and your bags when you arrive. The trick is knowing where to go on arrival to take advantage. Drive uphill beyond public carparks, turn right into gated carpark and tell the attendant where you are staying. They'll arrange the shuttle.

The hotel itself is spread across several different buildings outwith the main lobby. We were in one across the street. Very comfortable room. Excellent shower and bathroom, great bed, minibar, satellite TV (with the usual one UK channel - BBC World).

Lovely reception and cosy bar.

Downsides? No pool and breakfast at 12 euros pp was not only a rip-off but on the one occasion we tried it, it was truly awful. Do yourself a favour and take a 2 min walk to the main square where you can get bread, croissants and tea/coffee for 6 euros.

I do recommend this hotel though and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wulliemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed here two nights in June and loved it. The location inside the Cite walls cannot be beat. The hotel lobby and public area is very beautiful. Our room was very large, well furnished, quiet, and comfortable. We had coffee/tea making facilities but no minibar. The bathroom was modern, spacious and well appointed. We parked in the free hotel parking in the castle moat and the hotel sent a porter to pick us up and deliver our luggage to our room and vice-versa upon leaving. WiFi worked well. We did not have breakfast at the hotel as less expensive alternatives were just outside the door. The hotel is good value especially for the location right in the castle walls.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chand01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
Address: 2 rue du Comte Roger | Cite Medievale, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the heart of the medieval citadel of Carcassonne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Carcassonne
Best Western Carcassonne
Carcassonne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing