We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2008

We stayed 2 nights in this beautifully located hotel. Carcassonne is a superb medieval walled town with a Basilica and castle within.

The hotel room was clean, comfortable, with airconditioning, tea/coffee facilities, non-smoking and with a nice view. Only minor gripe would be that it was a bit on the smaller side, but nothing serious. The hotel has a secure safe for valuables. The buffet breakfast was all that it should be. The staff were friendly and helpful. It also has a lift service, so stairs are not a problem.

Being within the ramparts of Carcassonne, the location is absolutely excellent. The modern town of Carcassonne is but a short bus ride from the old town.

If you like soaking up French history or just wandering around shops, cafes and restaurants, then you will enjoy Carcassonne. And it's not so large that long tiring walks are necessary.

We can recommend the Le St Jean restaurant .

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Westbrook_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    585
    159
    48
    20
See reviews for
222
788
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a quick getaway trip to the wonderful old medieval town of Carcassonne.

The hotel was clean, very welcoming and had all the amenities one could want for a short stay in Carcassonne.

The hotel is in two parts namely, the main Le Donjon and the annex Les Remparts which is about 80 metres away from the main hotel.

The hotel is within the walled cite and is an ideal base to explore all that Carcassonne has to offer. We would definitely stay here again and we would not hesitate to reccommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tickle64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

This is a beautiful hotel inside the medieval city of carcassone....its a small but very beautiful city!! id totally recommend a visit and why not spending the night inside it

There are only 3 hotels inside and I think its the best option,feels cosy in it and our room was in the part of the hotel called le Donjon,which was silent and so nice!!

Recption is good and fast and we had a beautiful room in a lovely patio-garden with chairs outside every room.

Room is very nice,comfortable bed not a super big room but very cosy and elegant, nice tv and the bathroom is new with bathtube...thing is there was no tap to have a bath!!!

Breakfast is ok but nothing really special! Maybe better to go out for a coffee instead!

One more thing....we decided to take the car inside carcassone cos all night outside maybe was bit risky...decide yourself if its worthy or not paying the extra plus when you are driving out you have to deal with crowds!!

As a whole id say its an excellent hotel in a magical medieval city!

We wanted to try the braserie at the hotel but they closed too early 8 we are spaniards ) so we asked and went to one of the squares...food and wine is good,about 25 euros menu

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — In August you cant take the car inside until 6 or 7
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank depo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
147 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

We stayed here for 1 night in July. The hotel is centrally located, the car park is outside the walls but luggage was taken to the hotel for you. Nice reception area, room was clean and comfortable with a door out to the garden. Slight problem with the water when we got there i.e. no water, and we were desparate for a shower as it was so hot. However it was soon put right. We ate dinner at the hotel and my husband tried the cassoulet - a speciality of the region -a thick duck and bean stew, however it was nothing to shout about and probably better in winter when you need something hearty. Breakfast out in the cloister garden was lovely, buffet style and plenty of choice. Carcassonne is like a fairy tale castle with lots of turrets, and the best time for photos is early in the morning before the tourists start arriving. A very pleasant stay and one night was just enough.

  • Liked — A cool and quiet hotel away from the crowds outside.
  • Disliked — Room was a bit small.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank emmamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2008

I spent three nights at this hotel with 3 friends - and we were all delighted with it. Although it is right in the centre of the city - & we were there at the height of the peak season - once upon entering the hotel it was quiet & cool, & so well appointed inside. The decor has been done very sympathetically, and there are several small & attractive seating areas. I noticed several radiators which indicate that the hotel should be a warm & cosy retreat in winter. Previous guests on this website have criticised the following: 1) lack of toiletries in the bathrooms: we found that our bathrooms were immaculate & functional & had all neccessary toiletries, & also the hotel information leaflet stated that reception could provide anything that was needed around the clock. 2) Breakfast: first class - a huge selection of fruit, cereals, juices, boiling water for eggs, cheese, ham, various breads & pastries - I'm sure I've omitted something.3) Staff: we found everyone friendly & helpful - especially Anne at reception, who reserved our canal trip for the next morning plus taxi - at 10 p.m. Our rooms in the House of the Remparts - cheapest - were a bit small, but the beds very comfortable & the air conditioning efficient. I was anxious to select a hotel with a garden, one reason I chose this one, and it is really delightful, a haven of peace under the trees surrounded by flowering oleanders. One complaint here! The deckchairs gave me backache! Finally - thank you to trip advisor - as I chose the hotel solely on your recommendation. l'm really grateful.
G.C. Oxford.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Deckchairs in garden.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GwenCOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2008

Stayed two nights at the le Donjon les Remparts in early June. Our room was in the annexe section of the hotel just up the street from the main building. The room we were allocated was extremely comfortable with a large bathroom complete with heater. Most welcome as the weather was rather chilly during our stay. We did not have breakfast in the hotel but ate at one of the little cafes in the town serving good coffee and croissants very reasonably priced.

Any lack of tea and coffee making products could easily be solved in the morning when the rooms were being serviced.

The only problem we had was a long wait for our room to be made available when we arrived by train from Beziers. We arrivied at 11 oclock and our luggage was stored in the hotel. The weather was rather cold and breezy and we had to wander around for a long time before eventually sitting in reception. We were taken to our room at about 2.45 p.m.

All in all the hotel was very comfortable and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Liked — The central position
  • Disliked — The wait for a room to be made available
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianneLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2008

We stayed at the Best Western le Donjon les Remparts for one night on our honeymoon and had a lovely experience. It has a fantastic location, right in the heart of Carcassonne and they encourage you to park your car outside the city and get a lift in. We did this and it was much easier than trying to drive our own car in after 6pm....the roads (if you can call them that!) are incredibly narrow so it is much better traversed by foot as opposed to in your car.

We stayed in the annex, just across the street from the main hotel. It was a perfectly nice room with a queen size bed and nice bathroom. It was not particularly large, but for the money, it was a great deal. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was awesome. We even took pictures (see attached) as we liked it so much.

Carcassone is a lovely city that is perfect for a two day one night stay, you don't need more than that. See attached pictures for shots of the city at night. And, it is an ideal place to bring kids. They will love to explore the outer and inner ramparts and they will feel like they are back in time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank wherearejandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
Address: 2 rue du Comte Roger | Cite Medievale, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the heart of the medieval citadel of Carcassonne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Carcassonne
Best Western Carcassonne
Carcassonne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing