We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not come here if you expect decent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Monte Sereno, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Do not come here if you expect decent service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is clearly understaffed and cannot deliver the most simplest of services. The reception speaks poor English and cannot communicate politely. They cater to the groups over individual travellers. Don't make our mistake, stay somewhere else.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SannK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_hotel_donjon, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your feeling relative to your stay with us, which I read with much attention.
I have been told, as soon as you arrived at the reception desk, about the waiting time for the shuttle. It is true that meanwhile you arrived at the parking our porter was busy already with another customer. That is why my reception staff proposed you to wait for a while or to walk to the hotel, without your luggage. The hotel is at only 5 minutes walking from the parking. The luggage would have been transported in your room afterwards. But you preferred waiting for the shuttle. In order to compensate the waiting, we offered you a bottle of wine with a strawberry basket.
On Behalf our entire time, please accept our apologies again for not having giving you entire satisfaction this time I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Yours sincerely
Hermine Pujol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    584
    159
    48
    20
See reviews for
222
787
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

At the Best Western Le Donjon there are the few eccentricities sometimes associated with staying in French hotels, like odd plumbing, an aircon that only pumps out hot air in April, and a rather unimpressive breakfast.

But the worst is an infuriating “new” wifi system that seemed to require almost constant re-registration and log-ins. (Why do so many hotels - everywhere - fail to get this facility working properly? In Carcassonne a café round the corner from our hotel required one initial log-in and then recognised my phone automatically every time I visited. Why can’t hotels do the same?)

That aside, this is a nice, well-appointed hotel with very good staff and is reasonably priced, considering it’s in the very centre of the medieval Cité, where you step out of the front door into a thousand years of history.

You also step into a warren of small streets and squares, where you’ll find everything from tacky souvenir shops, craft shops, newsagents and (thank goodness) a couple of Tabacs, along with an almost bewildering choice of cafés and restaurants, most of which are fairly good.

First on the list of must-sees is the tour of the ramparts. Don’t go on a guided tour, but instead find the man who rents out the audio guide handsets, who’s just inside the gates. They are just as good and give you the freedom to go at your own pace.

If you want to walk down to the “new” town, which is pretty old as well, be prepared for a long hike, especially coming back, or take a taxi instead. Wrap up well, as the Languedoc is known as the “country of the winds” and a blue sky and sunshine won’t protect you. It can become uncomfortably cold outside at night, too.

The “new” town gives you access to shops, restaurants and the railway station, where you can take day excursions to places like Toulouse and Béziers. Near the railway station, try the Bistro beside the Terminus hotel for lunch - it’s really very good.

To get to the medieval Cité in Carcassonne, we recommend taking a taxi from the airport, just a short ride, and this will deposit you at the front gates where a small shuttle bus will take you up to the door of the hotel. Don’t, whatever you do, attempt to walk up from the front gate with suitcases over the uneven cobbled pathways. You won’t win - take the shuttle instead.

OK, back to the Best Western. The hotel is actually situated in three different buildings. We can only vouch for the Le Donjon. The others are just a short stroll away. Is it a great hotel? No, but it’s good enough. And, let’s face it - you don’t come to a place like Carcassonne to spend all day sitting in your hotel.

Room Tip: Try to find a room where the window actually opens, in case you can't rely on the air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazurka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

great stay at a very well located hotel. the staff were very friendly and helpful - would not hesitate to recommend - the airport shuttle drops off and picks up just outside the old town (cite)walls - it's a short walk to the centre where the hotel is situated - we stayed in a room overlooking the garden it was fantastic - the hotels pictures do not really convey the tasteful decor it really is very good - we did not eat in the restaurant as there are so many restaurants in the immediate area - airport shuttle drivers extremely helpful as are local bus drivers - took a train trip to narbonne (Tgv) and did the canal boat tour - really good

Room Tip: Try asking for a room in the garden annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krystyn_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The desk clerk was very helpful as we were checking in, and she provided some good options for dinner (critical as we were visiting during the low season and many were closed). The hotel was very nice--great atmosphere and architecture in the public rooms, and our private rooms were very luxurious as well. Breakfast the next morning was delicious as well. All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel and location are terrific. Do not attempt to dine at the affiliated restaurant unless you are a French national. Tourists come second in service and food quality. There are many fine restaurant choices in La Cite; Restaurant Le Donjon just is not one of them.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JYamser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, b.c.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and put in the coordinates given on the hotel's website for the hotel guest parking lot. The GPS took us directly there and the hotel driver arrived within minutes to pick us up. As I recently injured my knee and was trying to minimize walking, I requested to stay in the main building (apparently there are 3 buildings, one being some distance away). We were given the lovely Room 6 in the main building which overlooked the front street and the ramparts of Carcassonne. Very comfortable room! Only downside was the shower didn't work. Both the bath tub and sink faucets had excellent water pressure; however, the shower was a mere dribble so I think there was a blockage. The location was fantastic and mere steps from the Castle (self-guided audio tour). We asked the receptionist about a restaurant called La Marquiere (well reviewed) and she informed us that many restaurants were closed on Sunday and gave us the name of 2 other restaurants close by. However, I recalled reading another review (thank you Trip Advisor) stating the restaurant's closing days were mid-week so I called and yes, they were open on Sunday. Thank heavens we called, otherwise we would've missed one of the best meals on this trip! Other than that, the staff was very welcoming. Breakfast was fine and convenient for the 13.50E charge: eggs, sausage, 2 cold cuts (sausage and turkey), 3 cheeses, fruit salad, cereal, yogurt, bread, croissants, and basic beverages. As check-out was at noon and we only stayed one night, the hotel stored our bags until we were ready to leave mid-afternoon. I thought one day was more than adequate to stay in Carcassonne. Would definitely stay at this hotel again due to its superb location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jdVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
252 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

1:No Sunday dinner service at hotel restaurant,but OK Monday breakfast.
2:Hotel introduces a near restaurant "Le Four St.Louis" which is 3-5min.
walk from hotel,just reverse side of hotel entrance is opening only one
among several restaurants in the chateau.
3:From the staion of Carcassonne it takes for 10 min by taxi (18.50 euro).
Taxi area is apart from staion front,though you can find easily 100meter
(110yard) ahead by tourism office(closed on Sunday).
Taxi stops at chateau parking area,and then hotel staff picks us up.
Hotel keeps check-in time strictly,so you can visit a real chateau by 3-5
min walk .
4:TV:BBC,CNN
5:New city down town(business district) is 30 min walk,however almost not
open on Sunday.When you come back chateau around 5p.m,you can
enjoy chateau wall which is lighted up.
6:Hotel staff was terribly kind.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOMY2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
Address: 2 rue du Comte Roger | Cite Medievale, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the heart of the medieval citadel of Carcassonne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Carcassonne
Best Western Carcassonne
Carcassonne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing