We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
146 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is an old hotel with character. The lobby is cozy and nice. Check in and check out were easy. The rooms are just the right size with modern bathrooms. It is in the centre of the walled city like you're living in an older era. The area is not open to vehicles so if you have heavy luggages, you will have to take them along with you. Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geminitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    596
    161
    49
    20
See reviews for
225
802
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Loved the medieval city and location of hotel. Room was in garden area of main hotel. It was quite dark and cold on arrival and I had too clean round with wipes. They did leave lovely fruit and water. Dressing gowns and slippers much appreciated . They did clean every day and changed bed and towels also.. It suited us and once we found how everything worked it was fine. Reception excellent and helpful. Did not have breakfast just eat in our room or in patio. No places to buy food just lots of restaurants with same menu. La cite was wonderful and local bus service very good if you find out times. Main city great but nothing between 12 pm and 2pm and shops reopen.Be aware of where you eat .We were disappointed several times. Never had a ,vegetables in a a week.If you don't speak French it is hard to be understood. Told taxi to airport was15 euros but was 24 euros.Ripped off. Went on wine tour also a rip off. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Patio rooms in courtyard. Give you more freedom. And are quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllenGourock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igualada, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms were not clean
Breakfast absolutely bad and the personal service at breakfast very bad too
Most of the rooms are placed in a different places of the citie and when you go to have breakfast you need to walk twoo hundred meters to get the main part of the hotel. Imagine in rainy or cold weather
The personal at reception was good

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonimari2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have just stayed 3 nights at this hotel and were put in the annex in the top room. This falls well short of a 4 star hotel room. The room is an add on to the top of the annex which is across the road from the main hotel. There is a roof beam from the floor below which was the roof at some point of the building running across the floor, at its lowest nearly 2 foot high rising to 4 foot which means you need to step over it to get from the bed to the bathroom. The bedside lights are linked to the main lights so you can't have the bedside light on without the main light being on. The electric kettle which is hard wired to the mains was broken and another kettle provided which had to be plugged into a socket on the floor. One very odd thing which probably would not be mentioned is the toilet which is so high that you must be over 6 foot to have you feet flat on the floor.

Breakfast was caotic, the tables are so close to each other that you can't get in or out without a sqeeze and this is a buffet. They kept running out of items, I had to ask for scrambled eggs, sausages coffee and hot milk.

On the upside the room was quite, the shower excellent. all of the staff were excellent they were knowledable and effecient.

You can't judge a hotel by it's worst room or maybe you should, I don't know what the rooms are like in the main building but as we booked through a web site they may have a different price structure quoting the cheapest room .

Room Tip: Don't get put in the annex and avoid room 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_hotel_donjon, Directeur général at Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Customer

I acknoledge receipt of your comment about your stay in our hotel.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We ave noted your remarks regarding the room and the breakfast . We appologize for not having giving you entire satisfaction.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

HP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We flew to Carcassonne on Easter Saturday. The airport bus was parked outside the entrance doors to the airport and they are timed to leave 20 mins after the flight has landed. Easy transfer to La Cite Medieval - cost 5 euros each. We were dropped off at the car park near the Narbonne Gates and it only took a couple of minutes to reach the hotel. We were not expecting our room to be ready as it said 4 pm check in on the web site. However, we were pleasantly surprised that our room, number 24 in the main Donjon building was ready. We dropped the cases in our room, put the passports in the safe and headed out to enjoy Carcassonne.

The hotel is in a lovely spot you walk out of the reception and you are in the midst of this beautiful place. We had lunch in Place Marcou - it was very busy and then had a stroll round the Easter Market. The hotel is only about 10 to 15 minutes walk to the centre of La Bastide St Louis - which is the newer part of Carcassonne. We used to walk down over the Pont Vieux and there are some lovely views of La Cite from the bridge - if you go at dusk it is all lit up and you can get some fabulous pictures. We also recommend doing a boat trip on the Canal du Midi.

We found the hotel to be fantastic, the location is great and we didn't have a problem with noise. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful and a credit to the hotel. The porter who drives the little mini bus is really helpful too.

We had breakfast included in our package. The first 2 mornings it was great however on our last morning there, there wasn't much choice. We seemed to hit it at the wrong time as the breakfast room was crowded with a large group of tourists and there wasn't much choice of food to eat. I managed to get some cereal and yoghurt. My partner only managed to get some toast, which was a shame as we were travelling home. The food wasn't replenished while we were there and we waited around 20 mins. The lady in the breakfast room seemed to be on her own and rushed off her feet - this is what let the hotel down in my opinion otherwise I would have given it a 5 rating.

I was also impressed with the checkout. We decided not to get the airport bus back as we would have been at the airport for 2 hours - a quite a long time for such a small airport so we booked a taxi via reception - it cost 18 euros - well worth it. The porter took us to the edge of La Cite in the minibus and our taxi was there waiting for us - excellent service.

Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend to anyone. Would stay at Le Donjon again. It's well worth paying a little extra to stay inside La Cite .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footiefan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great value for money and is also in an amazing location within the cite walls. The photos on its website don't do it justice. We were offered a free upgrade and stayed in the main hotel. The room was a great size with good quality linen and was extremely clean. The bed was comfortable and the double windows ensured a quiet nights sleep. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided.
It was a bit odd that the bathroom had no extractor fan or window and the toilet room which was separate had no sink, window or extractor fan.
We had an issue one evening getting a drink from the bar however the measures were incredibly generous when we eventually did. Other than this incident the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
The buffet breakfast was poor and seemed expensive at €13.50. We had it on the first morning and arrived at the dining room mid service. There was no staff member to welcome us to the restaurant. Some of the food choices seemed to be in short supply-one croissant, 2 small baguettes, 2 mini sausages and one portion of scrambled egg. The waitress who appeared rarely was very slow to replenish these and then only with limited supplies that wouldn't have been enough for everyone arriving for breakfast. The juice was watery and the coffee which was kept warming in an urn was poor quality. On other mornings we had breakfast at Pech cafe near the information office. Fabulous freshly squeezed juice, choice of croissant and marvellous coffee! Together with baguette and jam for €6.90
A free hotel shuttle bus picked us up from just outside the cite walls. A taxi from the airport was €16.
The walk into the new town was pleasant and not too strenuous. Good map from information office with suggested walks and cycles. It's easy to walk across the river Aude to the canal du Midi, taking in the various churches and free art gallery along the way.
We did find there to be far too many tacky gift shops in the cite. There are plenty of places to eat but the menus are mainly limited to the regional cassoulet, duck and tripe sausages with no vegetables altho we did find the fabulous Jardin de la Tour where the food, atmosphere and service were all excellent. Local wine is fabulous!
Overall a good stay and we would certainly use this hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Very clean friendly helpful service .
Large bedroom seperate bathroom and a seperate toilet. Comfortable bed .
Perfect central location , good breakfast, cant fault the hotel.
No taxi access to the town, hotel runs a shuttle service to the taxi.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hgslcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts

Property: Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Address: 2 rue du Comte Roger | Cite Medievale, 11000 Carcassonne, France (Formerly Best Western Hotel le Donjon)
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the heart of the medieval citadel of Carcassonne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Best Western FR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Carcassonne
Best Western Carcassonne
Carcassonne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing