We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Carcassonnee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We stayed for just one night and found it a most convenient hotel. Inside the medieval city walls of Carcassonne its either the hotel Le Cite, if you can afford it, or Le Donjon, a block away. The room was small but clean, with every amenity and a gorgeous view. The staff was most pleasant. You park just outside the inner wall and you are wisked away to the hotel. Breakfast is served in the most charming inside patio, and it is good, not excellent for the price, might as well go around the corner for a croissant and coffee. Do not go to L' Ecu d' Or a restaurant diagona from the hotel. It was crowded outside, so we thought that was a good sign. We could not get a table outside, so were directed inside. We we sat down the paper tablecloth was covered with dust and the window sill next to us sported a six-inch wide dusty spider web that had obviously been there for months! Makes you wonder about their kitchen, so we left. We had a lovely meal at the Brasserie Donjon across the street. .

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2009

stayed with my partner for a short break great hotel fab location very clean friendly staff nothing too much trouble room looked out over cobbled quaint street great for people watching the beds were really comfy and clean couldn t fault it the city is beautiful very medieavil perfect for a romantic break there is a bus that meets every plane and takes you to the old and new city the helpful driver tells you where to get off and directs you 2 your hotel what a star will definately be going again

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firewalker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

This hotel is the sister hotel of the other Best Western hotel in Carcassonne. It is lovely and quiet - especially when the crowds leave Carcassonne. This hotel does not have a reception restaurant but is totally secure. The rooms and beds are large and comfortable with large bedrooms. Also free internet. Our room was very warm and the air conditioning didn't work (same story everywhere). It also has tea and coffee facilities. We got put here as the main hotel was full and it is all part of the same hotel. Good breakfasts too. Nice and quiet and the views out of the window are great!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Readybluedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

For a family with kids who have done disneyland, the donjon is perfectly situated in a real medieval city with everything on the doorstep - the castle, catherdal and other museums, resturants and shops. the young staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, picking us up from the city gate when we arrived and making sure we could find our way around. The rooms are clean and deeply comfortable - might have rather compromised on quality for a lower price (not cheap!)partoculalry given the exchange rate. Breakfasts were plentiful and kept us going for hours. The only problem is becasue Carcassonne is theme-park perfect, the rubbish trucks and cleaning machines are out very early and can be a bit noisy if you're hoping for a lie-in.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank potatofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

This is a lovely hotel in the best location in Carcassonne right in the heart of the walled Cite which is what Carcassonne is all about. It is an 8-10 minute cab ride costing 7 euro from the train station but if you arrive between 10am and 6pm it will drop you at the main gate as traffic is not permitted during these hours. If this is the case the cab driver will call the hotel and they will send a small car to collect you.
A reasonably expensive hotel in Carcassonne but definitely spend the extra and stay here as you will not be disappointed.
We stayed 4 nights and as we had a room in the garden took advantage of the outdoor furniture to relax in this private area in the sunshine.
This is a very well appointed hotel with all the modern facilities both in the room and the public areas. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast was very good.
There is a myriad of restaurants and shops within a 5 minute stroll which means you never have to leave Le Cite.
If you wish to venture down to the main area of Carcassonne or take a trip along the Canal Midi it is a 30 minute walk all the way to the canal with a steep climb on the return.
We highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay in Carcassonne

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SydneyCressy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Useual standard Best Western fare. Ok but nothng special.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harryzona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Le Donjon is a beautiful hotel within the city walls of Carcassonne. Parking is just outside the walls, and the hotel car comes to collect you and your luggage, and returns you to your car when you leave. We chose to walk to the hotel from the car park, and our luggage was waiting in our room when we arrived. Our room was excellent. Spacious and clean, we had a room with kingsize bed, plus an ante-room with day bed for our daughter. The large bathroom was lovely and spotlessly clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and could be eaten either indoors or in the garden. The only downside was that there were a lot of youths in the nearby square at night (not causing trouble, just loud). A beautiful hotel, and the car ride through the narrow streets is an experience in itself.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Touring3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hote...
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - M...
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
510 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Le Donjon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Le Donjon

Address: 2 rue du Comte Roger | Cite Medievale, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France (Formerly Best Western Hotel le Donjon)
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne Center
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: £86 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Le Donjon 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the medieval city of Carcassonne, Best Western Le Donjon is surrounded by the city’s ancient ramparts. The hotel features a restaurant and bar. It is divided into 3 buildings. Free WiFi is provided throughout. The rooms are individually decorated and include a flat-screen TV. They overlook either the citadel or the hotel’s garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Le Donjon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Carcassonne
Best Western Carcassonne
Carcassonne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing