We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2010

The hotel is honest, rooms are clean and with enough space. The backyard is very charming, ask for rooms over there (it is an annex). The staff was nice and helpful. Really worth the money. Staying there was a great plesure.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srg_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

704 - 710 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2009

Lovely break from the tiny bathrooms and showers we'd dealt with before our stay. We were in room number 1 in the main building for 100E (don't get excited about the rate--we were there off season and bargained for a lower price---the rack rate was over 200E). Huge bathroom with a wonderful walk-in shower--four feet by six feet (that's the shower alone---not the bathroom). Window overlooking the square and everything spotlessly clean. The double windows were insulated so that when you closed them, you didn't get the street noise. The beds were super comfy! The location is right in the center of everything. Parking is available in a private lot for 10E. However, we felt okay about using the free parking in the moat since we were able to park almost right next to the Narbonne gate. This place was unquestionably a great deal at 100E. Not sure I would pay the regular rate to stay here though.........

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
2  Thank Linda4490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We stayed here as part of our 40th wedding anniversary trip to France. When we arrived at the station there were no cabs but we rang the hotel and the receptionist organized one very promptly for us. Our room was in the "annexe" as described by a previous reviewer but Room 25 was fine - reasonable size, well-equipped including tea & coffee-making facilities. Great bathroom with shower.

The only drawback was that rubbish-collection and deliveries start very early in the morning (about 4:30)/ Our windows overlooked the exit of the Haunted House bar so, if you wanted a siesta in the afternoon, you were likely to be awoken by shrieks from the people leaving.

A relaxing refuge from the hustle & bustle of Carcassonne.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dottietourdirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We have just returned from a stay in BW Le Donjon Les Remparts, and were placed in Les Remparts, which is a separate building from the main hotel. We presume that this was because our website booking agent did not offer superior or deluxe rooms, which we think must be in the main building.

Alternatively, it could have been that we were not part of a tour group. It makes sense to put large tour parties together, and that would invariably mean putting these clients in the main hotel.

The room (No 3) was tiny. It was a squeeze to walk around the bed and I awoke daily to a plasterboard wall nine inches from my nose. There were no drawers at all. Perhaps the mini bar fridge could have been replaced by a small chest of drawers, and I don’t think they make bedroom cabinets narrow enough for this room. The flat screen TV afforded precious extra space.

We could hear people walking around above. Our ground floor room had a view of the car park and we were woken by the security light shining directly into the room early one morning, and an alarm call we didn’t request equally early on another day.

It wasn’t all bad though: the shower was powerful, the towels, bedding and carpet appeared new, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was more than adequate. Breakfast can be taken in your room.

We went to the main hotel every morning for breakfast and again every night to pick up extra tea, milk and sugar. We looked around and felt somewhat excluded, although the staff we met were very friendly and helpful.

Carcassonne is great for a two or three day break, and the location of the hotel (and “outhouse”) is marvellous. Be warned that the restaurants in La Cité won’t accept you after 2130, but apparently Le St Jean is a little later.

Try to avoid the annexe, perhaps by booking with an agent that offers or guarantees the better rooms. You then might get a large room and/or a wonderful view as reported by other reviewers.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whenever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stayed here in Carcassonne for 1 night going from Provence to Bordeaux. As others have mentioned, parking is kind of a circus but I guess, like the Middle Ages, it is best to bring the valuables behind the castle walls at night.

The hotel was clean and our room had 2 twins that were comfortable. The bathroom was very big with a nice shower. It was all that you would expect from a well run chain hotel. We had breakfast included and it was also good. If you want to stay inside the old city walls, this hotel is a good, lower cost alternative to the more expensive La Cite. The staff was very professional and provided help when asked.

We did eat dinner at their restuarant and it was just OK. The decor, food and service reminded me of a fair New Jersey diner. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great either. The cassoulet was advertised as homemade and was probably was made on the premises. Each portion contained a small piece of duck and a piece of sausage. It had a production kitchen feel rather than a French Bisto. I'd suggest finding another restaurant in town.

To me, Carcassonne had a Disney like feel. I'm glad we saw it and it was beautiful at night but 3 or 4 hours was enough time to see the whole old city.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillyfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

This can be a special trip treat , if you would like to stay inside the walls and have the place to yourself in the early morning or late evening.

The only tricky part is the parking. You first park in the moat, and wait for the diminutive hotel van to take your bags in, when they are ready to do so. You then have to be there at precisely 7 pm to be escorted in a convoy to a secure parking inside the walls, or risk breakage and burglary overnight. Next morning you need to leave early before the crowds, or have the hotel staff take your car out for you if after 10am. They don't tell you this in on the website, they only say that they have secure webside.

Aside from that, a very nice hotel

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

This is a lovely hotel right in the old centre of Carcassonne.
I stayed here with two friends for a long w'end in Aug, and couldn't recommend it highly enough if you're looking for a decent place to stay while exploring Carcassonne that won't break the bank.

The decor in the room wasn't the best I've ever seen, but it was clean and perfectly suited to what we wanted i.e. to NOT spend our days in the hotel room. The room was comfortable and spacious, accommodating three ladies and all our paraphernalia without any problems.

I can't comment about the food in this hotel, as we ate elsewhere, but for a clean, comfortable base at a reasonable price, I don't think you could do better.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuZeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts

Address: 2 rue du Comte Roger | Cite Medievale, 11000 Carcassonne, France (Formerly Best Western Hotel le Donjon)
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: £92 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the heart of the medieval citadel of Carcassonne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Carcassonne
Best Western Carcassonne
Carcassonne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing