We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My little piece of French heaven!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hibiscus House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Hilly2017
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My little piece of French heaven!”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I chose and booked Hibiscus House 12 months from Australia.
The garden and small pool were a delight, the apartment very comfortable and beautifully decorated. It is within walking distance of most important tourist venues in Carcassonne.
Our hosts were excellent. We loved the whole week!

Date of stay: September 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsHappyM...
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This property is just fabulous. The owners Wendy and Paul are super-friendly and helpful, and the apartment couldn't be better equipped. There was a bottle of wine on arrival, and everything you could need for a great self-catering stay (including olive oil and salt/pepper! Very thoughtful).
The pool is small but perfect for young children. Ours are 7 and 10 and they had an absolute ball. Carcassone is, of course, a great city. But after a stroll around, we were keen to get back to the oasis of Hibiscus House and relax. We will return!

Date of stay: August 2014
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan1962
Huddersfield
1 review
“Perfect apartment in ideal location”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We loved our 5 night stay at Hibiscus House. The Woodmans are perfect hosts and it was evident from the moment we walked into the apartment just how much pride they take in the place and they clearly have such a genuine desire to make sure people enjoy their stay and leave with good memories.
There couldn't be a more ideal location in Carcassonne, 10 minutes walk away from both the Ville Basse and Le Cite sandwiched perfectly between them both! Neighbourhood is really quiet and extremely safe, we walked back late at night/early morning and there are no problems at all. The pool and surrounding area are just as described and we spent a couple of relaxing afternoons on the loungers in the sun.
All in all, the perfect place - we've already begun recommending Carcassonne to people and recommending Hibiscus as we can't imagine there's anywhere better!

We had great meals at L'Ecu D'Or and Auberge de Dame Carcas up in Le Cite but in the main square of the Ville Basse Le Longchamp is best avoided.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool area, fully equipped kitchen
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AileenWhi...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Carcassonne”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment I was welcomed by Wendy till I bid farewell I had a marvellous time in Carcassonne. The gite is every bit as comfortable as it appears in the photos and the kitchen has to be one of the happiest places on my trip through France. Made you want to cook. The gite has all the facilities you need plus more with a beautiful garden to sit out and enjoy the sunshine and a glass of rose kindly left for me by my hosts. And the location couldn't be better. This will definitely be my place to stay when I'm next in Carcassonne.

Date of stay: May 2014
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and access to the town and La Cite
Liked least: Having to come home!!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephen B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A really lovely apartment”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in this apartment for just over a week in July 2013 with my wife and 6 year old daughter. I found it to be wonderfully spacious and comfortable with a large lounge and comfortable sofas.

The bedroom is a small area which is effectively a corner taken off the lounge. Likewise bunk beds in the opposite corner. It was very hot during our stay but there was an air-conditioning unit provided that proved to be invaluable.

There is a relatively small but clean and tidy internal shower room which was fine. The kitchen though was very impressive and very well stocked as well with a good selection of glasses, plates, pots, pans etc. The kitchen opens out to a small eating area alongside the pool which proved to be a really nice spot for breakfast and other meals.

The pool itself was small but perfect for a dip at the end of the day. It is too small though for energetic swims but the there is an excellent lake with sandy beach within 3 miles of Carcassone.

If anything, the photographs of the apartment on the website do not do it justice. It seemed to be visually more impressive in the flesh.

The apartment is really well located between the Cite and the newer part of the city. We had a car, though, and found exploring other areas such a Toulouse, Montpelier etc. to be very worthwhile.

The owners, Paul and Wendy live in premises accessed by a path at the bottom of the garden out of the way so can often be on hand if needed. They were very nice and gave us some helpful tips about things to see.

All in all I could not really fault this place. It is so much nicer staying in a well cared for apartment like this in a residential area than a hotel and we were genuinely sorry to leave.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness of the apartment
Liked least: The odd creepy crawly here and there
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roominess of the appartment and the garden/pool area
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.