We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execellent food, service and atmosphere”

Cathar Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #146 of 332 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Price range: US$15 - US$32
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
nyc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Execellent food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I came here on a very rainy September Saturday night. Streets were empty which is very common but felt very safe. We saw the restaurant from the street, but it looked closed. We were disappointed as it had been very recommended. Someone from inside noticed my wife looking around and let us in. The entrance is a side entrance in the court yard next to it. We entered into the dining area and it was very cozy. The lighting was bright but there were people sitting at tables enjoying themselves. We sat in front of a big fireplace. It was pretty warm, perhaps too warm but nice. It was entertaining as the chef was making all kinds of dishes in the fireplace. Stuffed omelets, grilled fish, steak. Service was very nice and nicely paced. The meal was beautiful. The foie gras was excellent. My wife had the cassoulet and it had generous portions of duck and sausage. Everyone was friendly and talked to us. It was a warm spot on a rainy night in Carcassonne.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1024Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    1
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carcassonne, France
Level Contributor
167 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A mere shadow”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

THE CATHAR(hidden nr the prefecture) used to be one of the busiest+best value french/local cuisine restaurants in town some 5/6 years ago.New owners have raised the style+cost of the menu but not the quality.It trys to be gastronomic but fails.The menu looks ambitious but the results are mundane and a little expensive.Dissapointing

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Carcassonne for quality & value”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

A warm welcome,interesting & well prepared food & excellent value awaits. Lunch time & evening specials + à la carte -beautiful ingredients (try the Tournedos-melt in the mouth food!)
One of few places open for Sunday lunch in the winter months - but phone for reservation.

Open fire where some dishes are cooked.
Friendly & informal.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FJS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“well worth tracking this place down”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Just returned from a trip to Carcassonne we were directed to this place via Sue at the Celt bar who recommended we try the steaks cooked on the open fire absolutely fantastic we had foie gras starters and a gratis soup . We watched the steaks being cooked on the fire in front of our table they were tremendous well worth a visit 4 of us went and all said the same.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stuffed to the gills”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We ate lunch here. There was so much food, I practically rolled out of the restaurant! And the food was wonderful.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank RonnieHausheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathar Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Carcassonne, Aude
Carcassonne, Aude
 
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to Cathar Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing