We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful tour”
Review of Sun Tour

Sun Tour
Ranked #3 of 15 Tours in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surprising sightseeing tours from carcassonne, service doors to doors, in minivans 9 seats, air conditionned. Along the Cathar's road, for a day trip, discover the castles of queribus and peyrepertuse. Guided tour for day or half day in english, french, spanish and italien.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children
ontario, canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“wonderful tour”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Antoinne of Sun Tour took us on a wonderful day-long excursion through the district around Carcassonne, mainly (I think?) in the nearby Black Mountains. The castles at Lastours and Saissac were really impressive, and we got a good workout at the former, where a lot of clambering (or at least stair-climbing) was involved. It was very hot, but Antoinne organized the day so that we would avoid the worst of the sun and heat. He gave us a lot of useful information about the history of the sites we were visiting, and also about the district's more recent history and contemporary goings-on. This was the first time either of us had gone on a guided excursion, but we wanted to get the most of our visit to Carcassonne and the Aude, and are very glad that we signed up with Sun Tour. It was a bit pricey for two of us to have a full-day tour, but it was ultimately worth the expense, and we would recommend it even to travellers on a modest budget.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Sun Tour transporter.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Sun Tour , a Transportation Company in the AUDE area in Southern France, has an excellent service when it comes to shorter or longer transports.
We were 8 persons going from Toulouse/ Blagnac Airport to Homps for a week on the Canal de Midi. The Chauffeurs took us safe and carefully to and from our destinations and for a very competetiv price.

Thomas S.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Do not hesitate to book with Sun Tour

We are a party of 8 that recently travelled by train to Carcassonne, France. I found Sun Tour on Trip Advisor and emailed Antoine months in advance to discuss providing transportation while we were in Carcassonne. Antoine was always responsive to my emails and together we were able to plan our first visit to The Aude.

Antoine picked us up at the train station in the early hours of the morning and transported us & our luggage to our hotel inside Carcassonne’s medieval citadel. Since it was early in the morning the shuttle for the hotel was not operating as yet and Antoine was so helpful with our luggage. (Vehicles are restricted inside the Citadel at certain hours) Later that day Antoine picked us up for a half day tour which included The Caunes Minervois Abbey and then onto Châteaux de Lastours to see the four Cathar castles. Wonderful day!

We had some other transportation needs during our visit that were a little outside of Antoine’s normal range but he was able to facilitate a colleague that could provide what we required and we were very grateful to Antoine for organizing such a wonderful gentleman.

Antoine speaks good English and is professional yet friendly and very patient. His vehicle is clean, comfortable and air conditioned and he is a safe driver. He is a family man and knows how to relate with children. We had two small ones in our group. If you are visiting Carcassonne do not think twice about booking with Sun tour. You will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Naval6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magnifique”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I fully endorse all the positive comments below. We booked the half day trip to Caunes Minervois and Cabrespine. Antoine was charming, humorous and relaxed, and spoke perfect English (and is also fluent in Spanish). As he uses minibuses the trip numbers are always going to be small, and we were lucky enough to be just the two of us. Antoine let us go at our own pace. He has the happy knack of imparting historical facts and modern political and sociological background in an interesting way, without it ever feeling like a boring ol' history lesson; and then, having pre-fed us the info, he let us wander round the sights on our own. He also made a slight detour to allow us to see (but not climb to - phew) two of the Lastours castles. And when we weren't talking about history and the local area, we were engrossed in chats about football and rock music - truly a delight to have so affable and knowledgeable a guide. Best to pre-book via his website, as he seemed to have got busy by the time we were in Carcassonne.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrwebb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Having found Antoine on Tripadvisor we booked a couple of tours with him and were so glad that we did. He was great, nothing was too much trouble for him, his knowledge is amazing and he has such a good sense of humour, it was like touring with a friend. We could have booked these tours through our hotel but they were double the price, so check with Antoine first before you book anything through your hotel.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaide23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sun Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing