We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An April Sunday in Carcassonne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
11 Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 53 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I, along with our 23-year-old son, stayed in Sally's lovely suite on Sunday, April 15th, 2012. We had only one day/night in Carcassonne and it proved to be a memorable one due to weather. We visited the fortress in the afternoon when it began to rain and a full-fledged thunderstorm with horizontal sleet broke out when we were at the top with very little shelter. My son claims it to be the highlight of the trip!! However, Sally's B&B was a welcome & cozy place to come into after the storm and her warm hospitality matched her charming suite. She had coffee available for us in the sitting room. Two bedrooms + sitting room + bathroom were available for us, with full breakfast of croissants, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola & jams, orange juice, coffee & tea served in a separate dining area. We were able to park on the street overnight at no charge and got a spot almost directly in front of her place. Also, because it was Sunday, there were a limited number of restaurants open (mostly in La Cite) and Sally took time to go through her card file and recommend a couple to us. We ended up having dinner at the Adelaide restaurant which was my favourite meal of our two-week trip. Sally.....and Carcassonne......I have good memories of our time with you!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

My sister and I stayed at Number 11 for two nights (April 10-12 2012) and have to say it was one of the most enjoyable experiences we have had in our travels. Our train from Narbonne ended up being delayed and arrived late at night but Sally was extremely accommodating and arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the train station. She even also helped carry our bags!
The rooms were lovely, spacious and well-decorated. Since we were there during the off season, the two of us had two bedrooms, a common room, and a full bathroom (with towel heater!!!!!) all to ourselves, quite a deal for only 75 euro a night! The house is in a 15th century building and has original tile floors and charming antique furniture.
Sally was a very gracious host and went above and beyond our expectations, we truly felt like we were staying with a cool relative. She served us a delicious breakfast of granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, croissants and baguettes with fresh orange juice and coffee to wash it all down. After eating stale continental breakfasts during our travels, the feast she provided us was quite a treat. On our last morning, Sally packed us some croissants and bread for snacks on our train ride to our next destination, which proved to be a lifesaver during our six and a half hour journey.
We were in Carcassonne to view the castle and she gave us tips on which entrance to the castle was the most scenic and where to have lunch (we ate at restaurant Adelaide, it was delightful). The castle looks straight out of a fairytale, and was fun to spend some time exploring. If you go to the Chateau for a visit there’s really no need to buy the audioguide, for as we discovered the signs posted in each area have the same information as the audioguide, so we’d recommend saving your money for other things, like some chocolate from the many chocolate shops in La Cite.
We had a great experience at Number 11 and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable and enjoyable trip to Carcassonne.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I can almost, almost give this great B&B stars. It gets 4 because:
1. Its address is "No.11" but it is out of order compared to the other places on the street, AND it doesn't say "11" above the door; and
2. The little box showing the names of the occupants within doesn't show the same name for the host that the host uses on her website, so it was challenging to find.
3. You can park underground in the nearby Gambetta Square (and it's the nicest parking garage I have ever seen-well lighted; squeaky-clean floors, scented, even (!)), but then you have a 2-3 block walk to the B&B and four staircases to climb to the suite, so we had to take out the toiletries and clothes that we needed, and leave our suitcases in our car and bring just our carryon bags for overnight.

However, Sally is a great host; breakfast is great, and the room is huge and glorious--16th Century design and beautifully appointed. Bath is across the hall and there is a large sitting room. The room is private, though there was a party audible through our bedroom wall until about midnight.

We ate at the Creperie nearby and had duck cassoulet and savory crepe--both were excellent. The castle is both good and bad--it is well preserved and much of it is wonderful walking and sightseeing, often alone (at least in April), but the center is congested, tourist-filled, and overly cheap commercial in nature. You have to pay if you want to see the inside of the inner castle. But the castle is nevertheless pretty magnificent. The B&B is very easy to reach from the castle.

I highly recommend this B&B, so long as you understand and can accommodate the logistics.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenton E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

No. 11 Bed and Breakfast was the perfect spot to stay while exploring and experiencing Carcassonne. Everything everyone has said about No. 11 is spot on: Sally is the consummate hostess; the building is magnificent; and the accommodations wonderful. Peaceful, wonderful, restful place to rest one's head after a day filled with adventure. I'd highly recommend it to anyone visiting this beautiful area.

Room Tip: We found our room to be very quiet (and it was on the front of the building). We enjoy sleeping wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzQTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Sally's B&B was ideal for exploring the ancient city and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying there to anyone. The room was very comfortable, spacious and private. This is a B&B where Sally gets the small details right, and that makes a difference. The breakfast was something to look forward to, with fresh fruit on the table. My partner is Coeliac and Sally happp ily supplied boiled eggs with a smile, which was much appreciated. The street outside is peaceful with minimal noise.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallysChateau, Owner at 11 Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I'm always happy to supply an alternative breakfast should it be required. based where I am in the heart of the Bastide its location is perfect for enjoying the city and only an enjoyable 15 min stroll to La Cité. Glad you had a lovely stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

There are times when you can be disappointed with an experience booked on seemingly positive reviews, well definitely not here!! Previous posts bear testimony to the IDEAL location, magnificent building, charming suite & delicious breakfasts (great coffee!).
What i'd add is Sally's warm welcome, her great sense of humour, and her perfect balance between being available for the chat and offering advise on what to see (and what not to!!), and allowing you the space to feel comfortable.
The exclusive guest suite is stylish & comfortable, the bed is one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in, and the suite is in a separate wing, giving privacy for everyone. Due to the design of the suite, your party will be the only guests at any one time, meaning breakfast is really relaxed, chatting with sally if you wish, served at whatever time you like!
Location couldn't be better, perfectly situated between la Cite & the bastide town. Parking in the underground car park at square Gambetta is easy to find & safe. One word of warning with the parking - the car park closes on Sunday. Once you are in, your ticket allows access to the car park and your vehicle, and to leave, but you can't re -enter. There is, however free parking on Sunday 200m further around the ring road.
We were so happy to have stayed in the bastide town (I found the Cite a little eerie and soulless at night), and can't imagine a better choice than with Sally at No.11. Thanks Sally!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irish_bear98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallysChateau, Owner at 11 Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you both for your kind words, I'm glad you enjoyed your trip to Carcassonne, everything seemed to fall so beautifully into place and the weather was just wonderful for you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Although I consider my daughters ages 6 and 7 fairly well-behaved (in PUBLIC places of course!), I think when you are on vacation and everything is new, you never know what you are going to get. Sally's place was the best choice for us. VERY CHILD FRIENDLY (as well as VERY centrally located) The sitting room with the huge treasure chest of legos kept my daughters entertained, while my husband and I had a chance to relax and drink our tea. In fact my kids loved the ambiance so much they wanted to know if Sally was going to come out to dinner with us! Also, we work long hours and didn't have much time to research the town, so we used Sally as a resource and was not disappointed with her choice of restaurants,places to see and things to do. The breakfast was also a step above the usual french fare, with fresh fruit, varieties of yogurt and of course bread and viennoisseries.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobynEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallysChateau, Owner at 11 Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I pride msyelf on being child friendly here, nothing more pleasing to see children enjoying the lego and the books whilst their parents relax a little ! Thank you for your wonderful mouthwatering cakes too from your family patisserie, do come back again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast
Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 53 in Carcassonne
494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
1.7 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 11 Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 11 Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 rue Aime Ramond, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range: £75 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Medieval Bastide of Carcassonne this is an ideal spot in which to base yourself to explore the beautiful region of the Languedoc-Roussillon. Within easy walking distance to the famous UNESCO sites of La Cité and Canal du Midi. Carcassonne itself offers a variety of restaurants, shops, museums and sites of archaeological interest. No.11 has a private suite within a listed building of historical importance dating from 1570. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing