We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total gem! Perfect base for myself and my family.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
11 Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 53 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A total gem! Perfect base for myself and my family.”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This amazing B&B was recommended to me and this weekend my husband and our 2 year old twin boys stayed the night. Easy to find with the GPS and Sallys excellent directions, we were bowled over by the stunning staircase entrance up to the B&B. Centrally placed in Carcassonne, yet quiet enough overnight with the shutters closed.
Very well decorated, plenty of space for us to spread out and let the boys run around. 2 very large bedrooms gave us more than enough space for a very good nights sleep - the main double bed was so comfy we could have stayed all morning!
The seating area outside the bedroom was ideal for me as I like to wind down and read, and have a cup of tea before bed.
Breakfast was served in the seating and dining area and was plentiful - with fresh coffee as well for me and tea for my husband. The croissants were fresh and warm, a lovely breakfast and set us up perfectly for the day ahead.
The little touches like the books for the boys made this the perfect stay and I do wish we could have stayed for longer - next time!

Room Tip: Just the one suite so perfect for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
73
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 to enjoy Carcassonne out of season. What a great idea it turned out to be. Sally made us so welcome and arranged taxis and wine tasting for us. Her recommendations for where to eat for lunch and dinner are spot on, we enjoyed everyone of them.
The B&B itself is a gorgeous old building with impressive staircase, the suite for the twin room was nice and large and gave us room to chill out between sightseeing etc.
The beds were very comfortable and the rooms really tastefully decorated.
Great continental breakfast and a great shower (that is a big plus to me!).
Location wise it was perfect, right in the the town centre so close to shops bars cafes etc but only about a 5 or ten minute walk (depending on your walking pace!) to La Cite.
Make sure you walk up to La Cite via a few different routes as each route has a different aspect to appreciate.
Thank you Sally for making our visit to Carcassonne so wonderful x

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stringy601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

As everyone notes, Sally is a delightful hostess and English-speaking travelers will appreciate the ease of communication. We stayed in a recently completed additional suite (see photos) to her B&B located on the same floor and entry area. It is quite spacious for French standards and the bedroom and bathroom may have had other functions in the 17th century. Original tiled floors, antique furniture & fixtures - it's not a modern contemporary, but quaint comfort in the lower town, accessible to everything. Just a 10-minute walk thru mostly pedestrian area from train station and an easy walk to La Cite, noting uphill hike to ramparts. Lovely breakfast served in room at dining table to start your day. We also enjoyed a couple of days exploring the countryside and vineyard hills by car. Sally has good dining recommendations and advice, enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SM44147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Sallynwas lovely and the b n b was amazing! We had so much space and the beds were very comfortable. The room was a little noisy. This is great value for money and I won't bother even looking at hotels. Breakfast was beautiful and this b n b was only a 5min walk to the centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nlewis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

No. 11 is a fabulous find...once you find it!!! As there is no house number out front it is a bit tricky to find...look for the gold colored oval seal of the notary public over the door and you are there. Sally's buzzer is on the INSIDE of the door frame and easy to miss.
You best be in shape as it is 45 steps up...yes 45!!! and 45 down again!!!...but once you are inside her apartment and bed and breakfast it is like an oasis, and you basically have your own suite. Our 'space' was a large bedroom overlooking the street and it had a sink in it as well. Then there was the attached sitting/eating area that was very spacious and of course the bathroom. The bathroom was tiny, but more than adequate.
Sally has a fan in the bedroom for air circulation when it is warm and that was very helpful. For those who like sleeping with the window open, you best have earplugs as there is a lot of noise from the street when the windows are open.
Parking is always a challenge in small villages, and Carcassonne is no exception. There was limited street parking on the street outside her place and then you have to keep plugging money into the meter which is a block or so away. Fortunately there is a fabulous secure underground parkade no more than a 5 minute walk from her door...and it was only 6 euro for 24 hours. It was so convenient to be able to park the car and then not have to worry about it for a couple of days as all the tourist things that you would want to do in Carcassonne are all within walking distance of No. 11. What a bonus that was1
This bed and breakfast is inside a building that dates from 1570 and so you can well imagine the numbers of feet that have navigated that lovely staircase.
Breakfast served was the typical french baquette, croissant, yogurt, juice, tea/coffee and fruit.
Sally made herself availble for advise/things to do/places to go which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Sally our delightful hostess welcomed us into her gorgeous B&B with a huge smile and a cup of tea and thus began a fabulous 5 days. Rooms spacious and comfortable with loads of extras and Sally had an innate sense for what we needed and when eg a pot of tea after a morning of cycling. Had so many laughs as Sally is such a vibrant vivacious person who obviously loves what she does. A perfect place in a great city.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussietraveller55_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at No 11 for 4 nights in July 2012. Well what an amazing place. Our room was more like an apartment and furnished beautifully. I must say the bed was the most comfortable we had slept whilst in France. Sally our hostess was very helpful and obliging and recommended some excellent places to eat. This accommodation was exceptional and good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ridgydidge46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#29 of 39 in Carcassonne
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#21 of 39 in Carcassonne
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Chambres d'Aime
Les Chambres d'Aime
#33 of 53 in Carcassonne
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
42 Rue Victor Hugo
42 Rue Victor Hugo
#32 of 53 in Carcassonne
93 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Le Beausejour
Bed & Breakfast Le Beausejour
#35 of 53 in Carcassonne
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 11 Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 11 Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast

Property: 11 Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11 rue Aime Ramond, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Medieval Bastide of Carcassonne this is an ideal spot in which to base yourself to explore the beautiful region of the Languedoc-Roussillon. Within easy walking distance to the famous UNESCO sites of La Cité and Canal du Midi. Carcassonne itself offers a variety of restaurants, shops, museums and sites of archaeological interest. No.11 has a private suite within a listed building of historical importance dating from 1570. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing