We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carcassonne Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 58 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Perfect place to stay in Carcassonne, close to the old city and the low city. The view is as good as it looks - take time to enjoy the best light in the evening with a glass of wine on the terrace. Room comfortable and breakfast was VG. Patrick was helpful and we appreciated his recommendations. Stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MADTRAVELMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    32
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
238
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great place to stay in Carcassonne. The view of the old city, the park and the river from Patrick’s terrace is amazing. Plenty of free parking; good secure wifi. Patrick is Irish so it was refreshing to have fairly detailed (English) conversation about the area. We had a nice sized room on the ground floor, and everything was as we expected and more. Would definitely recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

One is tempted to ask whether one can over use superlatives because, if one can, then this place would be a candidate. Clean, comfortable, excellent facilities and, although it is situated in a quiet street, it is within easy strolling distance of the "old" and the "new" cities. The terrace provides an imposing view of the battlements of "La Cité" as one eats one's breakfast. The host, Patrick, is charming, informative and helpful. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights at the Carcassonne guest house which is perfectly positioned to view the old walled city from the terrace. The old walled city is just a short walk away and
so is the so called 'new' city which really is not that new! Patrick the host and Bree were so helpful and accommodating it made the our stay very enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble. Parking was easy right outside the B&B. Breakfast on the terrace. The rooms were very comfortable and well equipped.
Patrick also recommended a great local restaurant serving the best authentic local dish of cassoulet.
We read a previous review that said there were too many rules but we didn't find this at all just a very helpful guided tour on arrival. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Carcassonne. Go ahead and book away.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have just returned from staying four days at the Carcassonne GuestHouse. This is a gem in the location of Carcassonne. Breakfast is served on the terrace with an uninterruped view of La Cite and the food is fresh and delicious. The guesthouse is owned and managed by Patrick who spent a lot of time at check in explaining the locality and how to get to places etc. He was very friendly without being nosey or overbearing. The location is amazing. I got a bus from the airport to la Dome and walked 100 metres down the road to the guesthouse. It is within 5 minutes walking to Place Carnot in the centre of Caracssone and ten minutes walk to the train ststaion. 5 minutes walk brings you into the "old city". The guesthouse is spotless and a lot of time and effort has gone into its refurbishment and obviously its upkeep. It is so central and yet in such a peaceful location. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

A B&B run by an irishman (Patrick) who speaks english and french. The B&B is centrally located in Carcassonne in between the new town and medieval city. The B&B offers a fantastic view of the medieval city from the terrace where breakfast is served. There is also an inner courtyard if your looking for peace and quiet in the shade. Our bedroom was a good size with a double bed and single bed, flat screen tv and air conditioning which was a godsend. When we arrived, the temperature was 26 degrees but then shot up to 30 degrees for the remainder of our stay. The bathroom had a good size shower (no bath which wasn't missed). The only item missing was a mini fridge as the weather was hot, it would have been good to keep drinks cool. Breakfast was french style, consisting of french bread, croissants, french cheese and jam with fruit juices, tea or coffee. Patrick also served a homemade concoction of museli with yoghurt with fruit on top which was just right. There is a 4* hotel down the road from this B&B which offers the same view of the medieval city but for a lot more money but I would recommend staying with Patrick.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitehalltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We just spent 2 nights at the Carcassonne Guest House and really liked it. The Irish owner, Patrick, is hands on and anxious to be helpful and informative to his guests. We stayed in a back room that was large and totally updated with a comfortable bed, nice bathroom and good Wi-Fi. Only improvement would be English channels on the TV. We were not there to watch TV however. A few standout features are the free parking, great location and front terrace with the BEST view of the medieval Carcassonne walled city while you enjoy breakfast or a drink later in the day. Plus you can walk to the city over an old pedestrian only bridge in about 15/20 minutes with great views all the way. A nice park and the river is just in front of the B&B. A very nice breakfast was included and looking at the old city while eating was very cool.
We ate one night in the walled city at the Round Table and it was excellent. Another great restaurant was recommended by Patrick...L' Alsassiette in the "new town" area which is also very old. It has a German flair and gave us a nice break from the great French food we found everywhere. It is also about a 15/20 minute walk so you really don't need your car while staying there. In the new town near L' Alsassiette is an Irish Pub, The Celt, that Patrick owns as well. There was music playing the night we were there and it was a lot of fun. Carcassonne is amazing and definitely worth the trip to see it. There are other interesting things to see in the area as well. All in all we had a great stay there and highly recommend the Carcassonne Guesthouse.

Room Tip: The rooms are all very nice. It's all about the terrace view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwdlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carcassonne Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carcassonne Guesthouse

Property: Carcassonne Guesthouse
Address: 11 quai Bellevue, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carcassonne Guesthouse offers one of the best views of La Cite (Carcassonne Medieval Fortress). The house set in a very quiet prestigious residential neighborhood on Quai Bellevue (beautiful view) overlooking the river Aude and the truly magnificent castle. Just a short walk away is the lively town centre with its array of shops, cafes and colourful markets. The guest house boasts 5 ensuite climate controlled bedrooms, all decorated to the highest standard.Guests can relax in the courtyard and eat breakfast (prepared by your host) on the gorgeous terrace whilst admiring the breathtaking views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carcassonne Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing