We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome here”
Review of Hotel Montsegur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montsegur
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne Center
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Well situated for Carcassonne town centre (not city) and with parking. A very warm welcome from Valerie who was extremely helpful on arrival and the following morning at breakfast.
Hotel old style but very comfortable. Everything worked as it should. Will stay here again if returning to Carcassonne.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFGRS, Propriétaire at Hotel Montsegur, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014
Google Translation

Nous serons très heureux de vous accueillir à nouveau,
avec nos meilleurs sentiments,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

What a wonderfull surprise to find a hotel you could not fault, Valerie the receptionist could not do enough to help us
Exceptionally clean and comfortable with an excellent
breakfast
Irene & Brian Whitcomb
Westcliff on Sea

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire21072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFGRS, Propriétaire at Hotel Montsegur, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014
Google Translation

Un grand plaisir de lire votre commentaire et que vous appréciez notre souci de propreté et du détail. Ce fut un réel plaisir de vous recevoir durant ces deux jours,
Bien à vous,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and its staff. We found it quite by accident as we walked along the street. The rooms have period furniture, breakfast, although 10 euros was plentiful.
Spotless. Very helpful staff. Had a disaster at a nearby laundromat which they fixed for us- the laundromat owner was away on holidays.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAYEM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFGRS, Propriétaire at Hotel Montsegur, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014
Google Translation

Nous nous souvenons très bien de l'épisode "laverie" et machine dévoreuse de vêtements !
Ce fut un plaisir de vous rendre service en dehors de l'hôtel.
Merci pour vos commentaires élogieux,
Bien à vous,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here for one night in Carcassonne and couldn't have asked for a better hotel. The driving system in Carcassonne town is quite confusing and as this hotel sits on the edge of the town its much easier to park up here and go on foot into town. Its about a 10 minute walk to Carcassonne town and a half an hour walk to the Cite. The hotel itself is a nice old grand building (although could do with a bit of a revamp inside) and is clean with very friendly staff. Is a good base for exploring and a 10 minute easy drive from the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFGRS, Propriétaire at Hotel Montsegur, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you very much, we have continued renovations...
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Hot, musty, and needs major updating. The ac/ fan unit was unpredictable. We stayed when every day was over 90 degrees and humid. the ancient bedding had a mildest odor. The service was friendly and helpful. If you visit this amazing city I recommend staying closer to the castle and away from the busy traffic.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenniferjoiedevivre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFGRS, Propriétaire at Hotel Montsegur, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014
Google Translation

Nous regrettons de ne pouvoir situer votre séjour, une panne de climatisation à cette époque mais tous les clients avaient été avertis avant leur arrivée, avec une compensation.
Pour le moisi nous ne voyons pas. Nous regrettons votre déception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I chose this hotel because it was small and looked very French, as we didn't want to stay in one of the big chains which are the same all over the world. Our welcome was friendly and the receptionist spoke English. The building is old as other reviewers have described and is a bit shabby with small rooms, but it suited our purposes just fine. We thought the breakfast was more than adequate - it is an optional extra at 10 euros and we were happy with the quality and quantity provided, as well as the service. Arriving on a Sunday, a lot of the restaurants nearby were closed but this was pointed out to us at the hotel, with recommendations of those that would be open nearby. This hotel gives good access to the main town, but is a good walk from the old city, a consideration if you want to go back there to eat in the evening, as we did.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valweedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
didier11, Propriétaire at Hotel Montsegur, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

One year later, thank you very much, we hope you have done good trips this year.
Best regards,
Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This is a smaller hotel (about 20 rooms) in a 200 year old large mansion house that has been converted to a hotel. The building has been kept up to date and offers modern conveniences, including free Wi-Fi and free parking, but guests must appreciate that because of the nature of the historical building, the rooms tend to be small.

The trick to having an enjoyable stay here is to ask the front desk staff to show you several different rooms to allow you to make your choice before you check in. Each room is unique and different, and by looking at several different rooms first, you will be able to find one that suits your preferences (and avoid being assigned a room that is too small for you).

The staff are extraordinarily gracious, friendly, and helpful. Do not hesitate to ask the staff for advice about what to see in the community.

The hotel does not have a restaurant. Breakfast is available for an additional charge of €10 per night. On a stand-alone basis, the breakfast charge is rather high relative to what you get for breakfast, but when you consider the total charges in context (room charge, free parking, free Wi-Fi, breakfast charge, etc.) the hotel offers good value for a downtown Carcassonne location.

Room Tip: Ask to see several different rooms at the time of check-in. No two are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFGRS, Propriétaire at Hotel Montsegur, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013
Google Translation

Monsieur,
Ce fut un réel plaisir de vous recevoir, cultivé et connaisseur, motard qui plus est.
Conversations forte intéressantes et enrichissantes.
Nous espérons que la suite de votre voyage s'est bien passé.
Bien cordialement.
Isabelle et Didier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#15 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
715 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
520 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Au Royal Hotel
Au Royal Hotel
#38 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
148 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#19 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montsegur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montsegur

Address: 1 avenue Bunau Varilla, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: £74 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montsegur 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Montsegur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montsegur Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing