We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful, friendly, pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Japan
Level Contributor
173 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Restful, friendly, pleasant stay”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

What a relief to retire to the comforts of the Domaine d'Auriac after the theme park madness of Carcassonne (much nicer at night, after dinner, when the tourist hordes have retreated and the spectacular lighting brings out the best in the reinvented battlements). A family-run hotel, operated with quiet pride, the hotel reminds me of shabby-chic establishments my parents patronized 50 years ago across Europe. The rooms are nothing special, but have a homey charm in keeping with the establishment's ethos. The Michelin-starred restaurant gave us an excellent, earthy meal - no flights of fancy here - with only one deficit: a curiously sparse and unimaginative cheese tray. Breakfast in the hotel's lovely garden was glorious. Would we return? Yes, with great pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    67
    26
    12
    3
See reviews for
46
205
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Our stay at this hotel was a wonderful surprise. First of all, everyone at the front desk was exceptionally welcoming when we arrived late in the afternoon following a very long drive. The restaurant went out of their way to make us a late lunch, beautifully served on their back terrace.

The hotel as well as the grounds are beautifully maintained, every detail overseen by the owner who greeted us every morning with excellent suggestions for daily itineraries during our stay. Our room was very quiet with beautiful views of the garden, certainly a wonderful oasis from the high energy of Carcassonne, although only within 10 minutes of La Cite. We enjoyed our dinner in their restaurant as well as in their bistro, again with exceptional service in both.

Our room faced the front of the building which was surprisingly quiet with a very comfortable king size bed. The room was fully equipped with a refrigerator as well as free internet, flat screen TV, a writing desk and a sitting area, providing more than ample space with plenty of light through the very large windows facing the garden. The property has been well cared for by 3 generations of the owner's family giving it the feel of a very welcoming home.

Over the past 30 years we have stayed at a number of Relais & Chateaux properties and it was at this property where we felt so welcome and at home that we happily extended our stay by several days .

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mbgaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

we went twice. first was a nice discover. second was consequently. at few minutes from old carcassone is a point strategic to travel in south of france. madame marielle rigaudis is a fantastic owner, she makes you feel at ease only just with her smile. rooms are spacious and confortable. restaurant is correct. garden and pool amazing. we'll come back again.

Room Tip: ask a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milanogrifone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We came here for the golf and the course is indeed pretty. Only some rooms are renovated, so be careful to request one. The hotel is below average Relais et Chateau standards both in terms of facilities (cheesy statues, no frills public area) and service (no free internet). A scary moment came after we requested a snack after checking in around early afternoon, and the gazpacho a la tomate is literally made from canned tomato juice, olive oil, salt, and cut-up pieces of cherry tomatoes. I complained to the manager, who told me that she made the gazpacho herself?!, and that she put the mashed tomatoes through a sieve and did not use the typical recipe for gazpacho. Fresh tomatoes, put through a sieve or not, do not taste like airplane tomato juice. After this experience I'm not surprised to read the disappointing reviews of the Michelin starred restaurant on site...If the kitchen is closed after lunch service, serving us just the tasty ham and cheese on the snack menu would've been fine. Why the express "gazpacho"??? Even though we're Americans, we're not THAT easily fooled.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teafortwosf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Has the Relais Et Chateau "chaine" been sold? Not up to previous standards; room amenities like Great Western. A 6 out of ten. At dinner bouche cold, fois gras straight out of the frigo. Service haphazard. Front desk cold and abraisive. Booked a package; room/meal and watch out for the offer of champagne before dinner. Thought it was part of the package - very unclear - and was 20 euros extra per glass.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mystic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Just returned from having 5 nights at the above hotel. Room very nice even though bed was not big enough and we aren't a big couple! Very thin walls, felt at times you could hear every word being spoken and I am sure the next door people were only having a normal conversation.

Food was exceptional as expected with prices to match! The Maitre D Patrick was superb and made you feel very welcome. There is a Bistro D'auriac next door which was worth trying and they had some super "ordinary" menus to try. Staff were very helpful as always.

You have the option of breakfast in your room but we went to the restaurant instead the first morning. The food was of no choice, it was put down in front of you, all continental style with mini jam pots which surprised us as the hotel was selling beautiful home made conserves at the reception desk which I would have thought we would have been offered. The most off putting experience was the waiters were preparing for dinner that night and tables were being laid and moved about which was very odd for the standard of a R&C hotel. We did not eat breakfast there again.

The hotel could have had more facilities to wind down with ie. perhaps a DVD/music system in the room. We did not hire a car this time as we assumed we would have acres of land to walk round but the land around the property was for golfers and walkers were not allowed which was understandable.

All in all not the usual standard of R&C that we have tried previously but if you want peace and quiet this is the place with Carcassonne being only a 5 minute drive or 10euros in a taxi.

  • Liked — Generous sized sitting room/bedroom
  • Disliked — Thin walls!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wonderfulCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2007

We stayed at Domaine d'Auriac earlier this month - what a wonderful experience! It's located just 5 minutes from the walled city of Carcassonne and has convenient autoroute access for trips elsewhere in the Languedoc.

Our room was in the main house (there are also guest rooms in annexes elsewhere on the property) facing the front, and I would recommend that you request a room facing this direction. The hotel grounds are like an oasis, with a lovely pond in front surrounded by roses and other flowers, which allows you to forget that the hotel is located just off a main road. Our room was totally quiet and peaceful, but we noticed on strolls around the grounds that there is a lot of road noise in the back of the hotel. The room was large, with a double bed and a small sofa near the TV and lots of closet space. The view out the front was beautiful. The room was decorated in traditional French style in blues and whites - nothing ostentatious, but tasteful. The bathroom was not quite as luxurious as I would expect for a Relais & Chateau hotel, but it was good-sized and accented with marble. Keep in mind that this is an older building and is not going to seem as spiffy and brand new as a modern high-rise hotel, but everything is clean and well-maintained.

We were very happy with the accomodations, and then were truly blown away by the restaurant. The dining room is gorgeous - very traditionally and elegantly decorated, with a beautiful terrace where dinner is served when the weather is good. The food and service merit its MIchelin star and then some. The extensive menu features all sorts of local dishes served in a style fitting of a gastronomic restaurant (the anchovy appetizer, local pork served 5 ways and cassoulet are some examples, but we loved everything we ate there). We had every intention to try out other area restaurants during our stay, but we found the restaurant so phenomenal that we ate there every night of our three night stay. The sommeliers also steered us towards different - and fantastic - local wines every night. Finally, the salon upstairs was the perfect, relaxing place to have an Armagnac or a cigar after dinner before heading to the room.

One of the reasons I love traveling in Southwest France is because the people are unfailingly friendly and kind. The staff at the Domaine d'Auriac is no exception. Service everywhere in the hotel was prompt and professional. We also appreciated that before we left to go off sightseeing every day they confirmed our dinner reservation at the restaurant so we didn't have to think to do it ourselves.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Domaine d'Auriac to anyone looking for first-class accomodations in the Languedoc. And don't miss out on the restaurant!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank julesagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
748 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
290 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
1.9 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine d'Auriac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine d'Auriac

Property: Le Domaine d'Auriac
Address: 2535 route de Saint Hilaire, 11009 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Domaine d'Auriac 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tranquil Domaine d'Auriac Relais et Châteaux, welcomes its guests to calm and comfortable surroundings.It is set a mature 3000 years old park, an idyllic haven of greenery on the Mediterranean doorstep encircled by the black mountains and the stunning southern region of the Corbières.The are two smooth-watering restaurants "Bernard Rigaudis" and "Le Bistrot d'Auriac" available for food lovers.An 178 holes golf course, swimming pool and tennis court will all go towards making your stay both an enchanted and relaxed one.It is a stunning location at the foot of the "Cite de Carcassonne" with the "Canal du Midi" nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Le Domaine d'Auriac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing