We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel and Restaurant”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

To start, the owner goes out of her way to make you feel welcome when you arrive. Hotel is lovely and well equipped for an older property. The restaurant is excellent. Suggest you let Mr. Franck Sakhinis one of the best wine sommelier's in France select one of the local wines, you won't be disappointed. Overall a great place to stay, although somewhat hard to find--even with GPS.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Healdsburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHRC11, Owner at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Madame, Monsieur,
I Want to thank you particularly for your encouragement and your support.
Hoping to welcome you again soon in le Domaine d'Auriac.
Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet
Maîtresse de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    67
    26
    12
    3
See reviews for
46
207
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We only stayed one night at Domaine d'Auriac and found it memorable. The building is charming. The Directrice, Marie-Hélène Rigaudis, is elegant and warmly welcoming. Her love of her property added to our enjoyable stay. We had a very comfortable room with a very spacious bathroom. We treated ourselves to dinner in their wonderful restaurant with excellent food and friendly wait staff.

We would highly recommend this property when visiting this part of France whether it includes a visit to Carcasonne or not. Many thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manytrips_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHRC11, Owner at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Madame, Monsieur,
I Want to thank you particularly for your encouragement and your support !
Hoping to welcome you again soon in le Domaine d'Auriac.
Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet
Maîtresse de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We (P & HB UK) are regulars at Relais & C hotels so can compare. Stayed two nights on two occasions (May & June). Friendly and welcoming reception. Good quality accommodation and excellent Michelin star dinners on terrace. Local wines just stunning. Swimming pool just great (but watch the surrounding tiles which will be slippy if wet). Walking distance about an hour to Carcasson if you are walkers (along river). We do a three hour walk each time we stay. Details from tourist board or www.ffrandonneee.fre. I imagine good golfing nearby. We plan to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Madame, Monsieur,
I Want to thank you particularly for your encouragement and your support !
Hoping to welcome you again soon in le Domaine d'Auriac.
Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet
Maîtresse de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
164 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

If you want to get an idea of staying in luxury member of relais&chateaux network (www.relaischateaux.com), you should start with this location. It is a cocktail of historic place (heart of cathars’ Carcassone), historic mansion of rare taste, amazing personnel and gastronomic restaurant.
Food and wine worth separate story. You can try lamb cooked in 6 different ways, enjoy sommelier’s choice of wines – in the most beautiful park, which is breathing with history. Breakfast at the lawn is out of this world. Visit the place!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Madame, Monsieur,
I Want to thank you particularly for your encouragement and your support !
Hoping to welcome you again soon- with a better pool temperature!- in le Domaine d'Auriac.
Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet
Maîtresse de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonderange, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

for the second time we stayed at domaine de l'auriac
food is excellent location wonderful the golf very interesting

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marcel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Madame, Monsieur,
I Want to thank you particularly for your encouragement and your support !
Hoping to welcome you again soon in le Domaine d'Auriac.
Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet
Maîtresse de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here for the second time recently and it was great to be back albeit just for the one night as we drove from the Cote D'Azure to Saint Emilion. The hotel is not really in Carcassonne but a few miles away from the hustle, bustle, souvenir shops and crowds of the old Citadel - which we personally think is a good thing. Tucked away beside the Carcassonne Gold Course this offers everything you would reasonably expect from a Relais & Chateaux property; a tranquil oasis of calm with achingly pretty gardens and a (heart-stoppingly cold) swimming pool.

The welcome is warm, the rooms are furnished to a very high standard but the food is absolutely fantastic. The signature dish here - a stunning soufflé made with fresh orange juice and Grand Marnier - is worth a visit alone. They take their food seriously here and the Michelin star is richly deserved.

If I had any constructive feedback, charging 2 Euros in the room for a single Nespresso shot feels a little excessive. They don't cost that much and this is the first place we've stayed that has the machines in the room but effectively charges to use them.

I mentioned the pool earlier. It was hot day when we arrived and I dove straight into the water to cool down - an experience I won't forget (or wish to re-live) anytime soon. I'm pretty sure that my iced G&T later in the evening was warmer..

Finally - and this is not really their fault - but this is a damn tricky place to find. Forget GPS - we had one fitted too our hire car and a back-up 'Tom Tom' from the UK and neither could locate it accurately. There is no signage to speak of either - apparently due to some local bylaws or ridiculous EU regulations. Not an issue if you are arriving by cab but if you are driving yourself, make sure you get detailed directions before setting off, thereby avoiding the 20 minutes of 'going round in circles' that we went through....

Room Tip: They are all individually styled - ask for a renovated room if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dr_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHRC11, Propriétaire at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Madame, Monsieur,
I Want to thank you particularly for your encouragement and your support !
Hoping to welcome you again soon- with a better pool temperature!- in le Domaine d'Auriac.
Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet
Maîtresse de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Domaine d'Auriac during our honeymoon. After a week in Paris, we were absolutely exhausted and Domaine d'Auriac provided us a wonderful, relaxing, comfortable, and homelike stay!

After a long day on the train, we were welcomed warmly by Jessica at the front desk and shown to our suite (gorgeous! It was the one with the cream-colored curtains pictured in the visitors' photos above) which was spacious and comfortable, with a large and beautiful bathroom. Any time we needed anything, the staff were right there to help!

We had dinner in the hotel that night, and each of the three nights we stayed. On a cold and rainy night, the cassoulet was perfect, and we tried different dishes every night, each of which was amazingly delicious! We also ate lunch one day at the Bistro d'Auriac, which was wonderful, as well.

We were unfortunate with respect to the weather (it was rather rainy that weekend), so we were unable to take advantage of the beautiful swimming pool. However, we were able to walk to la Cité, which took about an hour along the riverside trail. It was a very pleasant walk, and very romantic!

Over the weekend, we felt as though we were welcomed into Madame Rigaudis-Calvet's own home, and when it was time to leave, it seemed we were saying "goodbye" to old friends.

During our trip to France, we stayed in four hotels in total: A boutique hotel in Paris, Domaine d'Auriac, a vineyard in Montpellier, and a luxury spa hotel just outside St. Tropez. Of the four (which were all excellent), Domaine d'Auriac had the friendliest staff, the most spacious room, and the warmest atmosphere. We hope to return someday!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHRC11, Propriétaire at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Madame, Monsieur,
I Want to thank you particularly for your encouragement and your support !
Hoping to welcome you again soon in le Domaine d'Auriac.
Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet
Maîtresse de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
749 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
292 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
1.9 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine d'Auriac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine d'Auriac

Property: Le Domaine d'Auriac
Address: 2535 route de Saint Hilaire, 11009 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Domaine d'Auriac 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tranquil Domaine d'Auriac Relais et Châteaux, welcomes its guests to calm and comfortable surroundings.It is set a mature 3000 years old park, an idyllic haven of greenery on the Mediterranean doorstep encircled by the black mountains and the stunning southern region of the Corbières.The are two smooth-watering restaurants "Bernard Rigaudis" and "Le Bistrot d'Auriac" available for food lovers.An 178 holes golf course, swimming pool and tennis court will all go towards making your stay both an enchanted and relaxed one.It is a stunning location at the foot of the "Cite de Carcassonne" with the "Canal du Midi" nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Domaine d'Auriac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing