We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed 3 nights here and booked the package through a travel website in US that include breakfast and a king-size bed. The package was a good price. We chose this hotel partly because of its 1-star restaurant.

Positives:

The front desk staffs and Madam du mason were extremely friendly--1) we were not allowed to handle our own luggages, even though the lady (staff) was obviously struggling with two heavy suitcases, and we could easily help her a bit. 2) What?--our young child is to share our king-size bed? " That is too uncomfortable--we would not allow that--the comfort of our guests is our responsibility!", said Madam of the house, "We will put an extra bed in for her easily--the room has enough space." How can we refuse such hospitality? The room was beautiful, the bathroom was large and modern.

Negatives:

Luxury is all about details. While the appearance of the room is beautiful, you do not want to admire too closely. The curtains that drape the nice french windows are made of very cheap material and are thin (even for decorating purposes). The faux period chairs were cheaply made: you know it if you sit on it. The bed mattress was very hard, and bedding was of low quality cotton. The bathroom tub was huge, but the shower head had very small water flow to the point of being uncomfortable.

They kept pressing us to dine in their restaurant, which we did once. But once was enough, and we wanted to try out the Michelin 2-star restaurant nearby. When we asked the Madam to help make the appointment, her face immediately turned ice-cold, and jaws dropped. Although she immediately made the phone call, the smile disappeared completely, showing her displeasure clearly (not that I care).

The management is too desperate for money. Upon checking out, we realized that the extremely hospitality upon checking in, the extra bed that they had to put in for our comfort, had a hefty hidden price-tag--the extra bed was 75 euro a day, and that was never mentioned (and perhaps purposedly so). The glass of wine I had at dinner was charge 18 euros (local wine!). I was surprised, but with all that excessive friendliness and "hospitality", how can you protest?!

It is not that the extra charge added a huge financial burden to me. Anyone who chose to stay in such type of places probably does not concern too much about money. But that is beyond the point. This types of hidden charges and very sneaky practices are an insult not only to the guests but also to the ancestry of the chateau. I understand that taking care of and honoring this type of family heirloom with a history of 3-4 generations comes with a price, and the later generations have to make a living. But there is an honor code in behavior that goes together with the history and honor of the family with such a history. Such a dishonest behavior only shows a desperate need for money and put a shame on the family name. Maybe the Madam thinks it OK to exploit "stupid" Americans. But really, don't be so desperate. And don't fake so much. There is no need.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank travel-world-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

on our way from Barcelone to Paris we stayed one night in this hotel which is a beautiful property with lots of charm.
The management of the hotel seems to know they job very well.they surely know how to treat their guests.
the garden and terasse are fantastic and the food is very good and inventive.
the only problem we had was the toilet which was too small and too old!
and, of course, the location being a few kilometers from the carcassone castle is very convenient.

Room Tip: classic rooms are better than modern ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHRC11, Propriétaire at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Madame, Monsieur,
I Want to thank you particularly for your encouragement and your support.
Hoping to welcome you again soon in le Domaine d'Auriac.
Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet
Maîtresse de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed for one night in order to spend a whole day at Carcassonne, but could easily have enjoyed the day dipping in the pool, wandering around the grounds and letting the attentive staff serve drinks and beautiful amuse bouche..
The room was more of a suite, and felt like we were guests in a vast rambling country house, which it is having been a family home, the ground floor is a maze of beautiful rooms which at this time of year you can occupy one of the vast sitting rooms and imagine you live there.
Staff were very helpful and friendly and genuinely interested in where we had visited and plans for the rest of the holiday.
We decided to try the Domaine D Auriac menu with wine selected by the somelier, which was both outrageously decadent and amazing, incredible food, outstanding wines a memorable feast but expensive, worth every euro if you are celebrating a special occasion, but you can equally be less gready with three courses or selected dishes from the a la carte, or visit the brasserie within the grounds.
We felt like we had entered a film set from Agatha Christy in a good way, quirky and lovable with interesting clientele, from couples to glamorous dowagers, make this a place to enjoy and relax

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djdobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHRC11, Propriétaire at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Madame, Monsieur,
I Want to thank you particularly for your encouragement and your support.
Hoping to welcome you again soon in le Domaine d'Auriac.
Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet
Maîtresse de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Right outside of the town of Carcassone, Le Domaine d"Auriac gets you away from the noise and the bustle yets keeps you close enough to see the sights. We only stayed one night so booked one of their least expensive and small rooms, but it was lovely, with an excellent bathroom, comfortable bed and perfect view of the garden. The food was superb. We went with half board and were glad we did. Both the breakfast and dinner were delish, and the service was exemplary. This restaurant has very high standards. Finally, the welcome was wonderful and as everyone has said the owner is a perfect host, making you feel completely at home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mimiPrinceton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHRC11, Propriétaire at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Madame, Monsieur,
I Want to thank you particularly for your encouragement and your support.
Hoping to welcome you again soon in le Domaine d'Auriac.
Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet
Maîtresse de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in July 2012. Superior room at €390/night. Room was spacious, quiet, overlooking the garden with its own sitting room, not separate from the bedroom though, see the photos. Bed very comfortable. 2 Flat screen TVs. Alarm/radio with iPod connector. Free and fairly fast wifi in the room. No wifi in the pool area. Breakfast at €23/person extra was very good and, for once, worth it.
The gardens are beautiful and well maintained. Pool area is very good too. The tennis is hard court, a few surface cracks but very playable. Can't comment on the golf.
The gastronomic restaurant is extremely good. Not to be missed.
Staff are attentive, polite, helpful and Mme Rigaud will pamper you.
It really doesn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amenophis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHRC11, Propriétaire at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Madame, Monsieur,
I Want to thank you particularly for your encouragement and your support.
Hoping to welcome you again soon in le Domaine d'Auriac.
Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet
Maîtresse de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Our room was lovely. The restaurant was delicious and the service was superb. Best of all was the maitresse de maison, Marie.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Arlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHRC11, Propriétaire at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Madame, Monsieur,
I Want to thank you particularly for your encouragement and your support.
Hoping to welcome you again soon in le Domaine d'Auriac.
Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet
Maîtresse de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

To start, the owner goes out of her way to make you feel welcome when you arrive. Hotel is lovely and well equipped for an older property. The restaurant is excellent. Suggest you let Mr. Franck Sakhinis one of the best wine sommelier's in France select one of the local wines, you won't be disappointed. Overall a great place to stay, although somewhat hard to find--even with GPS.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Healdsburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHRC11, Owner at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Madame, Monsieur,
I Want to thank you particularly for your encouragement and your support.
Hoping to welcome you again soon in le Domaine d'Auriac.
Yours sincerely,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet
Maîtresse de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
798 reviews
2 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne
327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
1.9 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine d'Auriac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine d'Auriac

Address: 2535 route de Saint Hilaire, 11009 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range: £178 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Domaine d'Auriac 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tranquil Domaine d'Auriac Relais et Châteaux, welcomes its guests to calm and comfortable surroundings.It is set a mature 3000 years old park, an idyllic haven of greenery on the Mediterranean doorstep encircled by the black mountains and the stunning southern region of the Corbières.The are two smooth-watering restaurants "Bernard Rigaudis" and "Le Bistrot d'Auriac" available for food lovers.An 178 holes golf course, swimming pool and tennis court will all go towards making your stay both an enchanted and relaxed one.It is a stunning location at the foot of the "Cite de Carcassonne" with the "Canal du Midi" nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Domaine d'Auriac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing