We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We found this to be a beautiful hotel with faultless service. The staff are all particularly pleasant and helpful. Our room was large and prettily furnished. We ate in the bistro and thought the food was well presented, delicious and good value. We asked about the walk along the river to Carcassonne and were amazed to be taken by the receptionist in a buggy to the start of the walk and given careful directions. The hotel grounds are lovely with a swimming pool and lots of shady places to sit. We would be happy to return as we had such an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We had a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walker329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHRC11, Propriétaire at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Madame, Monsieur,
I want to thank you very much to take time to write your opinion about the Domaine on T.A.
Hoping to welcome you again very soon,
Sincerely yours,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

We recently visited this property and had one of the best time ever! Staff is absolutely fantastic, very attentive, helpful and friendly, they cannot do enough for you! Room is very comfortable and clean, food is fantastic..... Would recommend to anyone visiting Carcassonne.

Special thanks to both Marie Helene who made our stay very special....hope to visit your home again sometime soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHRC11, Propriétaire at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Madame, Monsieur,
I want to thank you very much to take time to write your opinion about the Domaine on T.A.
Hoping to welcome you again very soon,
Sincerely yours,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed at the Domaine d'Auriac between Christmas & New Year's and had a very enjoyable stay. Once you have found it, the place is well situated in the outskirts of Carcassonne and the reception was very helpful providing some information about the city although not really beyond that. Our room was very nice, clean and calm.
We had dinner in their fantastic restaurant. The food was delicious however the staff could have been a little nicer. It was obvious that the sommelier did not approve our choice of wine :-)
The rest of the staff of the hotel was very nice and really gave us the feeling of being well taken care of.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Flying_Marcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHRC11, Propriétaire at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Madame, Monsieur,
I want to thank you very much to take time to write your opinion about the Domaine on T.A.
Hoping to welcome you again very soon,
Sincerely yours,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

It started out well. Nice big room. Warm and cosy. This is November and the regien here can be very cold. And was. Dinner in the restaurant was ok. But as usual in a french restaurant this caliber, they are a little over proud and satisfied about themselves. Especially the deserts was of very high quality. In the morning my wife and I had the breakfast, and about an hour after, we both started having trouble with the stomach. No doubt we had both eaten something bad, and we suspected the eggs in the morning. After a long drive, we decided to go back and lie down. We told the reception about our problems, and here started the long speech about it never happened here before! Maybe you drowe to fast on the winding roads! Maybe you ate something else etc. This can happen in any restaurant. Even the best. But the way they treated this incident was not at all in order. Not one apologie was given. Only denials and the impression at must be our own fault. When something really goes bad - anywhere - that is where the real you can be seen.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tartiflette0450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed in early September during a 3 week trip through the South of France. We chose Domaine D'Auriac based on TripAdviser reviews and the fact we wanted to stay outside the walls of Carcassonne. We were not disappointed. In fact, the staff went way beyond the call of duty to assist us after we left. One of our party left his wallet with passport, driver's license and cash in his room safe. We only learned of this when we arrived at our hotel near Avignon. The receptionist told us that the D'Auriac had contacted her to say they had our belongings. What is amazing about this is the D'Auriac staff didn't know where we were staying...only that we were heading to Avignon. It turns out that they phoned more than 40 hotels to locate us!

The hotel, itself, was beautiful and comfortable with large rooms and modern bathrooms. We had an outstanding dinner with wine pairings in the restaurant. It was a great experience and we decided that if we had a choice of our last meal, that would have been it! The hotel is family owned and clearly the owners and staff share a passion for excellent service and the comfort of their guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steve_Deb430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHRC11, Propriétaire at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Madame, Monsieur,
I want to thank you very much to take time to write your opinion about the Domaine on T.A.
Hoping to welcome you again very soon,
Sincerely yours,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This hotel was amazing- and one of the nicest places I've stayed in, it truly was an actual 5+ star experience..from the service, the food, the decor, the grounds- it was the perfect place to stay in Carcassonne (we stayed at another hotel near the castle about 2 weeks before and while that was fine, it could not compared to le Domaine d'Auriac). Every detail is paid attention to and executed in such a pleasant way- we were impressed. Honestly I would go back to Carcassone just to stay here. We loved it.

We spent an afternoon playing tennis which was so relaxing (they provided racquets), the pool area was very nice. The rooms were beautifully decorated, spacious and the bed was even more comfortable than ours at home. It is located about 5 minutes from the back of the castle- and some beautiful views (especially at sunset) when approaching the castle. The restaurant was amazing too. I wonder if it's a Michelin restaurant? Surely, it must be! Anyway- it totally made our trip and we had a wonderful experience there. I will recommend it to everyone we know.

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue and white room. It was very large, extremely comfortable bed, great bathroom-a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank justaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHRC11, Propriétaire at Le Domaine d'Auriac, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Madame, Monsieur,
I want to thank you very much to take time to write your opinion about the Domaine on T.A.
Hoping to welcome you again very soon,
Sincerely yours,
Marie-Hélène Rigaudis-Calvet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The Hotel is a little out of town (you need a car) and next to a busy road so you can hear traffic in the grounds which are lovely and worth wondering around. The room was very quiet, plush, comfortable and clean. Really pretty marble bathroom. The restaurant is expensive but worth it. We had the gourmet menu and accompanying 5 wines. Expensive at 160 euros per head but given the very high quality of the food and wine I was very happy and felt it was value for money.

One slight downside. We sat next to the fireplace in the restaurant and there was an enormous cobweb next to my table. My French wasn't up to pointing it out so ignored it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wonderinggourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
798 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
2.0 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine d'Auriac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine d'Auriac

Address: 2535 route de Saint Hilaire, 11009 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range: £176 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Domaine d'Auriac 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tranquil Domaine d'Auriac Relais et Châteaux, welcomes its guests to calm and comfortable surroundings.It is set a mature 3000 years old park, an idyllic haven of greenery on the Mediterranean doorstep encircled by the black mountains and the stunning southern region of the Corbières.The are two smooth-watering restaurants "Bernard Rigaudis" and "Le Bistrot d'Auriac" available for food lovers.An 178 holes golf course, swimming pool and tennis court will all go towards making your stay both an enchanted and relaxed one.It is a stunning location at the foot of the "Cite de Carcassonne" with the "Canal du Midi" nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Domaine d'Auriac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing