We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little touch of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little touch of luxury”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I spent 3 blissful nights in this gem of a hotel. Service impeccable throughout from check-in to check-out: nothing was too much trouble. Staff were friendly, helpful and seemed generally concerned that we enjoyed our stay - I was even offered a wrap by the owner who was concerned that I might be chilly whilst dining on the patio.
The room was large, well decorated, air-conditioned and shuttered and provided with every comfort you could want - huge comfortable bed, coffee machine, fridge, comfortable seating area, flat screen TV, i-pod dock, enormous bathroom with twin sinks, corner bath and shower, big mist-free mirrors and fluffy towels, gowns and slippers . . . even a couple of umbrellas in case it rained (it didn't).
The grounds are delightful - pool, tennis courts, numerous little seating areas as well as a large terrace - an oasis of calm.
The food in the restaurant was probably the best I've ever had - delicious, beautifully presented local ingredients accompanied by local wines - heaven. The service was impeccable and the knowledgeable sommelier chose a delightful wine to accompany each course. If it's warm enough eat on the secluded terrace where the only sound is that of the cicadas and the breeze in the trees. We dined there twice and on the third night tried the bistro which was excellent too, as were the generous, scrumptious breakfasts.
I really can't praise this hotel enough as they really have thought of everything. It totally exceeded my expectations and it's so close to Carcassonne. Couldn't ask for more!

Room Tip: We had one of the cheapest rooms, the Yellow Room, and it was fantastic so I don't think you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    70
    26
    12
    3
See reviews for
47
212
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just returned from a lovely relaxing long weekend. Staff cannot do enough for you, comfort of room and standard of food both in the a la carte restaurant and the very reasonably priced Bistro were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wubbleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I recently spent a night at this Relais and Chateaux hotel. Check in went smoothly, and Mary Helen was very helpful with maps and information about Carcassone. After visiting the old city, my husband and I enjoyed an afternoon lounging by the pool and walking on the grounds. We enjoyed our three course dinner with accompanying wines, and we left the dinner tired and ready for a good night sleep. Late in the evening, our air conditioner developed a continuous whine. Although we tried to adjust it, the noise would not stop, and we could not sleep. At 3 am, my husband went to the front desk to complain, but no one was at the desk. We finally turned off the airconditioner, and although the room was warmer than we prefer, we finally managed to get a couple hours of sleep. When we checked out, my husband told the desk clerk about the problem we experienced, but he did not appear overly concerned or interested.

This is a beautiful hotel with excellent service, but a night with little sleep does not leave a positive memory. You should not have problems like this at a Relais and Chateaux hotel. Hopefully, the airconditioner has been fixed, and the next person can write a more positive review.

Room Tip: We had a standard room - it seemed quite small. I would recommend an upgrade to a larger room if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhe738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We saw 4 night stay in this Hotel in Carcassonne on Travelzoo, booked thro Fleetway Travel. Deal was bed, breakfast and 1 Michelin star evening meal. Not been to this area of France before and not stayed in French country house before so was all new for us. We had to upgrade room as all standard rooms had gone, we hired a car, Hotel is located just off busy road but in its own grounds so road not an issue. On arrival in car park, we were met by member of staff in golf buggy very helpful taking our cases short distance to Reception, our room was the blue room,on 1st floor, was huge, had sofa, 2 chairs, tv, large wardrobes, large comfy bed,big bathroom,coffee machine, huge windows with outside shutters (to shade from morning sun and any road noise). Hotel has outdoor pool area, annex rooms, a Bistro and Golf course. Breakfast brought to your table includes basket of bread and pastries,small pot v tasty scrambled egg, large coffee pot, fresh orange juice,ham and cheese , pot home made chutney, mixture of fresh fruit and pot yoghurt, jams etc. all so lovely. No rush just enjoyed in lovely decorated room overlooking garden patio area. Our Michelin meal was just superb, glass of recommended wine with each course was included, 4 courses, we seemed to have been given free carafe water and free additional tray mini desserts at end ...real luxury meal for us! Staff so friendly. Had one meal in the Bistro, just few minutes walk from hotel, cooked our meat on the open fire very nice food. Carcassone is lovely place for short stay. Need car to get to the old walled town which has lovely shops and cafes. Carcassone main town also very interesting. Enjoyed our short stay , lovely hotel , lovely room, lovely food .. very quiet ..we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent 4 very enjoyable nights at the Chateau in early September. The service from the reception staff was excellent and our beautiful room was kept very clean. We had a very good meal in the bistro with attentive and friendly service and another in the restaurant where the excellent food was not quite matched by the service. This is certainly a venue I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We booked this hotel as we wanted to visit Carcassonne and were more than happy with the choice. Comfortable large room, wonderful meal in the gourmet restaurant, (don't miss the soufflé) friendly staff and beautiful gardens.
Marie and her team were extremely professional and made everyone feel relaxed. Truly the mark of a team working in perfect unison and obviously happy in their work.
The house is gorgeous and you can see the attention to detail where ever you look.
Thank you for a happy break Marie and we will return to explore the area further.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garrettsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kifisia, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

It was an experience for us. After a long trip by car we relax in this place. We dive in the swimming pool and we have a long drink by the pool. The room was large, overlooking the garden, the service excellent and the staff very friendly. The hotel has a gourmet restaurant. You have to try "cassoulet", a traditional plate. Carcassonne is 10 minutes by car. The hotel is just before the hospital. Be cautious not to pass, because there are not obvious signs indicating the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
297 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
769 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine d'Auriac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine d'Auriac

Property: Le Domaine d'Auriac
Address: 2535 route de Saint Hilaire, 11009 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Domaine d'Auriac 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tranquil Domaine d'Auriac Relais et Châteaux, welcomes its guests to calm and comfortable surroundings.It is set a mature 3000 years old park, an idyllic haven of greenery on the Mediterranean doorstep encircled by the black mountains and the stunning southern region of the Corbières.The are two smooth-watering restaurants "Bernard Rigaudis" and "Le Bistrot d'Auriac" available for food lovers.An 178 holes golf course, swimming pool and tennis court will all go towards making your stay both an enchanted and relaxed one.It is a stunning location at the foot of the "Cite de Carcassonne" with the "Canal du Midi" nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Le Domaine d'Auriac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing