We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE BEST HOTEL NEAR CARCASSONE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Domaine d'Auriac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“THE BEST HOTEL NEAR CARCASSONE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at the Domaine d'Auriac the week of July 21st 2014 for 2 elegant nights.

We have stayed at many Chateau and Relais Gourmand properties over the years.

We have never been treated so graciously and personally anywhere in the world. Marie-Helene and her family and staff were the best hosts we have ever had. Our suite was elegant.

The restaurant, which has 1 Michelin Star is simply outstanding from service to the top quality of the food and its presentation. The second night we were there one of their local suppliers had bought in wild mushrooms which are normally not available at this time of year. However there had been a lot of rain earlier producing a fine crop of wild mushrooms that were sautéed and served as a special first course. This was an outstanding rare treat.

The restaurant is famous for their cassoulet and Soufflé au Grand Marnier. Both the cassoulet and the soufflé were the best I ever had. These specialties should not be missed. The wine list is also outstanding.

There is nothing at this property that is not the best. The grounds and gardens are also beautiful and very well maintained.

There is nothing in the old fortress city of Carcassonne or the modern city below to compare to the D'Auric.

Room Tip: Splurge and book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frenchy009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    64
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
46
187
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Domaine d'Auriac is an excellent family-owned hotel in just outside of Carcassonne, but just 1km from the Cite, the most important monument. Spectacular grounds, very intimate service, great, 1 Michelin star restaurant, and wonderful, knowledgeable staff. Only consideration is the rooms are perhaps a bit basic for what one could expect, but the rest makes more than up for it. Every € well spent!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caspar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have been travelling throughout Portugal, Spain and France the last two and 1/2 weeks and thought all of our hotels up to this point were beautiful however....this hotel was superior in service, surroundings. The Rigaudis family obviously take great pride in this beautiful family hotel. Thank you for our memorable stay. We were sad to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and quiet. I am sure. We had two and loved them both. Beautiful decoration...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecttm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We spent one night at this beautiful country house hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't have done more to make us (and our dog) feel welcome. The room was spacious and comfortable and the grounds are lovely. We didn't use the pool but it looked very nice. We at the Bistro by the golf course and enjoyed the meal. Breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine was gorgeous. Nothing was too much trouble and we wished we had booked a 2 night stay. Only 10 minutes from the Cite but you feel like you're in the middle of the peaceful countryside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This was our fourth visit to Le Domaine d'Auriac. The setting is wonderful (also has golf and tennis). Every detail is very carefully handled. Almost all of the staff speak some English. The gastronomic restaurant -- fine food, wines and service. We can't wait to return. (It is very reasonably priced for its quality!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at several Relais and Chateaux properties, this one being my least favorite. Rooms and bathrooms need some updating. Bathroom handle was broken off several times. Lack of outlets. Rooms just weren't that nice and certainly below what I'd expect from a five star hotel. Front desk was peculiarly acceptable of where our towels were one afternoon and had to be convinced that they had not been replaced that day. Breakfast was excellent. Didn't have dinner in their restaurant. Pool area was just OK. All in all, I was a bit disappointed and would probably not return.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank spinesrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed overnight on our way to Spain, so did not use the spa or other facilities, but enjoyed our stroll around the gardens. A very warm welcome and we were upgraded to a pleasant room overlooking the garden. The dinner menu was truly "Michelin star" - from the amuse bouche to the souffle for dessert.The Sommelier suggested an excellent local red wine and service was professional. The bill was eye watering, but we would do it again!

Room Tip: Garden and pool view was pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
2.0 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine d'Auriac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine d'Auriac

Property: Le Domaine d'Auriac
Address: 2535 route de Saint Hilaire, 11009 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Domaine d'Auriac 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tranquil Domaine d'Auriac Relais et Châteaux, welcomes its guests to calm and comfortable surroundings.It is set a mature 3000 years old park, an idyllic haven of greenery on the Mediterranean doorstep encircled by the black mountains and the stunning southern region of the Corbières.The are two smooth-watering restaurants "Bernard Rigaudis" and "Le Bistrot d'Auriac" available for food lovers.An 178 holes golf course, swimming pool and tennis court will all go towards making your stay both an enchanted and relaxed one.It is a stunning location at the foot of the "Cite de Carcassonne" with the "Canal du Midi" nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Domaine d'Auriac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing