We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Palmiers De La Cite
Ranked #15 of 53 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Madame Carole is very welcoming, allowed us to leave our luggage in the room, even though it was not ready as we arrived early, she showed us where the main places where by marking them on maps of the old and new Carcassonne. Carole recommended couple of restaurants
and kindly booked one for us ( see review Auberge des Lices ). Location is really this B&Bs greatest asset in the middle of the new and the old, rooms are clean, good bathroom comfy bed, sun loungers, pool its got the lot. don't expect a big breakfast its continental all the way. The little road leading the Les Palmiers is very dark at night no street lights and on occasions was booby trapped with dog mess so a small torch may be useful.
Had a really nice 3 night stay, would and probably will go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trent1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Madame Carole is wonderful providing a lovely place to stay, beautiful garden for relaxing and all the things you need to make your stay great. It is just at the bottom of the hill so Carcassonne town and castle complex are a short climb away. Carole booked some great restaurants for us and gave us all the information we needed to have an interesting stay. Luxury rooms and a great breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our hostess, Carole, very kindly picked us up from the airport. She was very welcoming and helpful, she gave us maps and spent quite some time with us explaining where to go and what to do, showing us good restaurants etc. The house is really attractive and very convenient for both the walled city and the main town. The pool was great for cooling off as it was very hot! We were in the Cathare room which has its own private patio; both the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and very stylish. The breakfast was good and again Carole went to a lot of trouble making sure everyone had want they wanted - not an easy task when your clients are from many countries and all want different things for their breakfast! Carole also kindly let us leave our luggage there for the day before we left in the evening. Look no further, you couldn't find a nicer place to stay in Carcassonne.

Room Tip: The Cathare room is only €10 a night more for a private patio where you can have your breakfast if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islander73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We spent three nights at the Les Palmiers de la Cite at the end of June and had a lovely time. Carol and her family became a special part of our holiday with their friendliness.

As many other reviews have said, the rooms are very clean, breakfast is great and the location ideal for exploring both parts of the city. We had a great time and hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anji_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Carole and her husband looked after us like we were one of their own when we stayed there last week for a couple of days. Their lovely B&B is situated right next to the old city but still manages to feel like it is situated in the middle of the country. Walking back to the B&B by night you see the floodlit magical castle above you, fantastic! There is a fabulous running track along the river which I loved although on the second morning I managed to trip over a root of a tree and badly grazed my leg and arm. Carole very kindly looked after my injuries and even called one of her friends who is a nurse to come and bandage my leg.
The B&B has a pool and a garden to relax in after some sightseeing around the historic city. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast in the garden was a real treat. Carole was always at hand to advise us on where to eat in the evening. I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough, Carole and her husband are perfect hosts and I wish them every success in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niamh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was great B&B in a great location. It is set in open spacious fields, alongside a small river, and you wouldn't believe the walk to the 'downtown' old medievil city is just a 5 minute stroll through the park and across the original stone bridge (pedestrian only). A lovely walk with our dog. You would believe that its only a 2 minute walk to the castle /citie itself since the B&B sits just below the imposing citie walls themselves.

So a great location in the heart of Carcassonne, and I agree with all the reviews that say how welcoming the hosts are. Carol went out of her way to help us track down a vet which we needed as part of the pet passport scheme, and she made the phone calls to get us booked in for an appointment.

The the restaurant recommendation was spot on. We were a bit cynical of taking up such recommendations, but having scoured most of the 52 (!) restaurants in the Citie, we felt the L'Adelaid was as good as any and it allowed our dog too. And it was truly a great meal with great service at a reasonable price.

The B&B was modern and finished to a very high spec. I thought it a bit pricey but then everything in Carcassonne is expensive. So might have given 4 1/2 if I could because of cost but wife says I'm being churlish.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Cannot speak highly enough of our stay at Les Palmiers De La Cite. Absolutely brilliant location below the Old City. Great rooms - good size with really modern bathrooms. Breakfasts were great too, as were the restaurant recommendations.

What really set this place apart from other excellent lodgings were the hosts, Carole and her husband. So welcoming and could not do enough to make the stay as comfortable as possible. They even allowed us to watch the FA Cup Final in their lounge!! Thank you for a great stay and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast
Carcassonne Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 53 in Carcassonne
494 reviews
1.4 mi away
Les Balcons de Maragon
Les Balcons de Maragon
#7 of 53 in Carcassonne
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Aux Anges Gardiens
Aux Anges Gardiens
#4 of 53 in Carcassonne
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Palmiers De La Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Palmiers De La Cite

Address: Quartier de l Ile 240 Camin Dels Orts, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range: £77 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the medieval city and near the city centre, 4 contemporary and refined guest rooms, in a charming and quiet area, with a large garden and a big swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Les Palmiers De La Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing