We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but nice”
Review of Hotel Espace Cite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Espace Cite
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne Center
Reviewed 22 March 2008

I stayed here with a friend, for two nights. we had room 227. non smoking room. it was smallish, the beds OK, The view was not the best out of the window. The TV was small without any English channels.. not even CNN. no sky TV etc.

If you want a hotel close to Carcassonne castle.. well its very close to it.. about 300 yards up the hill.

There is not a Bar in the hotel, but they do sell bottled beer. It is a 10 minute stroll into the centre of Carcassonne, and about 25 minutes walk to the railway station. a taxi to the airport from the hotel cost 16 euro.

The shower in the room was a bit strange... a drain in the middle of the floor with just a glass divider to stop the water from splashing everywhere.. but it worked OK...

I would use the hotel again if i was ever in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank amsterdam6680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2007

Marvellous location, only about 200 metres from the entrance to the old city. Hotel was clean and bed was comfortable, however, the room was very small and the bathroom was minimalistic. No toilet roll holder, shower had a glass door that just stood open and there was a tilt on the floor so the water went into the drain. An odd arrangement.

Breakfast was certainly adequate, bread, croissants, cheese, ham, preserves, yoghurt.

It had free parking and also a secure garage.

All in all, couldn't have stayed anywhere better or closer to the city.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jeanlyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2007

I've booked by internet a two day stay on this hotel. Unfortunately, I had to change the dates and contacted directly the hotel. The person who answered my solicitation was extremely rude, saying that if I booked by a website (booking.com) I should change the reservation by the website. Ok, I changed by booking.com and received no confirmation within 3 days from the hotel. I cancelled my reservation and still have not received a single word from Inter-Espace la Cite. I would not recommend booking this hotel, specially by internet.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank El-Huaick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

The main selling point of this hotel is its proximity to the citadel. The rooms are tiny - it feels a bit like an airport Ibis or a motor lodge, but are clean and practical for a short stay.
The sound isolation between the rooms is OK but not between the rooms and the corridors so expect to get woken up by late arrivals or early departures.
The breakfast is just about worth the 7.5 euros. The breakfast room has a great view up towards the battlements but feels more like a works canteen.
There is a limited amount of free parking on the hotel forecourt and also an underground secure garage which they charge for.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cmf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2007

A very pleasant surprise! Good place to stay for a short break (we stayed for two nights, during the appalling weather in the South of France!!) ; clean, well serviced rooms; helpful, friendly staff; good buffet breakfast; excellent location. Rooms are small, with limited storage, but more than adequate and ideal for a stop over. (We have stayed in places that were far inferior, with more star ratings and more expensive.) Definitely recommend it.

Seasoned travellers, from England.

Stayed: April 2007
4  Thank gribgoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2006

A very clean hotel just a 3 mins walk from the old walled citie of carcassonne,the hotel inside is similar to a ibis .ie. clean and simple,the bedrooms are small and have a tv the ensuite shower room is very small there is no shower tray but a hole in the floor and a glass door infact this showeroom is smaller than ive seen on visits to greece! but if u want to be in a great location at a good price this hotel is good for you,the hotel staff were all frendley and helpfull and some spoke some english,there is a breakfast room were breakfast is served ,this room has good views of the cite walls.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank johnbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dorset, UK
155
Reviewed 10 February 2003

We stayed at the Espace Cite in February 2003 - the really cold week when there was snow all over France! We booked through the net for 2 nights, then went back there again for one night before we flew home. It was spotlessly clean, tidy and well organised - with friendly staff. The price was 48 euros for a double room, and breakfast was extra. If you go ask for a room with a view of the old city, and you'll see it from your room. Then it's either a 2 minute walk up to the gates of the old city, or a ten minute (downhill) walk through lovely old lamplit streets into the new town - both with a fabulous view of the Cite. Breakfast is excellent - in a light pleasant dining room with a terrace that I expect is open in summer, again overlooking the Cite walls. There's carparking, TV, heating (air con in summer) - what more can you ask for? The only drawback would be the occasional college groups who can be noisy.

55  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hote...
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La C...
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,036 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
441 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#26 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espace Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espace Cite

Address: 132 rue Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: £44 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Espace Cite 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Espace Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Espace Cite Hotel Carcassonne
Inter Hotel Espace Cite
Inter Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing