We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms but full of charm”
Review of Hotel Espace Cite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Espace Cite
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night during the Carcasonne festival.
Check in and check out was smooth, staff speak good English and are polite
Rooms are small but modern and in good condition
Free wi-fi aswell
Didn't try the breakfast so can't comment

Set 2mins from the medieval city and 20 mins from the 'new' city with both worth visiting as full of charm

Overall we would stay here again :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbower85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a week cycling in the area. An excellent location being about 300m from the way in to the Cite (fortress) and about 20 mins from the 'new town' (the old town and downtown area). Reception doubles ups a seller of beer and there is a small terrace outside to enjoy. WiFi available throughout with excellent speeeds. The rooms, however, are the smallest I have encountered. With 2 of us sharing there was barely enough room to put bags and then we had to sptep over them all the time. The wall between the room and the shower room is made of frosted glass.. fine during the day but at night putting the light on in the bathroom fllodlights the bedroom and also leave nothing to the imagination in thh bathroom!! I have only graded the rooms as poor due to their size and the glass wall.. the fittings and quality was fine...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is a very good value hotel , very well located for both the Cite and the town.
The rooms are a little small , but were fine for our short stay.
The staff are friendly and very helpful.
Good value breakfast.
I would recommend the hotel and Carcassonne for a short stay

Room Tip: Maybe worth booking one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We visited Carcassone in January and stayed at the Espace Cite as it was so close to the old city. The hotel is small, clean and functional. The room had everything we needed, although small (and the glass wall to the ensuite might have caused some embarrassment if you were travelling with a friend rather than a partner!). I would advise visiting in spring or summer as in winter everywhere seems to close early which meant a lot of time was spent in the room. The only English programme on the TV was the BBC news channel which becomes very monotonous. There is free wifi so take a laptop or tablet to get something else to while away the time if the weather is bad - there is no bar or restaurant in the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful and the walled city is beautiful and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1953pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

My friend and I had a room each for one night whilst on a bike tour in early November. The hotel looks fairly new and the rooms are quite comfortable and clean, although very small. As pointed out by other reviewers the modern smartly designed, but very small, shower room could pose problems for some, particularly if you are not well acquainted and this makes the bedrooms ideal for one person - albeit a bit expensive! I also noticed that the reception staff were an odd bunch. We arrived late afternoon and the guy was very pleasant and helpful. We parked our bikes in the car garage basement, which is quite secure. Breakfast was pretty good and quite friendly. However, when we came to leave the older, miserable morning guy on reception was very unfriendly and not a good example for the hotel or for French people. Again we felt that he had little interest in us and that we interrupted whatever else he fancied doing that morning. He watched us leave with our cycle bags and walk down the ramp to the garage entrance. Even though this has the benefit of a camera, with a monitor on his desk he didn't lift up the door for us. I went back and asked for it to be opened and he just nodded at me and pressed the switch. Before we were ready the door closed and the lights went out leaving us trapped in the basement. It didn't take us long to break out though the side fire door, which we were unable to relock. This unnecessary, awkward and very rude behaviour is the lasting memory that we have about the hotel and Carcasonne. I would not bother to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laid-Back-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

One of a national chain of hotels in France, this hotel is located about five minutes walk from the main gates of the old city, a World Heritage Site. It is a new hotel with modern styling and is well maintained. Free off-street parking is available or guests may park in a garage at extra cost.
Our room was clean, comfortable and of modern design with twin beds and en-suite shower room and lavatory. The room was fairly small but contained all that is needed of a hotel room without being cramped.
The reception area and public rooms are clean, bright and airy. A decent breakfast is available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the old city. The view from our room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_Sam45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Recently spent three nights in this hotel .Friendly and rapid check in .Given a choice of room ,five euro extra per night for a Cite view ,worth it I thought .Had a look at both options before deciding ,thanks to the friendly gent on reception.
Hotel looks new ,very presentable rooms ,if a bit on the small side .,Bed was comfortable and room had a/c .Toilet and shower area are seperated from the room by a frosted glass partition .,could prove difficult ,depending on your relationship with your roomate ,could always buy a newspaper I suppose. Towels were changed daily and the cleaning was top class.Hanging space is quite small ,but as the hotel is a sort of mini break hotel so you probably wont have too much baggage, or spend too much time in your room.
Breakfast is available at 8.50 Euro p.p..Its continental fare ,cereals ,cold meat ,rolls and Crosssies ,with tea ,coffee and orange juice.You certainly wiil not get that for the same price in La Cite.
Internet access is available in the lobby as are safe deposit boxes and a neat little coffee machine which will give you a fairly decent espresso for 1 Euro .
All in all a very enjoyable stay at this hotel, Its ideally situated for visiting La Cite ,just a few hundred meters from the Narbonnaise gate .It provides great value for money and I would look forward to staying there again.
Reaching the hotel couldnt be easier .The Airport shuttle 5Euro p.p. single ,leaves from the arrival area and drops you 50 meters from the Espace .Tell your driver your hotel name as you board and he will call out the hotel as you approach .For the return journey the driver will give you a timetable which is designed around airport departure times .Great service from the local bus company ,and the drivers couldnt be more helpful.
The medieval city is fabulous .Go see.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Cite view are a little more expensive but worth it for the view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elvis38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
426 reviews
1.0 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
0.0 mi away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#18 of 39 in Carcassonne
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espace Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espace Cite

Address: 132 Rue Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range: £48 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Espace Cite 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Espace Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Espace Cite Hotel Carcassonne
Inter Hotel Espace Cite
Inter Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing