We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Soleil Terminus
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Our stay was for only one night and whilst our room was not perfect it was comfortable and clean and the building, especially the staircase was to be admired. Although the fabric of the hotel had lost some of its original splendour we have only praise for the staff, particularly the manager. The manager helped us overcome a number of problems we had when hard copy of the information posted from our travel company about a cycling trip we were about to do went awry. He went out of his way to colour print the maps, directions and vouchers emailed (to his personal computer) as a replacement and to answer (in English) any questions we had.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim255097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

We booked this hotel thinking it was a very short walk to the old city, but it is actually about a 25 minute walk. If you want to stay near the train station, then this is a location. The hotel is a bit rundown. It has a grand staircase, but that is about all. The room was clean but uncomfortable as the air did not work, the bed was creaky, and the pillows were hard. Staff was not helpful and breakfast was overpriced. We would not recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Schnull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Grand entrance hall, followed by a typically european standard room although we were lucky and had a top floor room which had views towards the medieval city.
Clean enough , showerroom ok, didnt eat there as we were warned off.
Close and easy to the train station(100 yards) ,next time would maybe stay in the medieval part of Carcassonne for the atmosphere.
Beware the coach parties of Japanese!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laviefrancais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Arrived at around lunchtime and told that could not check in until 5pm! However we could check in at any time after then. Luckily we only had hand baggage so took it with us to a local vineyard. Once checked in later that day we made our way up a pretty impressive double staircase to the room. Room was very clean however was a bit put off by the note saying that an inventory of the room equipment and towels had been taken before we checked in, which to me inferred that we wanted to steal the towels and maybe both the beds?

Very convenient for taxis as the rank is just outside the hotel short walk from the main square and a 30 min walk from the main “Cite de Carcassonne”

Would I stay again probably not...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cweller1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

I stayed at Hotel Soleil du terminus with a friend over last weekend. We had booked two single rooms in advance. I was wary due to the poor reviews on this site. However I have to say our rooms were lovely, plenty of hot water, and room heating. There were a couple of times when room card failed to open door. This was sorted quickly by staff at reception particularly Celine and the manager Roi. There is a language difficulty and I believe that this is the cause of misunderstanding. My friend is a fluent French speaker so issues were sorted very fast. Weather on trip was poor but we loved the Cite and went both days. Be careful re bus to airport. If standing at stop make sure to put out hand for bus to stop. Otherwise take a taxi. Just as cheap. All told great break!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephaniemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

A very old fashioned hotel with a really cute and unusual style. I felt like I was in a movie and wished I was wearing a flapper dress! Gorgeous. The rooms were simple and clean, quite big, but not the most impressive feature of the hotel. The foyer was so grand and lovely with a huge sweeping staircase and leather lounges to sit on. The bar was well stocked and with extremely friendly staff, and the buffet for both dinner and breakfast were out of this world! We were so pleasantly surprised by the quality and variety of the food. Not a long drive from the walled medieval city either, but far enough that there were some modern shops and well priced grocers close by which was very convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidNLiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

How convenient to the train, maybe 1000 feet. The building was interesting, obviously from an earlier style of architecture. Don't believe it's only "15 minutes" from the city walls, it's 30+, though pleasant. We had difficulty getting a good nights sleep, as the rooms faced the street & there was traffic all night. If you're traveling by train, it's a good choice. Not plush, just functional.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sn914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
1.8 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
1.0 mi away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#19 of 39 in Carcassonne
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
806 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kyriad Carcassonne Ouest - La Cite
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#14 of 39 in Carcassonne
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soleil Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soleil Terminus

Address: 2 avenue du Marechal Joffre, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: £78 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Soleil Terminus 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with restaurant & bar, set in early 20th century historical landmark; near Canal du Midi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Fastbooking, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Soleil Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Soleil Le Terminus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing