We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable eleganance, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Soleil Terminus
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We spent one night here in order to have a day exploring the medieval fortified city. The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The restoration of the stairway in the center of the lobby was stunning. There's a lift to the upper floors and the rooms are nicely turned out. We had a view across the town to look at the citadel on the hill, which was just luck on our part as we had used United Frequent Flyer miles to book the room. Can't say enough about the enormous breakfast buffet --- something for everyone and plenty of it.
Only caveat - it's a good walk to the historic city. We were looking forward to this after a lot of train travel, but if you're not walkers, book something closer or take a cab.

Room Tip: As for room 223 or one on that same side of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jconifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

This is a really nice hotel and provides a authentic French experience in the heart of Carcassonne. It is handy for the train station and only a short walk from the castle, shops and restaurants. The reception area is very grand and although the hotel is old fashioned, it is clean and comfortable. Staff do not speak English but try to help where they can. Breakfast was adequate and there is a small swimming pool and sauna. If you want a shiny, soulless chain hotel do not stay here, but if you are looking for something truly French then this is the place for you. Overall a very good stay!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank hcm160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I would stay away from this hotel until it is renovated. the splendor of the past is well gone and the rooms are shabby and the carpet dirty. the bathroom was clean but had a wired smell (cat?). the entrance hall looks great but again in need of renovation and the ikea sofa are an eyesore. on the positive side, the wifi was free and working well. we booked the room via booking.com and we were asked to pay for the room when we checked-in, not a nice welcome! overall, I would never go back and certainly not pay 94 euro (as we did) for a night stay

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wolf70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I read the reviews after I had booked this hotel so I was worried about what I was going to find on my arrival. When I arrived the entrance was so grand I thought its going to be ok. Yes the hotel could do with upgrading but it is still a pleasent hotel to stay in. The reviews said the staff were not helpful or friendly but that was not the case.The resturant next door is a must the food is fantastic and great value. I had a lovely break in this hotel and would recomend to many.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TracyD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I had read a number of very negative reviews on this hotel and while I would have to say that the hotel could do with an upgrade, we had a great time. Granted, it is an old hotel and one where a bit of investment could bring it back to its former glory. But that sense of its former glory is still there! We had a lovely room with a balcony on the 1st floor and noise was not a problem for us. I would imagine in July and August though when tourism is at its peak, it may be a different story. We found the staff very obliging and very pleasant. Breakfast was adequate but fine. The hotel is perfectly located beside the canal du midi where barge trips can be enjoyed. It is, however, about a 25 minute walk to the medieval cite, not a problem for us but if might be for others. Though there is a bus service to the cite! The hotel is across the road from the train station and the shuttle bus from the airport stops here, so ideal for those flying into Carsasconne. Lots of lovely restaurants in the old cite and a great brassiere right beside the hotel, where lots of locals eat ... always a good sign and the food here was excellent!

Room Tip: In peak toursim times, maybe ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carc_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I must admit that after reading some of the reviews on here, I was a bit scared of what we were going to find! As we came out of the airport, we spotted a shuttle bus which took us to the train station which is just across the road from the hotel and only cost 5 euros each - very handy! The entrance hall is very impressive and the man on reception couldn't have been more helpful. He spoke to us in English and without us asking, gave us a map showing us how to get to the old city. Our room was lovely - plenty of space, lovely clean bedding, extra blankets & pillows, clean bathroom with hairdryer and we could see the old city from the window (looks lovely at night when it's all lit up). There was a bit of a drain smell in the corridor, but couldn't smell it in our room.
We travelled in February and it was very quiet. There are lots of nice restaurants, but we struggled to find somewhere to go for a drink in the evening. We managed to find a place called 'Clubbing' which looks a bit dubious from the outside but was quite busy and had live music. Try the Irish bar 'The Celt' too - lovely food if you fancy a change from cassoulet!

Room Tip: We were in 221 - busy road outside, but didn't bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Don't waste your money staying here. We were here two nights in June 2011 and it was one of the worst hotel experiences I've had in over 20 years of traveling. The hotel might have been nice 50 years ago but no longer. The rooms are shabby and dirty, the carpet makes you want to never take your shoes off, the service is abysmal, the air conditioning does not work, and while the location is convenient to the train station, you have quite a hike to the old city of Carcasonne. You could not pay me to stay here again.

We were given the wrong room when we checked in. Mistakes happen, so that by itself was not such an issue. But when we got to our room, we found that one bed had no sheets. The other one had sheets but the pillowcase was used or dirty or both. We had to walk downstairs, get our sheets and towels and then make our own beds. Apparently housekeeping doesn't work in the afternoon. Our second day we had no towels. Once again, we had to walk downstairs and get towels. Apparently, this wasn't out of the ordinary because the desk clerk had a stack of towels right there!

The bathroom was old and dirty and we saw several insects during our stay. There was mold on the walls in our room.

The front desk staff were sullen and rude no matter who we spoke to or what we asked for. Even a request as simple as a map to the old city was too much. When we asked for a second key so that we could each come and go as we pleased, the staff informed us that they didn't have any more keys. The hotel uses plastic key cards, so the notion that they don't "have any more" seemed utterly ridiculous. But what was worse was that the one key we did have didn't work so we were constantly running back to the front desk to get the key "recharged."

I am not the type of ugly American who expects everyone to speak English, but I was amazed that a hotel by the train station in a town that has no industry other than tourism didn't have a single person on staff who spoke English. My suspicion is that some of the staff do speak English but use language as an excuse to not understand what your problem is. I have traveled to France for both work and pleasure and while the French can be a little aloof, I generally find them to be helpful and gracious. Not the staff at this hotel! Their attitude towards guests is what gives French hospitality a bad name.

Just don't stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gubbini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
1.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#20 of 39 in Carcassonne
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#12 of 39 in Carcassonne
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
1.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
793 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#19 of 39 in Carcassonne
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soleil Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soleil Terminus

Address: 2 avenue du Marechal Joffre, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: £81 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Soleil Terminus 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with restaurant & bar, set in early 20th century historical landmark; near Canal du Midi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Soleil Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Soleil Le Terminus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing