We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Soleil Terminus
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne Center
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed for one night when my apartment was having some plumbing work done and we were off to Paris on the train the next day.. The room was good and the decor was dated, but good value. Great proximity to train, shops. Breakfast was terrible, powdered eggs, Pool looked great, wifi was available. Reception runs 24 hours. I love the Art Deco style of the restaurant, and the location cannot be beaten. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to everyone, but go across the road for a delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynette9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Spent a pleasant couple of days here. The lobby's one of the highlights, comfortable in a faded way, with a magnificent marble double staircase for that grand entrance. Helpful staff, clean quiet room and a decent breakfast. Minor reservation on the basement pool - bit chilly for my liking. Great location next to SNCF station, canal & airport bus stop, adjacent to Bastide and twenty minutes walk to Cite. Well worth checking out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stopped off overnight en route to Collioure. Having stayed in Carcassonne before, we liked the look and location of this hotel. Grand, spacious lobby and we had a big room with views over the 'Place' in front of the railway station and also over to the 'Cite'. Nice surprise is that the hotel has a swimming pool - which we would have used if we had more time. Comfortable bed and big bathroom. Feels dated and a bit faded, but that's all part of the hotel's charm.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank FrankWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

POSITIVE:
The people at the reception were always very kind and helpful.
The situation of the hotel is perfect.
Free wifi in your room.

NOT SO POSITIVE:
Our toilet didn't smell nice, we guessed it was the pipes (the hotel is 99 years old!) because it was indeed clean and it just smelled in the afternoon.
The hotel entrance is very nice but the door is quite heavy and there's a big step just in front of it and some 2 or 3 additional steps before you reach the reception.
The breakfast was ok but could have been better. There were no big spoons, so you had to eat your cereals with a small spoon, for instance. It was rare that you already found a serviette on your table, you had to go and pick one yourself.
The spa zone was a little poor, with just 2 nice deck chairs and the rest being normal chairs. The swimming pool was ok, but the jacuzzi was too small (and a little too cold). And then you had nothing else there! Except for a sauna, which you had to pay additionally.

But these are mostly small details. I definitely got a good general impression and I would recommend the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarminaVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights....yes a little dated but room was adequate for a base....good comfy bed,hot water,clean towels every day and helpful staff.
Good Bistro next door and cafe on the corner does simple cheap breakfast.
Stay here if you just need a place to rest your head and get clean...otherwise spend more money and choose a more upmarket modern place...price we paid was just right for this hotel.
Lovely entrance hall with great features throughout...our room had beautiful light fittings and 4 floor to ceiling doors which were stunning...
Give it a go....

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Terrible welcome, booking was made specifically for availability of parking for our expensive motorcycles, yet they initially refused - inability to listen!
They even insisted on payment before even seeing the rooms - despite pre-booking - seemed they assumed us to be dishonest, never before been so insulted at a hotel reception!
Dirty rooms - dog hairs on carpet, dirty bathrooms & toilets - not resolved despite showing receptionist and requesting cleaning!! Rooms not equipped for number of occupants.

Room Tip: Select another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Beautiful lobby; high-ceiling rooms. Conveniently right at the train station but still walking distance from the Cite that's Carcassonne's primary tourist calling. Also right next to the beautiful canal du midi.

Good staff; good English

But...VERY low water pressure. I think I'll be home before the long, thin tub fills. And a looooong time to GET hot water.

NO AIR CONDITIONING, No mini bar.

Free internet for 12 hours with a squirrely login/logout process.

But close to supermarket where you can purchase drinks

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
1.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hote...
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,588 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
809 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#19 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
815 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
520 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rou...
#21 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soleil Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soleil Terminus

Address: 2 avenue du Marechal Joffre, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: £78 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Soleil Terminus 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with breakfast and bar, set in early 20th century historical landmark; near Canal du Midi and 20 minutes walking to " La Cité" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Soleil Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Soleil Le Terminus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing