We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value and art deco charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Soleil Terminus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Soleil Terminus
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Lunel, France
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“good value and art deco charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2007

Traveled from Lunel by train
so easy just across the road an 5 mins walk
very nice entrance helpful girl on reception two rooms offered for the three adults
first floor big double bed complete wardrobe dressing table etc very nice good bathroom super new shower,
second floor two single beds bathroom bath with shower over
all very clean
breakfast good selection inc cheese ham and boiled eggs
pain au chocolate ,brioche ,french sticks and toast breads
prunes figs cereals lots of jams etc fruit juice help your self and return for more as you wish
main desk most helpful and booklet with reductions on restaurant and bar
very well placed for shuttle to Cite and shuttle to airport
nice paved areas in town lots of shops and pleasnt to stroll round the whole area
would stay again

  • Liked — atmoshere and position
  • Disliked — busy road at night
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia71lunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    338
    242
    154
    127
See reviews for
224
535
42
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2007

I booked a superior room in this hotel. The hotel has a nice feel to it, a great entrance and foyer. I was very impressed with my room. I had a balcony that overlooked the main street with two huge french doors. The washroom was newer and I was pleased with the pillows and linen. There is also a nice restaurant on site where I ate two nights while I was staying. The only thing I wasn't too happy about was a 30Euro supplemental fee as I was staying by myself in the room. Overall, a very cool hotel. Probably one of the nicest I stayed in france. Also, this hotel is very close to the train station, which was useful, but about a 30min walk to the walled city.

  • Liked — the balcony was nice touch
  • Disliked — so far from walled city
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank computron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2007

Just returned from a long weekend in Carcassonne with my girlfriend. The Soleil le Terminus looks lovely from the outside, and is conveniently located beside the train station, the Canal du Midi, and Rue Clemenceau (the main shopping street of the regular town). The medieval Cité was only a 15/20 minute walk away. The €5 Carcassone Airport bus also stopped right-outside the hotel.
There are number of problems with the hotel which prevent me giving it an "Excellent" review. Its is very badly staffed, this is particularly noticeable when you are trying to get the attention of someone at reception. I paid more than most people seem to have, possibly because it was Bastille Day, and I asked for a "superior room" - and I don't feel I got value for money. The furnishings were a little shabby, and quite dusty (the dust was never removed by cleaning staff during our stay). The shower head was a little broken so had to be hand-held to take a shower.
There was only one rubbish bin for the room, in the bathroom, and this was not emptied daily. The bed sheets on arrival did not appear to be fresh. There are no safes in the room to lock valuables. Basically a couple of niggly things like this took away from what was overall a pleasant stay there.
The view of the Cité from our room was great, the TV and air con worked, and I actually thought the breakfast was great (for a French hotel).

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank donaghs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2007

Stepping into the lobby of this hotel one would nearly expect to see Monet in one corner making a sketch, Debussy in another corner humming something to himself,ladies with parasols and all the other relics of old decency that went with this place in former times.

Unfortuanetly that's as far as the nostalgia goes.This hotel is now run as a budget moneymaker.Staff is cut to a minimum which may explain the ridiculously late five pm check in and ten am check out.Reception are ok but could be more helpful and efficent.
Leisure facilities are ok but may not be worth the ten euro per person charge for what is a cold jacuzzi and and limp enough sauna along with the pool.

The bar and restaurant off the hotel lobby are of a modern design.The bar is quite relaxing for a beer or a coffee.Didn't eat in the resturaunt. so can't comment.

Price wise the hotel is very reasonable but that in itself can bring upon it a style of clientele that seem like square pegs in round holes here.

This hotel has a fantastic potential to be great again and the sense of history within the building is a rare thing nowadays.
It is a pity this is not exploited to the full where it could probably and ironically really make money for it's proprieter but that does'nt seem to be the ethos here.

  • Liked — The beautiful building itself
  • Disliked — Sense of lack of respect for the building and history within by owner,pool table put in the lobby kind of says it all really.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sean-tKerryIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2007

First impressions can be deceptive. A once beautiful building in a prime location let down by poor maintenance and lack of staff.
The late 5pm. check-in is made worse by the lack of any secure place to leave luggage. If everywhere else is full and you are forced to stay here avoid breakfast at all costs.Local tax, the pool and parking are charged extra.

  • Liked — Lovely building. Some rooms have original turn of century furnishing
  • Disliked — Reception. Breakfast.The nasty little notes stuck all over the foyer..telling you not to put feet on furniture etc!
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Otonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carcassonne hotels

NorthWest UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2007

Hotel has a certain charm to it. The location is great for the railway station and a taxi rank is immediately outside, sometimes frequented though by the local winos, but we were never intimidated by them. To go to the Cite, the main attraction of Carcassonne though is about a 20 minute walk uphill for part of the way. The reception area has a magnificence to it with a lovely old fashioned telephone exchange in it; the ones where the operator had to plug in wires to connect people. The reception was helpful and language was not a barrier. The room was clean and spacious although just a tad on the cold side. We stopped on the first floor with a good view over a square and canal. Breakfast was included in the price. We paid about 76 euros for a double room. Breakfast was a bit haphazard; there was no clear table and the coffee ran out even though we were not late. Would stop there again and in fact went back three days later but they tried to charge us the same price but without breakfast so we didn't. From the airport the shuttle bus drops you close by and charges 5 euros each. A taxi costs 10 euros and takes about 5 minutes so best to take one if more than one person travelling. Shops are close by and it is a pleasant walk to the CIte if you do not have mobility problems. Hotel has bar and you are given coupons for discounted drinks etc eg 1 euro off coffee. Stopped in another hotel in Carcassonne that we preferred for a cheaper price 'Pont Viuex' but fewer facilities. Overall Terminus was quite good but not brilliant.

  • Liked — Olde worlde feel close to amenities
  • Disliked — A bit far from the main attraction
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank PSNorthWestUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2007

I found the hotel to be perfectly adequate for our stay. It's location was great and i found the staff helpful and friendly, especially when we arrived at 1.00 expecting to be reminded of the 5.00 check in time but were instead immediately given our room key and a book of discount vouchers to use in the hotel bar. The hotel is trying hard to retain the old world glamour it was obviously known for and I found the old furniture in the rooms quite charming. The breakfast area was clean and well maintained. It could do with a bit of a freshen up in the stairways and halls. The only negative was that the pool a jacuzzi were both cold so having paid 10 Euro each we couldn't even use them. Other than that a good time was had by all

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#20 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#15 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soleil Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soleil Terminus

Property: Hotel Soleil Terminus
Address: 2 avenue du Marechal Joffre, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Soleil Terminus 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with restaurant & bar, set in early 20th century historical landmark; near Canal du Midi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Soleil Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Soleil Le Terminus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing