We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not its four stars worthy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Trois Couronnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
elewijt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“not its four stars worthy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I work in tourism and this hotel and in my opnion this hotel is worth of 2 or 3 stars.
For the view it gets its 4 stars ( if you are lucky to get the panonramic view because we booked such a room and by arrival we had to stay in a room with view on a wall in decay)!!
Very very noisy, you can hear everything what is happening above you.
We informed the reception manager about this so they know.
The best to do, when you have complaints otherwise they don't know either!!

We do recommend to book a room with panoramic view if this hotel is your preference nr 1 despite all comments.

Room Tip: room with panoramic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ludo004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    251
    126
    44
    17
See reviews for
86
315
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moraira Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed in the hotel last week. Reception modern but not very helpful staff. On entering the room it looked good then realised no draws or storage apart from a wardrobe with a pull out clothes rail rather than a bar rail. (Hate those). Underwear was out in the bar rack!!! Lighting was terrible. 2 beds lights and a lamp on the desk/table. There was a Mini bar but no tea or coffee facilities. Complimentary bottle of water. Bathroom small, inadequate lighting and separate toilet across the hall. Room was clean and bedding very good. Hard beds. Couldn't get the heating to come on. Breakfast was continental only. No bar. Deliveries at the front of the hotel could be noisy if they left the engine running.

On the good side the view was fantastic over looking the river and the castle which when lit up at night is spectacular. There is a swimming pool but we didn't use it.

Room Tip: Must be a room at the front of the hotel for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

The Hotel Des Trois Courrones has a wonderful view of the Castle especially from its top floor restaurant. The night we stayed there, a tour group were also staying, and perhaps this may have been the reason for our terrible dinner.
My husband had the duck which he rated the worst he has ever eaten - very overcooked and I had veal which I could hardly cut into.....the meal had nothing to recommend it.
Surprisingly, the breakfast was quite good - we had read in TA that breakfast wasn't very good, so we were pleasantly surprised.
As far as the room was concerned - bathroom was very small, and the shower was broken.
Plus was parking was convenient in a car park across the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We enjoyed staying in this hotel very much. We arrived on a Sunday, and found that the balcony window was missing the actual locking mechanism in the room we were given. We were given another room straight away, but the receptionist was not very secure and only promised it to us for two of our three night stay. However, we were not shifted. Room was comfortable, if smaller than I might have hoped for. However, the location is superb, and the balcony view superb. Can recommend the restaurant, we ate there the first night. I had a small octopus - being adventurous - and it was delicious. I think it is better to stay here with the view, in the hustle and bustle of the old city, it was very peaceful, and you don't have to walk your luggage in! However, you do have to pay for the parking in the underground garage.

Room Tip: We loved being on the 4th floor, higher is better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaEdinburghUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clutton
Level Contributor
295 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

This hotel is only 10 minutes walk to the old Cite. The views are sublime. The room was clean and well equipped with even tea making facilities.............rare in France we have found. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Car park 9 euros (not free parking as stated on trip advisor) but in secure garage and well worth the money especially in Carcassonne. We did not have breakfast.......there in a boulangerie just over the Pont Vieux where we bought croissants which we ate on our balcony gazing at the citadel...........amazing view.

Room Tip: He had room 306.........one of the cheaper rooms as it is a triangular shape..........but with the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

My wife & I stayed on 20 th September for one night.we had dinner & breakfast.Our room was 308 which had a terrific view of La Cite.I agree with other reviewers re the small bathroom,but it was very comfortable.At 150 e a night it is good value.The Restraunt is very good & reasonable.We had salmon & lamb with 1/2 bottle of wine less than 100 e.P.S.the car park works very well & is a lot better than many other establishments in France.Potential patrons should note this is a 1970s style hotel & if you are after French traditional charm look elsewhere.All in all we recommend it.The location is unbeatable!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brett w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilroy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Without paying $400.00 a night to stay in the actual Cite, this hotel is probably the best located hotel in Carcassonne. We had a view of Cite of Carcassonne from our hotel room (partially obscured by a tree, but a view nonetheless). The hotel is right on the river, about twenty-five steps from the Old Bridge and then a fifteen-minute walk to the Cite.

Room was ready when we arrived (about 3:00 pm), staff was courteous and helpful. Room a bit small, but had all we needed. A clean room, plenty of towels, the usual amenities . . . the hotel had all that. Good breakfast buffet.

Interestingly, the hotel is rated as a 4-star hotel, but I don't think it was quite there. Perhaps a 3-star plus. Eleven euros for one breakfast, an additional nine euros to park each night made the hotel a 4-star in cost but still a 3-star in service.

I recommend the hotel for its location, breakfasts, and the usual services. Free internet in the lobby was useful--I've stayed in more expensive hotels that didn't have that. There is not much in the neighborhood of the hotel--in fact, the area is a bit seedy, but we were not there for the neightborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the first floor and ask for a view. To see the city lit up at night from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Trois Couronnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Trois Couronnes

Property: Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Address: 2 rue des 3 Couronnes, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Trois Couronnes 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hôtel DES TROIS COURONNES*** is ideally located in front of The old City of Carcassonne, at 10 minutes walking from the remparts, and 5 minutes from the town centre.- 69 rooms and 1 suite, 45 with a balcony and a panoramic view of the old city.- Panoramic restaurant on the 4th floor opened all year long- Panoramic Terrasse restaurant on the banks of the river (from april to october)- Private garage and bus park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel des Trois Couronnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Trois Couronnes Carcassonne
Des Trois Couronnes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing