We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Magic of the Cathars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed two nights in this exceptionally well-sited hotel looking over the Aude river and the Cite. Lit up at night the view of the old city from our balcony was absolutely beautiful and it was a bit of a "pinch me" moment. The room was large with very comfy bed. The dining room at the hotel was in a spectacular spot with a panoramic view of the Cite and also the Pyrenees to the south. The service however, was pretty slow. We were able to use the Hotel's underground car park. Breakfast was available for an additional charge with comprehensive menu. The main shopping streets were a short walk away and the Canal du Midi was also close by. We went for drinks in the square which was cool and leafy and great for people watching.

Room Tip: Ask for a "panorama" room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viaggio46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed five nights at this hotel during the last week of September. The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring both the Bastide and the Cite as it is conveniently located between the two sides of the town. Absolutely stunning view of the Aude river and Cite from the balcony of our room. The view and the hotels location are its two major assets. It's well worth paying the little extra, therefore, for a room with a "Panoramic View". Room was clean and comfortable, staff were friendly and professional. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel in Mid August. Had a fantastic time. Hotel is ideally situated between town and walled city. Stayed in a large room on the top floor with a balcony overlooking Cite and river, beautiful! Pool was ideal for cooling off and relaxing after a days sightseeing. Staff were very helpful. Would stay here if I return.

Room Tip: Room I stayed in was one of 4 accessed by a lift to top floor. Very quiet due to limited use by oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Booked one night on basis of Trip Advisor reviews. Booked a “panorama” room with a fabulous view of the old city and castle from the balcony. Clean and comfortable hotel. Decent size room. Balcony with view of the old city. Very good breakfast. Friendly, and professional service. I was able to find free parking in a small lot directly across street from the hotel, otherwise would have used hotel parking. Good value overall - book a panorama room.

Room Tip: Get a "panorama" room and enjoy the view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esquimalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We booked our 5 day break at this hotel on the Internet. The siting of the hotel was stunning, with views out over the Cite and the river.
We were given room 17 the first night and although it was clean, it was very small, with hardly room for a double bed. It looked out at the back of the hotel over a small car park and a brick wall. We arrived at about 11am but weren't allowed in the room till 3pm. We complained the next day saying that this was not a 4 star room in 4 star hotel! Immediately we were given an alternative room - which must have been free all night!
The new room was excellent, at the front of the hotel, much larger, and with a small balcony looking out over the Cite. We spent a very pleasant stay there after the first night.
We didn't eat in the hotel - there are plenty of restaurants in the town (of all grades) to choose from.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 17!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Very well situated hotel between the medieval city and the Bastide righ at the Pont Vieux. My room was quiet and comfortable and the staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. The view of the Cite was quite staggering and the situation along the river was most pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Storm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This hotel has a great location in my opinion - between the medieval city and the Bastide, making both easily accessible. Make sure you book a panoramic room to get a fabulous view of the medieval city. The rooms are a reasonable size and clean - the bed was very comfy. All staff were helpful, with breakfast staff being particularly friendly. There were some problems with the air conditioning on one night but this was sorted the following day. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Panoramic rooms are a must for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimBobSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
791 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Trois Couronnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Trois Couronnes

Address: 2 rue des 3 Couronnes, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: £79 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Trois Couronnes 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hôtel DES TROIS COURONNES*** is ideally located in front of The walled City of Carcassonne, at 10 minutes walking from the remparts, and 5 minutes from the town centre.- 69 rooms and 1 Junior Suite, 45 with a balcony and a panoramic view on the old city.- Panoramic restaurant on the 4th floor opened all year long- Private garage and bus parking place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Trois Couronnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Trois Couronnes Carcassonne
Des Trois Couronnes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing