We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
cork
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Stayed for three days last month. Ideally situated for visiting the medieval city. We booked a standard room but on arrival got a cupboard sized room with miniature beds overlooking a dirty yard. Of course we had to pay extra to get a room on the front of hotel with unfurnished balcony looking over river to cite.
When looking for advertised pool, I was told that its under renovation. It must be the longest renovation project in the world 'cos I saw that over last winter on this site it was being 'renovated'!!!?
Didnt eat here under advice from previous reviewers.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank popetteCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    271
    135
    48
    18
See reviews for
92
346
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Great location. Good room and view. However .... [1] Advertised swimming pool closed for major renovation, apparently for some months. [2] Advertised terrace restaurant closed [3] Advertised panoramic view restaurant not available for one of two night stay because hotel had booked two coach groups in and locked restuarant to these two groups only. These were primary reasons for choosing this location. Check carefully before you book.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASC_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We have stayed in this hotel three or four times before and never had a problem. Its location next to the river offering spectacular views of the old city is un-beatable.
However, on our last visit it would appear there have been a few changes , but sadly not for the better.
Our fist disappointment was the room . DO NOT book a standard room they are very small and overlook a tatty courtyard .The bath is almost impossible to enter being squashed between the sink splash-back and the wall .It is totally unsuitable /dangerous for anyone to use unless they are related to Harry Houdini.
The biggest problem by far was the appalling standard of the food in the restaurant .All four meals ordered were unacceptable on each course, meat was either over cooked or bland it gave the impression the meal had been precooked and re-warmed in a microwave., the whole evening was a disaster. Needless to say, we never ate there again during our stay. On previous visits, by contrast ,we have eaten at the restaurant several times and always enjoyed the experience.
We also noticed on our visit this time that the hotel was happy to receive coach trips. ( Two on one evening). The impact of such large numbers of people all arriving/departing at the same time in a relatively small hotel caused considerable disruption to other guests.
It would appear that the hotel is under going refurbishment ,both the bar and the swimming pool were unavailable during our stay .Perhaps our negative dining experience is was due to a change of ownership. The consequent shift in focus having moved from providing what was previously excellent dining for individual guests to accommodating coach parties for one-night stays and providing them communal food more akin to school dinners!! .Apologies to any school dinner ladies

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLBFRANCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
235 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

The hotel that I had reserved in Carcasaonne had overbooked, so I was forced to scramble for a replacement at the last minute. The booking agency (Booking.com) was able to secure a room at the Trois Couronnes at a good price; people walking in behind us were charged half again as much for equivalent rooms. This hotel is a good value if you shop the rate first!

The hotel is located directly across the river from the walled hill city, a 15 minute walk and the views at night are wonderful. There is free parking in a public lot a block from the hotel, and checkin was friendly and efficient. The hotel has elevators to the upper rooms, and is accessible throughout. There are restaurants a short walk across the river, but the hotel has a bar on the ground level frequented by locals, and a restaurant on the top level with good local food for dinner and a breakfast buffet. The staff is very helpful with maps and directions; there was a good mix of family and tourist couples passing through the hotel.

The room was average, two singles pushed together to make a double bed and a nice balcony .There was a good workspace with wireless internet, a minibar / fridge and flat-screen TV. The bathroom had a tub and hand shower, good hot water and pressure.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
188 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of September, specifically for it's proximity to the Cite and the fact that we liked the sound of the pool & the jacuzzi. It did have superb views of the Cite, but only if you were willing to pay extra for a room that faced that way. The pool was about twice the size of an average family bath and the jacuzzi was out of action, presumed terminal.
The staff were friendly, informative and kind at all times.
The room was clean and functional - although the furnishings were a bit dated, it was clean and the air-con was a relief given the 30 Celsius weather. Hotel doesn't have a terrace/patio area, which is a pity if you want to sit out and relax.
Location wise, Carcassonne is a small town, with not a lot to do - the hotel is located near the castle and near the town. Everything is within walking distance. If you want atmosphere, then pay for it and stay in the Cite. But if you are looking for someplace convenient, cheap and clean, then you could do worse than this hotel. It was definitely value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Adequate, clean but total rip off price. Nice view of artificial disneylike city. Poor breakfast. Restaurant totally lacking in atmosphere. Did not risk dining there.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alan070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

I spent two nights in this hotel. The rooms are spacey, the Deluxe ones with magnificent view onto La Cité. Restaurant is in the 4th floor with also superb view. Breakfast was not special, but OK. Restaurant has delicious food, but it's very small, so please be sure to book a table in advance. Spacious parking lot and also in surroundings enough parking space. Free hi-speed Wi-Fi in all rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalazsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.6 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
748 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Trois Couronnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Trois Couronnes

Property: Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Address: 2 rue des 3 Couronnes, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Trois Couronnes 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hôtel DES TROIS COURONNES*** is ideally located in front of The old City of Carcassonne, at 10 minutes walking from the remparts, and 5 minutes from the town centre.- 69 rooms and 1 suite, 45 with a balcony and a panoramic view of the old city.- Panoramic restaurant on the 4th floor opened all year long- Panoramic Terrasse restaurant on the banks of the river (from april to october)- Private garage and bus park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Trois Couronnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Trois Couronnes Carcassonne
Des Trois Couronnes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing