We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Also only used restaurant and also not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Rapiere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Rapiere
Ranked #29 of 58 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Also only used restaurant and also not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

View of cite great but marred by meal. Two female waitresses at either end of the age spectrum but both afflicted with a lack of interest and charm. It was as if it was all too much effort to serve those annoying people called customers. A male waiter did his best and realised we were not happy but by then it was too late. The standard steak entrecôte and chips was good enough but the house speciality of Cassoulet was very poor and overpriced. Dessert of creme brûlée was okay. A smile or too may have helped but only go for the view and a drink.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellinlight2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    46
    29
    11
    15
See reviews for
25
77
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Nice clean family room, basic but great. Good aircon, comfortable beds, wifi link weak in room but fine on terrace. Staff were very good, welcoming and helpful, nice to have a downstairs outdoor bar to relax in and the location 5 mins walk from main city gate in fantastic. Breakfast was good fare - croissants, bread and jam, coffee and orange juice. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerretUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We booked this place, as it is one of the few places available for a reasonably cheap rate on Booked.com, which was the first of many plus points, which include free wifi, view of La Cite from the terrace, which in turns means it is really quick to get in to the Cite for sight seeing and meals etc. The bed was refreshingly ant-free. While the whole hotel is a bit tired, it was very clean.

The breakfast was more than adequate - the usual French buffet, bread, butter, jams, coissant, emmanthal (for those who like a german twist on their continental breakfast), yoghurt, cereal, orange juice and the usual range of hot drinks.

We are sad that we paid extra for the room with the swimming pool as it was so cold and windy so we couldn't use it.

With regards to the complaints of other reviewers, we didn't come to Carcassonne to watch TV, so didn't mind the lack of non-French TV channels, and we didn't feel the toilet and shower being in different rooms detracted from our visit. We were fortunate that our bathroom was not overlooked by anywhere so the weird net curtains didn't matter too much. We didn't really see any staff, apart from when we first arrived, the girl was neither over friendly nor over rude, but suffiently informative, ie showed us to our room, and told us about breakfast times etc. We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on it, nor got back late in the evening, so wasn't subjected to darkness.

Only downside was it's distance from the train station, from where we walked, but frankly can't have it both ways with regards to location, given the set distance from station to the main attraction, la cite.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I read the reviews here only after having booked the hotel. I very nearly panicked and got ready for the worst. However, I was SO relieved to find that the room we stayed in (2nd floor room with a swimming pool) was spotless, reasonably sized and with a great view of the castle. It looked liked freshly renovated. Thumbs up!!

True, paying upfront is a little odd but the receptionist had no trouble at all to show us the room before paying. Breakfast is rather basic (one type of cheese and some jams) but we had the same experience in another hotel in the area, so it may well be the norm. After all, one almost appreciates a light food in the morning given the excessive lunches and dinners :) We didn't eat in but I can highly recommend restaurant 'L'Ostal des Troubadours' in the castle.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asdf0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Some things were good - my wife had an excellent carbonara and if you like dogs the restaurant has a friendly retriever and a sha pei. I had a local dish and didn't like it, but have nothing to compare it to. Do not go here for a romantic meal as it will disappoint - it has seen better days, paper table cloths and the air of a public bar. The young waitress made us feel uncomfortable and lurked miserably behind the bar. Even with a language barrier, a smile costs nothing. One to give a miss,I am sorry to say.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen10715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carcassonne hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here for one night and didn't eat in. Our welcome was a little odd, but very warm. We we asked to pay in advance because different people would be there the following day. The was a bit of misunderstanding because our French wasn't up to the job. We had paid a bit extra to have a room with a view of the old city. The room was clean if basic and indeed did have a wonderful view of the old city walls. Particularly spectacular when we woke up and saw the walls bathed in sunshine in the morning. The room was quiet and comfortable. The shower room only had thin curtains and, with the back light from the shower, no doubt providing entertainment for anyone enjoying a late drink at the bar. Breakfast was basic and adequate. The whole place feels as though it should be in Tahiti. Garden unkempt with some odd sculptures. Generally quite funky but good value considering the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city not the laundry (room 2 was good).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

This place had mixed reviews, which we ignored... It was fine, good value for money, breakfast for 4 plus a large family room for 100 euros!! Right outside the old city walls. Great views of walls lit up at night, easy walking distance into old city for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Espace Cite
Hotel Espace Cite
#19 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
#34 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rapiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rapiere

Property: La Rapiere
Address: 9 Montee Gaston Combeleran, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Rapiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing