We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hotel at low cost”
Review of Au Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Au Royal Hotel
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Great basic hotel with good location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed at the Au Royal Hotel Middle of May 2012, Hotel is in a good location between the Railway Station and the old cite. The price was excellent very cheap. room was OK. Hotel staff spoke english and tried to help, also had umbrella in foyer to use, which we did every day. On the down side buildings on both side of the hotel are empty and look a little derelict. Front of hotel and rooms could do with sprucing up. but you get what you pay for. It is also on a busy road so like other reviews say don't ask for a front facing room if you want to leave the window open( Did not bother me)
Did not have breakfast here but went out to felixs in the square for breakfast. Carcassonne is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chickiechoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

good, clean hotel. located near "newer"part of town, but reasonably close to La Cite.
very helpfull staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Very friendly helpful staff with good English. Basic rooms but with everything you need for a short cheap break. Good location for old city,train station and canal.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine_1_1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

After reading some of the reviews of this hotel, it turned out to be better than expected. Our room had been recently refurbished and was a good size. Unfortunately the ceiling fan was not sufficient in the summer heat and consequently we had an uncomfortable nights sleep. We couldn't open the window since being situated on a main road it got rather noisy. Our room was on the top floor and with no lift it was a pain carrying luggage up and down the stairs.

Despite these issues, the room was clean and very cheap. There is free parking on the road just outside the hotel and it is located just around the corner from the shops and town centre. Also only a short walk (10-15 mins) from the fortified city.

Great hotel for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Droulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We approached this hotel with some trepidation after reading the reviews but it was one of the few available at short notice. The trepidation increased when we were asked to pay upfront without seeing the room. However we needn't have worried. The room was a good size for France and was perfectly adequate. Certainly it wasn't luxurious but at the very reasonable price charged it offered excellent value for money. The ceiling fan combined with the shutter helped alleviate the heat and traffic noise though a back room would have been better as the hotel is on a main road. The decor was quite fresh, the shower was powerful and the bed was comfortable. There is a reasonably priced machine in the lobby for hot and cold drinks and snacks. The hotel is very convenient for the station, canal and main shopping street ,with a Monoprix supermarket a short walk away, and is within easy walking distance of the medieval city. Alternatively there is a bus stop right outside. We didn't take breakfast or have any dealings with reception so can't comment on these. Obviously at these prices you don't get the Ritz and have to adjust your expectations accordingly but this is a typical French 2 star hotel better than many I have stayed in and represents very good value. Apart from the medieval city, Carcassonne itself is somewhat run down but that's hardly the fault of the hotel, and it's a very good base for an enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roscoe11122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Stayed at the Au Rôyal Hotel for 5 nights in July 2010.

We were allocated room 27, a double room with en-suite shower room on the 3rd. floor of the hotel. We arrived at 10:00am and although the check-in time was not until 3:00pm, we were allowed to check in and leave our luggage in the room. At check-in, we were given a map of the city and lots of useful information on things to see and do in the city. The hotel has a very relaxed ambience and the staff were always friendly and helpful.
Our room was of a reasonable size for a French 2* hotel, simply furnished and decorated in a "metropolitan NYC style" with contrasting pin-striped wallpaper. The en-suite shower room was of a good size. The room looked onto the main street, the Boulevard Jean-Jaurès, yet was always quiet. In essence, the room was clean, comfortable and quiet. As many have noted, there is no air-conditioning and certainly, as we were there in the heat of a southern French summer, it was hot. The over-head fan in the room helped to achieve a comfortable enough environment to allow a decent night's sleep but only just!

The hotel is well located in the centre of the Basse-Ville with all the tourist attractions, cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance. The bus-stop for the Carcassonne airport navette is only a 5 minute walk away.

Unusually, for a French city, we found that there was not such a great choice of good places to eat. Three places that we can recommend for good value dining are L'Escalier on Boulevard Omer-Sarraut, Le Sixième Sens on rue Aimé Ramond, both in the Basse-Ville, and Le Saint-Jean on Place Saint-Jean in La Cité.

In summary, the Au Rôyal Hotel offers great value accommodation with friendly, welcoming service in a very central location. The lack of air-conditioning in the height of summer is the only minor drawback.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellonway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#29 of 39 in Carcassonne
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#23 of 39 in Carcassonne
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#21 of 39 in Carcassonne
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
#32 of 39 in Carcassonne
704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Espace Cite
Hotel Espace Cite
#14 of 39 in Carcassonne
405 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kyriad Carcassonne Ouest - La Cite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Royal Hotel

Address: 22 Boulevard Jean Jaures, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range: £43 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Au Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Royal Hotel is located in the centre of Carcassonne, 600 m from the train station and a 20-minute walk from the medieval city. This family-run hotel offers good value accommodation. Guestrooms at Au Royal Hotel are comfortable and equipped with a TV and en suite bathroom with a hairdryer. A home-made buffet breakfast is served daily and the staff at Au Royal Hotel are happy to advise guests on local restaurants and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Au Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Royal Carcassonne
Hotel Au Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing