We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel.”
Review of Au Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Au Royal Hotel
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Sandbach, United Kingdom
7733
Reviewed 1 August 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

My partner and i stayed here for 2 nights and i admit i was hesitant to book it at first but was pleasantly surprised once i got there.
The room was spacious and clean, the staff spoke good english and was helpful with directions ect.
The hotel is in a great location for the "walled city", you can walk from the hotel to the castle in a bout 10 - 15 minutes, and the newer part of carcasone is a short walk also.
Carcasone itself is a nice place but not like your typical holiday place(give it a few years though!)it is quite expensive to eat in the restaurants but plenty cheaper alternatives, its a place i will definitely visit again at some point.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stopped one night here in September 2009, breaking up a train journey from Barcelona to Chateauroux. It was conveniently located for a visit to the old walled city, which is what we'd come for. The hotel itself was nothing flash but the staff were friendly and helpful, the weather was fine and after a decent breakfast we spent a great day touring the old city. It was very commercialised, as we'd read, but generally tastefully done and at least the historic structures were well preserved. A walk round the ramparts and outside base of the wall was spectacular. Finished the day with a fine dinner at Brasserie le Donjon. It was only a short stop in Carcassonne but a good one.

Room Tip: We were upstairs, which seemed OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank JornP
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Great basic hotel with good location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed at the Au Royal Hotel Middle of May 2012, Hotel is in a good location between the Railway Station and the old cite. The price was excellent very cheap. room was OK. Hotel staff spoke english and tried to help, also had umbrella in foyer to use, which we did every day. On the down side buildings on both side of the hotel are empty and look a little derelict. Front of hotel and rooms could do with sprucing up. but you get what you pay for. It is also on a busy road so like other reviews say don't ask for a front facing room if you want to leave the window open( Did not bother me)
Did not have breakfast here but went out to felixs in the square for breakfast. Carcassonne is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chickiechoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

good, clean hotel. located near "newer"part of town, but reasonably close to La Cite.
very helpfull staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#29 of 39 in Carcassonne
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#23 of 39 in Carcassonne
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#20 of 39 in Carcassonne
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
#32 of 39 in Carcassonne
704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Espace Cite
Hotel Espace Cite
#14 of 39 in Carcassonne
405 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kyriad Carcassonne Ouest - La Cite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Royal Hotel

Address: 22 Boulevard Jean Jaures, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range: £43 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Au Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Royal Hotel is located in the centre of Carcassonne, 600 m from the train station and a 20-minute walk from the medieval city. This family-run hotel offers good value accommodation. Guestrooms at Au Royal Hotel are comfortable and equipped with a TV and en suite bathroom with a hairdryer. A home-made buffet breakfast is served daily and the staff at Au Royal Hotel are happy to advise guests on local restaurants and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Au Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Royal Carcassonne
Hotel Au Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing