We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accomodation for the price”
Review of Au Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Au Royal Hotel
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne Center
Reviewed 22 June 2009

This is a budget hotel very well situated for everything in Carcassonne.
The hotel does not have air conditioning - but the windows open and our room had a fan. There is no lift, but the stairs work just fine and there are only three floors.
The receptionist was freindly and helpful - we were able to check in early (midday) and leave our bags after checking out to pick up at 4pm.
The room was comfortable and clean (spotless); there was a flat screen TV with all the TNT channels and BBC World.
WiFi is available and chargeable.
We had the hotel breakfast for convenience - but it was overpriced at 8 euro. Breakfast is served in a nice room on the ground floor.
The biggest complaint is that our room - on the front - opened onto the main inner ring road, which meant that there was continual traffic noise, which was, at times, quite intrusive.
If arriving on the airport shuttle bus (5 Euro) get off at the station (Gare SNCF) it's nearer here and easier to find than it looks on the maps, compared to Place Dome.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millimole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2009

the hotel was great and friendly.Location is great for both the town and old city.
plenty of places to eat and see.
able to leave our bags on the last day whilst we went out till late afternoon.
Manageress was very helpful and the room was spotless and quiet.
we had no problems at this hotel and would stay there again
good value for money

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Arrived at this hotel on Saturday May 16th. After 3 hours in bed I found myself sharing with lots of filthy bed bugs. Spent the rest of the night in the car and moved accross to the Ibis the following morning.

I demanded and got a full refund on my booking but the owner showed no surprise or concern, saying only that we were the first to make this complaint. I find this hard to beleive, the room was infested, bed, walls, wardrobe.

I only wish I'd inspected the room before moving in. I came away bitten all over my legs, body and face. Avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elvissmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Basic, clean, tidy and a reasonable location. Five minutes from the la Dome bus stop on the Agglo Airport Bus and 20 minutes walk from the mediaeval city. WiFi available.

Dated decor. Towels and bedding thin. Quiet room with windows closed despite facing street. Continental breakfast was ample with good croissant and baguette.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK1W1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, overall found it good value. It's in a convenient position, close to the Bastide part of Carcassonne, the main shopping area, and only about 5 minutes' walk from the station. It's about 10 minutes' walk to the historic fortress. There was a little bistro next door, if you didn't want to go far for a meal - busy, always a good sign!

A warm reception, and overall Madame was very helpful throughout my time there. The room was fine, with a comfortable bed, shower, television - the decor is a little tired, but everything was spotlessly clean, and the room was quiet.. It was certainly good value. Breakfasts were ordered and paid for in advance, but were again good value, with hard-boiled eggs, rolls and cheese as well as baguette, croissant etc.

I was returning to Carcassonne later in the trip, and would have been happy to stay here for that n ight as well, but unfortunately there were no rooms available.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ballymackeonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Very poor reception on arrival,surly,payment demanded for stay,if breakfast was required 'notify and pay' before 8pm each night - no breakfast taken needless to say - room very basic,bathroom ok but cleanliness suspect,no english language news channel on tv,location ok,10 mins walk from 'Cite',would not recommend

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tnecniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Very good service (thank you very much mrs. owner), nice rooms, clean shower, cable tv, all rooms for non-smokers, staff very helpful, speaking english, flexible, we arrived early in the morning and were allowed to check in although the check in time starts in the afternoon. definitely Would recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hujek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#26 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
#32 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
724 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel l'Etoile
Hotel l'Etoile
#28 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
#18 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
815 reviews
2.2 mi away
KYRIAD CARCASSONNE - AEROPORT
KYRIAD CARCASSONNE - AEROPORT
#24 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Royal Hotel

Address: 22 boulevard Jean Jaures, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: £36 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Au Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Royal Hotel is located in the centre of Carcassonne, 600 m from the train station and a 20-minute walk from the medieval city. This family-run hotel offers good value accommodation. Guestrooms at Au Royal Hotel are comfortable and equipped with a TV and en suite bathroom with a hairdryer. A home-made buffet breakfast is served daily and the staff at Au Royal Hotel are happy to advise guests on local restaurants and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Au Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Royal Carcassonne
Hotel Au Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing