We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and tasty”
Review of La Sixieme Sens - CLOSED

La Sixieme Sens
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Netanya
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice and tasty”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

La Sixieme Sens is a very nice and tasty restaurant in Carcassonne center ville. We had there a romantic dinner. Prices are very reasonable. Good food and nice service. 60 eur for 3 courses dinner inc. 2 glasses of wine and an espresso. More then "worth it" !

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A near-miss”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Was looking forward to eating here based upon other Tripadvisor reviews. We were the only diners (Friday evening) which may just be a sign of a bad business climate at the moment. The appetisers or scallops baked with lardons and mushrooms, topped with cheese. unusual and very tasty. The mains were promising but proved to be just too big - salmon steak plus a White fish with potato croquettes and pasta. My steak was a large piece de beouf, but slightly over-cooked. Overall, I would give it a try as maybe we just picked the wrong mains. The €26 set menu is very good value for money, notwithstanding these quibbles.

Helpful?
1 Thank TeddyTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Visited this restaurant after a recommend from friends. Am so glad I did. Best coquilles st Jacques I have ever tasted. Fresh greens and delicious steaks. Tarte de pomme was the perfect dessert. The wines are local and very well priced. All in all a great dining experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trixiefig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a celebration”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

To celebrate my friend, Liz’s birthday, we dined at Le Sixieme Sens, a tiny restaurant with a downstairs cave or wine cellar. So intimate, uplit to create a warm glow, one of my most memorable meals ever. The combination of rustic stone, bright green place settings and buddahs somehow all work together to create an ambiance that I had never experienced before.
The Prix Fixe menu was well-priced as were the local wines. The first courses, a tarte of chevre and tomato served over fresh greens was light and tasty. The standout of the dinner was the Coquilles St. Jacques, bubbling hot in a small, covered ceramic dish. The scallops were tender and fresh, drenched in a butter sauce that was amazing. Our entrees, the Trio de Poissons, and the Beouf with red wine sauce were good and the servings were large. I loved the Tarte Tatin accompanied by a glass jar of intensely flavored vanilla ice cream.
Sebastian, our server, was very attentive, knowledgeable and personable. After dinner, we met the owner, Lionel, who invited us back for a special dinner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Appreciated the recommendation!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We rented an apartment in Carcassonne recently, and previous guests had recommended La Sixieme Sens in the comment book. Obviously, we had to try it out and I'm pleased to say that it was worth the effort involved in finding it! It didn't help that the road was uprooted at the time, full of diggers and other paraphernalia!

For anyone looking for rough directions, if you walk from Place Carnot in the opposite direction to the canal and the railway station, it is a couple of streets down, and you need to turn right when you come to Rue Aime Ramond. It's just a few doors up on the left after that!

There are a few tables on the street level where the bar and kitchen are located, but the majority of tables are in the cellar underneath, and this adds greatly to the atmosphere of the place.

The waiters were very friendly and helpful, and they did their best to explain everything on the menu so that we could make an informed choice.

Food was reasonably priced, varied and of excellent quality (as were the wines) and we both agreed that it would be on our list of places to return to should we be fortunate enough to find ourselves in Carcassonne again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Berniebobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Sixieme Sens also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing