We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything we could need”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of APARTMENT SOULT

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Keelman39
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we could need”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We really appreciated everything about our stay in Apartment Soult. The owners have obviously put a great deal of thought and hard work into ensuring that it provides everything that their guests could require.The apartment has been imaginatively and tastefully developed, is well furnished and immaculately maintained. It is situated just a 15 minute walk up to the beautiful old walled La Cite and a couple of minutes stroll to the Bastide town centre, where there is an abundance of shops and restaurants.The owner, Jason, made us most welcome, and kindly picked us up and returned us to the airport. We have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending the apartment to anyone who plans to visit this delightful city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was as we required and as advertised
Liked least: No problems
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilyPonds...
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You wont find better.”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The location, decor and facilities in these apartments was absolutely wonderful ( we stayed in two of the apartments over our weeks stay including the house).
This was our first time not staying in a hotel and it was far superior to staying in any hotel. Although the photos are lovely I think in reality its even better.
The location is also ideal and is a short stroll to the fortified city/the canal/riveretc .
The owner Jason couldnt be more helpful and friendly even giving us a lift to and from the airport and also offering us two bikes for free for the weeks stay. I can't recommend these apartments enough and you will have no regrets. Many thanks Jason.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownberr...
Alyth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment in heart of Carcassonne”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Jason picked us from airport for 15minute journey to apartment. Entrance to apartment building over looks La Cite, an amazing sight and only a 10 min walk, we took our picnic lunch and sat up on La Cite outside walls to enjoy the amazing views.
From the apartment everything is so near, bakers, supermarket, Place Carnot for markets Tues, Thurs and Sat. Canal du Midi & train station 5 min walk. We hired bikes and had many great days in and around Carcassonne, cycled to Lac for a days swimming & activities, cycled along canal and various villages. Numerous restaurants for meals. Every where we went we felt very safe and welcome.
The apartment was ideal for us, it had everything you could wish for to make our week most enjoyable, washing up liquid, tin foil, dishwasher tabs, washing machine powder, it makes such a difference.
Jason kindly took us to airport for our return home, he was so helpful, we would see him in the passing at the apartments and he would always ask if everything was ok and could he help with anything.
Apartment bedroom is large and airy with a huge, comfortable bed, kitchen/living room was spacious and every thing well fitted and maintained. Outside courtyard was small but quiet and peaceful for our breakfast and ideal place to keep bikes.
Definitely the best holiday apartment we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and cleanliness
Liked least: -nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMCrean
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely apartment for a wonderful visit in Carcassonne”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderfully visit in Carcassonne, The apartment was lovely and so well located. Jason was so helpful and the we would highly recommend this apartment, as a base for visiting this area or simply relaxing around Carcassonne. Local people also extremely helpful & friendly. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Courtyard for al fresco food & drinks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, privacy and the courtyard
Liked least: Cannot fault it at all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
W9270BUja...
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hidden Gite”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The gite is extremely well equiped-everything new and sparkling-british tv chanels and good wifi. Proper cooker unlike many gites.
The gite itself is accessed from the street-rue du vieux port-via a boarded up shop-down a long corridoor to another door-then through a small courtyard and another door into the gite. The gite's door and windows(2 stories) face a door and windows(4 stories) in the corridoor building opposite at a distance of about 10 fee across the courtyard. The street has metered parking but there is a free public car park about 3 hundred yards away.
The new town is a 5 min walk to the centre and the old town is about 20 mins walk away.
Would suggest you take mobile with you. We had to use this to both arrange collection of keys and their return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation
Liked least: Narrow spiral staircase-couldnt take suitcases up to bedroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2013
Nice to hear this guest appreciates that we haven't skimped on equipping the apartment. Even the velux rooflight has a remote control blind.
Although we do feel there is a slightly negative edge to this review.
Firstly we should be clear that the apartment is not accessed via a boarded up shop,it is accessed via an entrance door into the main apartment building which we also own. There is then a well lit,spacious entrance hall/ corridor leading into the private courtyard which is 6.5 metres x 3 metres. Being hidden from the street the apartment is very quiet and guests particularly enjoy sitting in the courtyard which is also a suntrap. Of course being in an historic town centre there are other apartments in the adjacent building.
The shopfront adjacent to the entrance door which the guest refers is currently used as a garage, we do hope to transform this into an interesting shop in the future. However, this project will have to wait until finances/resources allow as we have prioritised to make our apartments as higher spec. as possible.
We do always give our guests several contact numbers and ask for our guests mobile number if they have one. The vast majority of our guests are collected by us from either Carcassonne airport or train station. These particular guests were driving from Clermont Ferrand so we asked them to call to confirm their arrival time. We don't really understand this guest's point about carrying a mobile phone as pretty much everyone has one nowadays and on occasions they prove invaluable such as when flights are delayed or trains are late.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca14...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect accommodation in an ideal location!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Apartment Soult is in the perfect location near the river - a short walk to both the medieval Cite and the centre of Carcassonne (Bastide Saint Louis).
It is quality accommodation that is comfortably furnished and well-equipped. It was lovely to have the outside seating in the private courtyard.
We had a very warm and friendly welcome from Jason and Annette who have a great knowledge of the local area. Pick-up from the airport was a much-appreciated personal touch.
Carcassonne has interesting architecture and history in both the lower town and fortified city on the hill.
As well as a visit to the Chateau Comtal and walks through the interesting streets below it, we would also recommend trips to Lac de la Cavayere (1 Euro on the bus - good for woodland walks, sunbathing, swimming in the lake and fantastic inflatable rides and slides for children) and cycling along the Canal du Midi to Trebes (approx 15 km in total).
If you can squeeze in a day in Toulouse (approx 1 hour by train) it's well worth it.
We would thoroughly recommend this accommodation and Carcassonne!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality of the accommodation, and friendly hosts.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing