We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of APARTMENT SOULT

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Laura P
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent place to stay when in Carcassonne. The owner, Jason, picked me up from the airport and dropped me off free of charge.
The apartment is spacious, clean and really beautifully designed with a particularly gorgeous bedroom. You also get a little outside area which has the sunshine from about 10am. Can't recommend enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location, comfortable apartment”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Really good location, with adequate parking in the street, external view not encouraging, but the apartment is very comfortable, with only one issue. Do note that the spiral staircase is a challenge, steep and narrow.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
385hamish...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great central location and good landlord support”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Fine central location. The landlord provided excellent support and advice including offering to collect and return us to the airport. The apartment was kitted out well and had tea and coffee etc on arrival. It was unfortunate that none of the UK tv channels were functioning (which was declared upon arrival and was due to a technical issue) or that there is no direct view of what is happening around you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: lack of uk tv channels (as advertised I think)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
We do not offer English satellite tv since the satellite footprint was moved last year meaning we could no longer pick it up.The apartment has excellent free wifi if guests want to watch English tv. We do of course also have French tv and a DVD player.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnandpo...
Birr, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Booked this as a last minute option, was a bit nervous as we approached the entrance which is very grubby, but the apartment itself was lovely and exceeded our expectations. The apartment is ideally situated half way between the Cite and Bastide St Louis. The apartment itself was very clean. The kitchen was adequately fitted out with fridge, cooker etc and plenty of dishes and utensils. The bedroom was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable with an ensuite toilet and shower. Wouldn't suit anyone who wouldn't be able to negotiate the very tight spiral staircase to the bedroom.
One thing we noticed when we arrived was a slight smell in the kitchen. We discovered after that it seemed to be coming from the sink and we resolved the issue by leaving the plunger in the sink - dodgy waste water systems in Carcassone!!
We would have no hesitation recommending this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2015
A good review from these guests but we feel we should clarify a few points:

The entrance to the apartment itself is certainly not grubby, the facade has been completely renovated in accordace with "Batiments de France" regulations. The apartment is set away from the street which means it is very quiet but to access the apartment there is an original shop facade and entrance door on the street which requires some renovation. However, most guests find this part of the charm and not unusual in Historic cities in France.

We have always been complemented on how well equipped our kitchens are, we do also cater for long term rentals. We know many gites in France only have adequate kitchens but this apartment has a fan oven, ceramic hob, extractor, dishwasher, kettle, toaster, coffee machine, microwave, washing machine, tumble dryer, large fridge with freezer compartment and plenty of utensils.

The spiral staircase to the bedroom is 1.2 metres diameter and certainly wouldn't be very tight for most people. We do say on our advert it might not be suitable for people with mobility problems.

When the apartment was renovated all of the electrics, plumbing and waste water systems were replaced with new and fully comply with all current norms. These guests mention a slight smell from the kitchen sink, we can only think this could be as a result of the hot weather and the apartment being empty for a few days before these guests arrived.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallyleam...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So close to all amenties”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This apartment is so spacious so you don't get in the way of each other. The bed is massive & very comfortable. When you come out of the front door turn left and within 5 minutes you are in the old cite, turn right and you'll soon be in the bastide with a nice square on the way.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The proximty
Liked least: Sometimes there was noise from neighbours but not from the other apartments
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue A
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay!”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great accommodation - very clean, secure, convenient and perfect location fror the Cite. We stayed for a full week, and never got bored. It was very hot and humid some days whilst we were there, but the apartment mostly felt a comfortable retreat. The addition of a washing machine was great, and we used it twice. We mostly ate out, though we made breakfast every day and a couple fof lunches also. The free parking was as easy as Jason had mentioned. A well equipped accommodation, and we will certainly be recommending it to our friends and family. We would like to return in spring ror autumn to experience different times of year. Great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Everything was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margie301...
Yarraville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Carcassonne, beauty of an apartment!”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The description on the website was accurate. It is thoughtfully set up. Our host Jason, kindly collected us from the station, even waited around as we were on a later train.
He showed us all amenities and made us feel very welcome. After a chat about activities, he kindly called a restaurant and booked for us on our first evening.
It was an excellent recommendation, one of the best on our trip.
Jason also let us use his bikes which we rode along the famously picturesque Canal du Midi. We thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful getaway to rural France, complete with the breathtaking walled cite actually up the street. Fantastic location!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural France, the Cite, the local knowledge
Liked least: we couldn't get the oven to work.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing