We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an extraordinary welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fontenay le Comte
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“an extraordinary welcome”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

few days ago we received a mail from this hotel anticipating our arrival and saying we would be very welcome. A first for us.
Our room is one for handicapped visitors and the bathroom is excellent. Not only a wet room but plenty of bars to hold on to. The one next to the toilet wobbles a bit.
Large comfortable bed.

We wasted a lot of time looking for the hotel. We saw one small well hidden double sign for Ibis but no time to stop and read the directions. Do not have sat nav so we used our car compass. Suggest more and larger signs would be useful. Other hotels have large clear directions and we are tempted to go to one of them in future.
The menu is varied and we enjoyed fish and chips for the first time in ages.
We don't take breakfast when we have an evening meal.

I am puzzled why I cannot do revues on certain hotels. I was even told once that not only the restaurant didn't exist but neither did vaison la romaine.
I feel I am encouraged only to revue more expensive hotels.

Room Tip: Handicapped people need have no fear here. The best facilities yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valinvendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisLaCite, Gérant at Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
When you reach our hotel by the highway exit "Carcassonne Est " (advised exit because the closest, at 5mns), a big advertising hoarding "Ibis hotel " indicating the direction to be taken is situated by the roadside. We remind you that it is necessary to take the exit Pech Mary, at the 1st traffic circle direction Pech Mary, at the 2nd traffic circle direction Berriac.
The hotel which is close to the medieval castle is situated in a classified zone "Historic monuments", what means limitation of the advertising spaces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    203
    121
    35
    10
See reviews for
113
233
23
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I was easy to find then we used the SAT NAV easy to book in no fuss parking is secure 10 min walk from Carcassonne . we only had room stayed that day and overnight flight next day. double room on the side of the rom must have been an off room ! Window did not close well so quite noisy as on main road. Found bed really hard others may not find that a problem, if I had to say anything on the - the toilet could do with some air freshener may be it was a well used room so the facilities were a bit smelly. Staff were helpful you get what you pay for

Room Tip: not on the road side unless the window works
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazz4662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisLaCite, Gérant at Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
The smell is a smell of humidity. It was exceptionally caused by an infiltration of the strong rainwater by the roof, in succession repaired by the technician of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dompierre-les-Ormes, Bourgogne, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Arrival was straightforward as hotel is not far from motorway and, although situated in an unprepossessing industrial centre, quick to find. initial impressions were good: safe parking, quiet, and clean together with a welcoming and efficient check-in. The room (for two and dog) was small but had TV (lots of channels), phone and free Wifi which worked without fuss.
The cite is about a five (max) minute drive and the hotel staff provided map, guidance as to car parks, etc. This is a good budget hotel to use as quick stay or a base to explore the area.
The only blot on (my) escutcheon was the relatively (9.50 euros) breakfast with (very) good coffee but nothing much that appealed to me: bread, pastries in abundance but....
In short, a good hotel made better by an unfailingly happy and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHCP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
#25 of 39 in Carcassonne
919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
#14 of 39 in Carcassonne
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
1.9 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
0.7 mi away
Cerise Carcassonne Sud
Cerise Carcassonne Sud
#12 of 39 in Carcassonne
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite

Property: Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
Address: 11 rue Camille Flammarion, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Restaurant completely air-conditioned ideally situated in a quiet environment at feet of the medieval city, in 5 mns of the city center, the highway exit Carcassonne Est, of the station SNCF(FRENCH NATIONAL RAILWAY COMPANY), of the airport and the main centers of interests of Carcassonne. Welcome 24 hours a day, 7 days a week individual, family clienteles or group. 60 bedrooms simple or double with beds children, beds babies, communicating rooms, rooms with handicaped accesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing